1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 5.0 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles

Summary:

The most you can get for the money and size

Faults:

Rear oil leak.

Heating coil broke.

General Comments:

I am 18 and I could not have asked for a better first car.

This is one of the best cars I have ever driven.

I love big cars and not only is it big, but it can really move. (I got it up to 120mph, then I got pulled over.)

It has really classy styling and a really comfortable and large interior.

I would recommend it to anyone looking for a newer almost classic car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2002

1st May 2007, 02:10

This car has very elegant lines, and it is very classy-looking. It is also huge. You can fit 6 people in it COMFORTABLY. The trunk is large enough to haul around luggage for 6 people, too.

1st May 2007, 11:32

I have a question regarding interior room in the 1980's Grand Marquis - does it have basically the same room as a Lincolon Town Car? If they're on the same wheelbase I assume so.

30th Jul 2009, 19:51

I own 1989 Grand Marquis Anniversary edition... My husband owns 1989 Lincoln Towncar... The room inside is the same.

1st Aug 2009, 20:44

The Crown Vic/Grand Marquis wheelbase is 114 inches. The Town Car's wheelbase is 117 inches. More leg-room for passengers in the back :)

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LX Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A true American bargain

Faults:

Had to replace the transmission, and put on a new tailpipe. Installed new Monroe Sensatrac shocks due shocks being warned and body role.

General Comments:

One of the best and most reliable cars ever made.

This car will cruise down the highway at 90 miles per hour and never skip a beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

1st Mar 2004, 09:46

90? 90? Those cars will do better than 90. Mine will do 110 no problem. It has great acceleration.

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 302ci from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302ci Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 240D

Summary:

Very Impressive

Faults:

The valve cover gaskets leak. Other than that, nothing.

General Comments:

The Used Car Dealer has a discrepancy with the fix, that's in small claims right now, other than that this car is excellent. Good power, nice transmission, Everything works on this car, the A/C has full blast ice cold, extremely clean in and out. The Cruise Control works, the vacuum system has no leaks. Just perfect even with 108K miles, this car does not have 1 thing wrong with it. I bought it because my 360,000 mile 1975 Mercedes-Benz 240Dblew a head gasket. Excellent value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Colony Park 5.0 302 v8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 v8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

This is the best car I have owned

General Comments:

This car is very stable and has good handling. The room in this car is like sitting in a limo. This car is a tank!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Colony Park Wagon 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles

Summary:

It's a boat, but practical and a lot more fun than it looks

Faults:

Two alternators replaced during the ownership of the car. One was probably due to a poorly-executed jump start.

The spare tire became loose and bounced around in its compartment, which severely damaged the stereo electronics... why did they put them there, anyway?

The body started to rust after many miles of hard driving and nasty New England winters.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and not many cars can receive a torture test more thorough than a 17 year old adrenaline junkie. This car has been driven through snow banks, been driven to almost 40mph in first gear, raced to speeds in excess of (please don't tell my mom) 120mph, bottomed out after getting all four tires off the ground, driven on two wheels, and driven in a hurricane. Not all at once, of course.

This car is a beast. It's huge, boxy, and sturdy-looking. It has a powerful engine, geared low, with rear-wheel drive. The throttle is extremely sensitive, and takes some getting used to before you can keep from giving everyone whiplash when the light turns green. I love the power and sound of the V8. It sucks gas, but no worse than most SUVs. It's heavy, and it doesn't like to turn... ever. However, it's so heavy that it is supremely stable in a turn, even in a skid, and you *can't* flip it over. Because it's a rear wheel drive station wagon, it has a tendency to fishtail in wet weather. If you're driving very fast, it tends to oversteer slightly in a tight corner on dry pavement.

It's a tough ride in the snow, but the weight helps dig in if you have good snow tires. I live on a steep hill and I always made it up in the winter, although sometimes it was an adventure!

The seats are like Lay-Z-Boys, utilizing a fully powered 50/50 bench configuration, and the AC is ice cold.

The instrument cluster is not very informative. The speedometer only goes up to 85 (not even close to the real top speed) and there are no gauges for temperature, oil pressure, or amperage... only warning lights.

This car has almost inexhaustible cargo space, and you can fit 7 people in it comfortably if you use the fold-up seats in the extreme rear of the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

8th Aug 2001, 21:09

I'm 16 and I have a 89 Marquis. Sounds like everything I have done so far too. Haven't driven in snow yet, but I'm sure she will get her share once December rolls around.

11th Feb 2002, 16:24

My Dad just got rid of a '88 Grand Marquis Wagon, been in our family since '92. It had 176,000 miles on it when we got rid of it. It also had a surprising amount of power, and would even give Mustangs and Camaros a run for their money. Fuel Economy was awesome for a monster if you didn't pound the hell out of it, anywhere from 17 to 26 MPG. Ford should have put larger fuel tanks in these cars. The 302 V8 tends to burn oil with age. If you still have it, it's a good idea to use synthetic oil like mobil 1 or use a high-quality Oil additive like RESTORE every so often.

12th Feb 2005, 18:08

Agreed. this is, and was one "fine" representation of American manufacturing... at its best. I bought my 89 in 1991. It was the only car I could afford. She drew laughter from all who viewed her. Drew fire from critics and became fondly known as 'the grocery getter" I taught 3 kids to drive in her strong arms, I gave her to each and they gave her back when they found there own car. She sits alone in the yard waiting for a new driver. My son called from college.. his talon croaked, now he wants the wagon. Sent it in for a little attention and 100 dollars later she is once more ready to serve.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews