1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 5 of 10

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

This car is one solid hunk of Detroit Iron

Faults:

The driver's side power door lock did not work when I bought the car and I had it fixed for $120.

General Comments:

Excellent car, very roomy and comfortable ride. Quiet even at 85mph. Cruise control is very precise and responsive, even in hilly Western Pennsylvania. I use 87 octane gas and get about 17mpg in the winter.

Everything works and works well.

I do not like the combined 'engine' light, I would prefer an oil pressure light and water temperature light.

The glove box is tiny! The trunk is huge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2005

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 EFI from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.7 / 10
Distance when acquired50389 miles
Most recent distance60495 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

Avoid this outdated low quality junk.

Faults:

Turn Signal wiring not connected - 20 miles.

Ignition Switch - 150 miles.

Shocks - 35000 miles.

Radiator - 59000 miles.

Heater Core - 59000 miles.

Power Window Motor - 59500 miles.

Transmission completely fried - 60495 miles.

General Comments:

This car was bought new by my grandparents in 1989.

Even with a tuneup the car is slow and sluggish. This car cannot touch my 1993 Eldorado or my 1999 Lexus ES300.

I had the suspension examined by a few different mechanics and I was told it is in excellent condition. The car has the worst ride ever; it is like being on a ship in high tide. I get seasick riding in the Grand Marquis.

This car has the cheapest and the lowest quality interior I have ever seen and the plastic woodgrain on the dash is so cheap and fake looking.

The wind noise is so loud, I cannot hear myself think when only doing 55 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

9th Feb 2005, 19:12

If you hate this car so much, why haven't you gotten rid of it?

Most of your complaints about it are for things that should have been apparent before you acquired it.

20th Feb 2005, 21:58

Oh Please... you're comparing a 1989 grand parents car to a modern vehicle?? And you spent all that money?? Probably more than the car is worth. You must really know a lot about cars.

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis 5.0 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

If you can't keep up with the big dogs..

Faults:

Exhaust was rusty and fell off from sitting idle so long.

Tires had dry rot, had to be replaced.

Battery needed to be replaced (original)

General Comments:

This is a fine big boat.

The gas mpg. is not really that bad for the size of the car.

The ride is superior to many of my friends newer cars. They are jealous!

Drive the car on a Interstate Hwy. and you are ready to drive anywhere long distance.

The car sat for quite a period of time, but it is in excellent shape and runs very good.

I am the second owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2004

26th Oct 2004, 18:09

Your lucky to have a low mileage Grand Marquis. You should put pics up at www.crownvic.net. I too have a Grand Marquis 92 model.

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0L 302 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L 302 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90337 miles
Most recent distance114209 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Comfy, roomy beast with great handling and a shoddy electrical system

Faults:

Where to begin...

Electronics:

Cruise control did not work at time of purchase.

Eight lines of rear defroster stopped responding at 93K miles.

Rear power windows started to slip at 95K miles, stopped working entirely at 98K miles.

Power locks/seats/cigarette lighters stopped working in the front at 99K miles (probably a relay problem).

Relay went out on Fuse 4, affecting all rear lights and instrument back-lights, at 109K miles.

Wiring harness connecting alternator to computer system overloaded, setting fire to the wiring harness and rubber air intake, at 113K miles.

Mechanical:

Seventh set of brakes installed at 91K miles.

Third exhaust system fell in successive pieces between 94K and 104K miles.

Heater hose busted at 96K miles from intense back pressure.

Transmission column shifter "shifted" upward at 96K miles, placing Neutral between "N" and "R", overdrive at "N", drive at "OD", etc.

Transmission seal broke at 114K miles.

General Comments:

Most comfortable used car I've ever driven. Coushy velour seats.

Beyond the many electrical problems, I thoroughly enjoyed driving the car until the transmission blew. I could drive her with only a finger at highway speeds. The engine torque made up for the lack of horsepower, which allowed me supremacy at any stop light.

What's with the envelope-sized glove box? They definitely made up for the lost space in the trunk.

Oh, how I longed for a cup holder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

6th Jan 2006, 20:49

Yes, cup holders!! There's nothing like driving down the road with a freezing cold beverage held between your thighs.

1st May 2007, 02:40

The driving-with-only-one-finger thing is pretty cool once you get used to it, but for those who aren't familiar with that sort of easy handling, they could bump the steering wheel and end up halfway across the road before they had time to wonder what happened. Which is why I won't let my mother drive my '89 Merc.

1st May 2007, 11:29

They sell those cupholder things at WalMart and every other big store - its like a thing that sits on the hump on the floor between the front seats with two cupholders and a little area for change or pens.

6th Jan 2011, 20:53

Hah, tell me about it; my trans has no overdrive or reverse, none of my windows work, the muffler fell off, and now my locks are going crazy and operating by themselves, causing my battery to die every time it's off... the shifter did the same thing as yours too... terrible, but I do love the car, you can't get better seats anywhere; it's like a freaking couch... Anyone know what fuse controls the locks, so I can avoid those stupid jump starts?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 35 reviews