1989 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Dependable

Faults:

Replaced Monroe shocks, fixed air compressor for $85.00, new struts, timing chain, catalytic converter, replaced tires and did front wheel alignment.

Complete tune up at 125,000 miles.

Axles replaced at 142,000 miles.

Brake job done at 221,000 miles.

Cruise control switch needs fixing, but it's hard finding a replacement on salvage. I might fix it or maybe not, since I don't use it that often.

Vibration at going 30 mph only.

Also replaced two window motors at 134,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a tank on wheels. It rides so smooth with the 5.0L V8 engine; better than most motors in vehicles of today.

The Grand Marquis handles tight. It does well on California freeways, and delivers excellent gas mileage for a larger yacht automobile.

The car has rear wheel drive, but it doesn't seem like it because you can't tell with the solid ride it gives. It even performs excellent for a 25 year old car.

Some paint rust is starting to appear on the trunk lid and front hood of the car.

Interior seats are cushioned. It's very roomy in a six passenger automobile, which includes an extra seat belt in the middle of the front seat.

The car is safe to drive, but does suffer some vibration at 30 mph under acceleration. Don't know if the transmission is giving out or what, but it still has a smooth ride like I don't know what. It's comfortable on short drives; going to the store, joy rides, etc...

It has the Mercury original wire factory wheels, and everything else is somewhat original on the vehicle.

Engine and transmission are best while changing the fluids every 4000 miles as I do, but I might check on a vibration when the car accelerates; it just happens when going up to 30 mph, but stops.

I've never had trouble out this car. I believe it can go many miles while changing the oil with high synthetic and changing all fluids doing routine checkups at service stations. These big boats last forever, while having the best reliability history ever. I love my big boat; never going to get rid of this car, will drive it until I run it into the ground.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2014

15th Apr 2014, 11:34

I miss my '88. Check your motor and tranny mounts regarding the vibration.

Another thing, mine had issues shifting in and out of overdrive at about 130k, I drained a couple quarts of tranny fluid out and put in Lucas transmission treatment, and it worked wonders! Make sure it's Lucas, not the other cheap stuff they sell at O'Reilly. No issues after that. I don't recommend you change ALL your tranny fluid though; it may do more harm than good at this many miles.

16th Apr 2014, 07:22

You change your transmission fluid every 4000 miles?

16th Apr 2014, 23:37

"The Grand Marquis handles tight"

It's anything but tight; from experience these things can't track straight for anything, with their horribly loose steering wheels and minimal caster.

Highway gas mileage should be 25; rubbish compared to modern bloated sedans that can exceed 30.

These do roll around smoothly, but don't kid yourself about the handling.

17th Apr 2014, 17:57

Personally I'd take comfort over handling any day.

18th Apr 2014, 08:30

So, for quadruple the cost, half the comfort, and hugely reduced durability, you gain five miles per gallon. Progress.

18th Apr 2014, 12:21

It varies from car to car; a modern car will get 30 MPG if you flog it and drive it hard, but far better if you're careful.

As far as durability goes, a box-panther is okay for its time, but compared to a modern Panther it's nothing; there's a reason why most derby Panther guys swap old bodies onto modern frames.

But even then, if you do some reading you'll find an article about a modern Town Car that lost to a Hyundai.

Tough cars? For late 1980's yeah compared to the Toyotas and Hondas on the road, but today they'd "banana" in most collisions.

18th Apr 2014, 12:24

I prefer comfort too, however there's some comfort to be had from a better suspension set up and steering input.

20th Apr 2014, 19:43

Yes. The modern Panther platform is vastly superior to the early versions in terms of durability and weight. It could've even been further improved had Ford not cut its life short.

22nd Apr 2014, 16:25

Cut its life short?? The platform had been in production since the fall of '78. Just how long do you think Ford should have kept it in production?

1989 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 5.0 liter from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance121200 miles

Summary:

Very smooth ride

Faults:

Gas line blew out.

Exhaust had a hole in it.

Transmission is starting to go.

Gasket blew.

Interior is worn (mainly due to the previous owner smoking and burning it by accident).

Brake light switch needed replacement.

Trunk release button won't work.

Locks don't work.

General Comments:

Despite all of the faults that I've had with this car, I really enjoy having it. Living up in the northern part of Maine, some commutes are really long and this is the car to do them in. The winters up here really do a number on the roads, but this thing seems to glide right over the imperfections and potholes.

I only paid 700 for this car, and have only put in about 500-600 of work into it. I don't get to drive it very often, but when I do, I'm always pleased with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2014

14th Mar 2014, 07:09

"some commutes are really long and this is the car to do them in"

200 miles in one year?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 35 reviews