2000 Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2000 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A high performance safe bargain

Faults:

Dirty Air Filter tube

Bad blinkers.

General Comments:

I love it! This car is very under rated. Yeah, it guzzles gas, but we're in America... This is a safe, fast comfy car that will turn heads no matter who is driving. There is no other car where you can get all of the creature comforts and safety features for such a low price. I haven't owned this car long, but I've heard that the Grand Marquis puts the Accord and Camry to shame in regards to reliability. I've seen Crown Vic cabs with well over 200K hauling folks across town purring like a kitten.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2004

15th Jun 2004, 18:23

Guzzles gas? I get 26.5 mpg. The "bad mileage" problem is best dealt with by modulating the right foot while driving.

21st Jun 2004, 15:14

26.5mpg is normal for a crown vic or grand marquis with about 20% city and 80% highway miles.

These cars are right over 4,000-lbs. and get around 27mpg open road.

A Honda Accord (2004) which is 3200-lbs gets about the same..

Pound per pound the Grand marquis is more efficient by about 15% per pound.

5th Jun 2010, 18:51

2000 model. At least 20mpg in town. This is the best car I've ever owned. I bought it with 39k on it. Now it has 122k. Only had 2 ball joints put on today, and that was 50 for parts and 50 for labour, and an AC relay switch part was 50, and I installed it myself. It has outlasted 2 new Cadillacs I've previously owned. I just saw one on ebay like mine with 378k on it - wow.

31st Jul 2011, 16:55

Mine gets about 14 in the city, and my recent trip to Panama City in it, I was doing 30 mpg. Excellent car; I put 25k miles on it in less than a year. Have only replaced a ball joint, belt and battery.

2000 Mercury Grand Marquis LS 4.6 V8 with performance package from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 with performance package Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

Town Car at half price?

Faults:

In 80,000 miles, the front brakes have been replaced three times.

General Comments:

I drive 40,000 miles per year as a traveling salesperson, and this is the most comfortable car I have ever owned.

The car exudes a feeling of high quality and attention to detail, and most, if not all, of the interior pieces are very solidly constructed.

My favorite features are the set-it-and-forget-it air conditioning, power seats, and the digital dashboard with fuel economy and trip mileage calculator.

The only thing I would add would be an in-dash CD player and heated seats (leather gets very cold in the winter). Also the power outlet needs to be relocated outside of the ashtray (very inconvenient for charging a cell phone).

The optional traction control is a must-have for any kind of winter driving.

This car handles very well for being so ridiculously huge, while delivering a creamy smooth, dead quiet ride. The pick-up that the V8 offers is excellent. For maximum performance look for the handling & performance package.

Gas mileage hovers around 25 on the highway and 15-16 in the city.

My only issue with the car's performance are the brakes. Although they function very well, the car seems to eat rotors and pads.

The car now has 100,439 miles and runs like new. My car has required only, aside from the brakes, normal maintenance, and has rewarded me with ironclad reliability and plush comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

15th Jun 2004, 18:22

I have never heard any complaints about the brakes in post-99 GMs or CVs. Although, the earlier Panthers were notorious for those problems. What pads are you using, and how do you drive?

11th Jan 2010, 00:56

For people that put a lot of miles on their cars or do a lot of city driving, I would suggest you upgrade to fleet service brake pads, shoes and slotted rotors. And remember to have the brake fluid flushed when the brakes are serviced. The problem with blown head gaskets can be prevented by yearly cooling system flushes, pressure testing and upgrading to a fail safe thermostat (the blown head gaskets are usually the result of overheating and not broken bolts like on the Ford 3.8l V6).

2000 Mercury Grand Marquis LX 4.6 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Best bang for the buck on the road today

Faults:

Leather seats have started to wear badly. Other than that no problems.

General Comments:

Very smooth ride and great buy for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2003

1st Jan 2011, 18:23

Hi. Regarding leather wear, I have a method that works very well. I use Lexol Leather conditioner on my 1996 Grand Marquis LS EVERY TWO WEEKS. I apply it liberally and wipe off ONLY the excess. Let it dry overnight. It will seem a little resistant to sliding around on the seat at first, but after 14 years and 154,000 miles of driving, there are NO cracks. The leather will stretch a little, and give that slight "leather wrinkle" look, but no cracks. Hope it works as well for you as it has for me.

2000 Mercury Grand Marquis Full Option LS 4.6L V8 Middle-East Version from Saudi Arabia

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Middle-East Version Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance43500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Piece of cake

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever.

General Comments:

Handling option is great. The faster you go, the better it handles. Strong acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

21st Mar 2006, 21:50

Amazed that a Grand Marquis found its way to Saudi Arabia. Are there many of the big Panther cars over there? For some reason, these big American-brand cars don't generally do well in export markets. Nice to see that at least someone from overseas appreciates the virtues of these fine cars though.

22nd Mar 2006, 07:31

There is a strong demand for these cars in Saudi Arabia.

One company in Mobile, Alabama, specialises in exporting used Grand Marquis, Crown Victorias and Lincoln Town Cars to Saudi Arabia.

I suspect that gas is so cheap over there that it is almost free, and these are simple-to-fix, spacious comfortable, reliable cars which most of us would really like to drive, if we were not forced to consider fuel economy.

23rd May 2006, 11:46

Yes gas is cheap 1$/G, thanks Allah. Moreover, Saudis love big American cars and this is a fact.

15th Feb 2007, 19:31

Well I'm glad that you guys appreciate these fine vehicles. Thank you for your comments, and may your car give you years of trouble-free driving pleasure...

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews