1995 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.8 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles

Summary:

Worst car I've ever owned

Faults:

When I first bought this car from the local dealer @ 63000 miles, the transmission started skipping gears and revving very high suddenly, I brought the car to the dealer and they couldn't find anything wrong, brought it to another branch of the dealership and it needed a new transmission @ 83000 miles or so. $1200 (Used transmission, $2400 for a new one)

Water pump went @ 100,000 $500.

Replaced all 4 tires twice in less that 60,000 miles. Apparently the mechanic used the wrong sized tires.

Electric driver seats shorted out.

Transmission seal blew 120k, 80 miles away from home no less. $400 to fix.

Finally, @ 143k the engine gave off a nasty rattling, brought it into a mechanic and said it needed a new emissions pipe, Turns out that wasn't the problem, was driving home, engine blew, started leaking oil like a sieve, almost engulfed the car in flames. Just happened today (5/17) sold it to the guy who towed the car for $50.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car, good for somewhat long trips, ac blows ice cold, heater blows hot, lots of room for people, fully loaded and luxurious.

However, extremely expensive to fix, breaks down constantly. One of the worst cars I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2007

29th Aug 2008, 08:31

That's because you have the 3.8 engine, which is the worst engine. The 3.0 is the better engine, has the better head gasket in it so it's less likely to overheat than the 3.8, which has the dreaded Hallowitz head gasket in it. (It wasn't Fords fault for those gaskets, it was the supplier who used crappy material to make the gaskets.)

I would sell it and cut my losses.

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135500 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Cannot consider these cars!

Faults:

1 week after purchase - replaced starter, speedometer, flasher.

3 weeks after purchase - engine overheated, blew head gasket.

3 1/2 weeks after purchase - received title in the mail.

General Comments:

Never! Purchase! One! Of! These! Cars! For! Any! Reason!

I was in a tight spot and needed a car. We had 1 car, a newborn baby, and both of us work in different towns. This car looked great and ran great when I test drove it. From the day I drove it home, exactly 3 weeks later, its in the junk yard. Now we are scrambling to find another car. If I was a violent man...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2007

29th Aug 2008, 08:33

A car may run and drive smoothly and those may be minor problems that make the car work right that got fixed. You should always do the smart thing and take the car to a mechanic to check it out before you buy it. That's not a rule, that's common sense.

1995 Mercury Sable 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Good over all first timer car

General Comments:

Good car, but not a lot of things you can do to supe it up if you don't pre-fab it all. I can't find anything to put on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2006

1995 Mercury Sable LX 3.8L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles

Summary:

Not Great

Faults:

Head gasket replaced @ 112K miles - $1500

Speedometer cluster replaced twice - $500 ea.

Starter motor

Rear brakes - frozen calipers.

Radiator

Front and rear struts.

I was smelling anti-freeze when I unloaded it, so trouble was brewing again.

General Comments:

Smooth running, good performer that retained its exterior and interior, despite NY weather. No rust. Very comfortable to drive. Mileage was OK (23 mpg). Good sized trunk. Quiet to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2006

29th Dec 2009, 15:08

Ouch. Shouldn't have wasted the money on the speedometer cluster. It's a problem with pretty much any Sable of this generation. If it did the same thing mine does, it'll be doing fine, then bounce a lot, then calm down so it's within 3 or 4 kilometers per hour of what it's actually doing.

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80100 miles
Most recent distance80800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great touring / family car - all comfort and reliability.

Faults:

Front Struts replaced at 80,000 miles.

Prior problems unknown, seems very well maintained.

Thermostat and radiator hose in need replacement.

Tune up seems to be original – runs OK – BUT will do complete Tune Up anyway.

Plastic switch on the power steering is cracked, but seems to be holding up.

More expensive to fix than my old car (a cavalier) some things too complicated for me to work on.

Only 2 Cup holders!? and they only fit can & small paper cups and block radio controls and change drawer.

Have to read the manual – maybe twice, lots of features and a few quirks.

Speedometer only goes up to 85 – so not the car for speed demons! Perfect for mellow me ;)

General Comments:

Getting over 29 MPG combined - 75% using cruise control in Overdrive on 55 MPH highways /70 MPH rural highways with 25% city driving. This before the Tune up! Using Recommenced gas grade 87.

A great cruising / road trip car - 3.0 (slow) likes to accelerate steadily.

Has power everything & all electrical components still work, nothing broken.

Paint has light surface scratched looks beautiful for a 10-year-old car! No rust or corrosion on body or undercarriage – undercarriage like new.

Steering handles nicely - quiet and comfortable ride; even on hilly, bumpy rural roads.

Very good headlights & sidelights work great on dark rural roads.

Roomy seating for 4 tall adults, seats 6 snuggly, but not cramped, plenty of trunk space.

For the price - it's a VERY solid car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

9th Nov 2005, 12:31

3 ½ weeks since my last post.

I replaced the thermostat and radiator hose; rad flush; complete tune-up; and brakes.

Cost me about $500.00. yes, my mechanic loves me ;)

Unfortunately me MPG dropped to 23 on average??

2 days later the Check Engine light came on and had the diagnostic run, problem with the emission control system DP FE (?) that cost me another $200.00 but my fuel economy improved a bit.

2 or 3 days later my instrument panel illumination began flickering... along with the radio illumination and ashtray light and all exterior lights that turn on with first click i.e.; taillights/parking /daytime/marker lights <yikes> all the important stuff ~ ya know.

Then they totally went out. Checked the book and those things aren’t on the same fuse and the fuses were OK. <grrr>! I checked all the bulbs and noticed one was the wrong type – I suspect it was the one replaced with my tune-up and that blew my main light switch and connector. That cost me $380.00.

Power steering pulley is making more noise the dealer quoted me about $160.00 ~ the part is ordered, so back to the shop tomorrow.

Cost me $1200.00 in 3 weeks. Do not care how nice a ride it is. One more $$$ issue and the for sale sign goes on it! My mechanic no longer "my mechanic" - from now on only the dealer shop touches it!

3rd Feb 2006, 15:32

I was ready to sell it since it had lost fuel economy several months’ ago. I was getting about 23 mpg combined. The dealer found a broken tie rod in the front wheel got that fixed and an alignment that only brought me up to about 25 mpg. Then last week <thump> <boom> oh, no... the rear stabilizer broke off (89,000 miles, actually a good thing - the repair cost me $190.00 at the dealer and I’m back up to 32.5 MPG Combined <woo hoo> The love for my car is renewed.

19th Feb 2008, 04:29

Thank you for the very honest review-I am getting a 95 Sable to replace my last car that died, and I was scared about the mileage I thought I was losing.

29th Aug 2008, 08:28

I am buying a 95 Sable today. The person who had it has all the maintenance records for the car since it was purchased back in 1999. They have kept it all up to date with the regular maintenance stuff like oil change, rad flush, tranny flush and they just recently had all the oils changed as well. the A/C runs ice cold. for 112k miles on it, no vibration, smooth engine and tranny (no kickback when you go from park to drive), and at 900 dollars, it's a steal. This car will last forever if you take care of it right.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews