1995 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1995 Mercury Sable from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carEagle Premier

Summary:

Pretty good and satisfied with performance

Faults:

All the window seals and trunk seals need to be replaced. They all leak in the rain.

When in hot weather, car stalls from vapor lock if going slower than full freeway speed. Will just die on you!

The cruise control option doesn't stay at the set speed sneaks up another 5-10.

General Comments:

The car was a gift and I'm very grateful for it. Overall is great car, but I'm surprised about these problems. It was good to read the vapor lock is a fixable dealer item.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Reliable el cheepo transportation

Faults:

Both rear window motors shot.

Wipers turn on with out touching knob.

Intermittent wiper control inoperative.

Front struts replaced.

Both front springs broke.

One rear spring broke.

Radio left channel out.

Alternator replaced.

Idler pulley replaced.

AC has gas leak, inoperative.

Several brake jobs - normal.

Trans has phantom bumps occasionally.

Speedometer irratic and makes loud noise.

Occasional check engine light?

Radiator started leaking 3 years ago, Bars leaks fixed it!

Dash squeaks bad.

Trans coolant line rotted out at radiator.

General Comments:

Despite all the little problems, major show stoppers have been a minimum. Engine runs excellent at 140K, trans is OK, either never been worked on, but I'm pretty easy on my cars and am an engineer so I can head off problems before a disaster occurs. Not a bad city cruiser and is reliable with a capital R. Car bombs down a crummy dirt road daily in pot holes, mud, dust, stuff I try to keep my good ride out of. I drive it because it's reliable, looks decent when clean, excellent gas mileage @ ~25mpg and I'm feeling kind of cheap, we're in a recession, so I keep going. AC is OK if I run a can of gas under hood to keep charge up - cheaper than fixing! Not a glamour ride for sure - if you don't care about not driving a Beamer or all the other fancy shansy rides all around me, one of these is for you. Paid cash when new, about 17K. I think I got my $'s worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

1995 Mercury Sable SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

Very good, reliable family car

Faults:

We have had no problems with this car with regard to repair except the speedometer.

When we bought the car, it was on it's second speedometer. About 6 months after buying it, we had to have it replaced. 2 months after that, it broke. About three months after that one was replaced, it broke again. We have not replaced it since.

We are having a problem with the car now, that it won't start. The fuel pump is not delivering gasoline to the engine, but the fuel pump tested fine. The main computer will not give a read.

General Comments:

Overall, this has been a very good car. It has lots of power, even with the 3.0L engine. We have not had any problems or repairs expenses for it, outside of the normal maintenance.

I wish this car could go on forever, as it is very economical and we are still getting the same 35 mpg highway that we got when we bought it 5 years ago.

The seats are very comfortable and we have taken it on two family vacations with only moderate discomfort, finding we need more space for packing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

10th Jan 2005, 20:07

How do you get 35 miles per gallon? I barely get 20 with my 1995 Sable.

9th Nov 2005, 12:47

You must mean 25 MPG?

The highway rating is 30 and 20 city on the 3.0 and there is no Sable SE – if you have a SE you have a Taurus.

1995 Mercury Sable 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Faults:

Electric Fan seized.

Radiator had leaks and was replaced.

Head gaskets blew at 112000 miles.

Speedometer cluster was replaced twice.

Starter motor had to be replaced at 100000 miles.

Interior and exterior are almost good as new. No paint or trim problems.

General Comments:

Overall this car has given us decent service in spite of the repairs that have been made. The biggest item was the head gaskets, but the engine seems OK now. It probably will go to 200000 miles without too much difficulty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2003

6th Mar 2004, 15:21

I am just curious how much the speedometer cluster cost you and the location that you got it at. I just went to the dealer recently and they gave me a price quote and said they no longer make the speedometer cluster assembly for the 95 Merc Sable GS. Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

28th Sep 2012, 10:19

I don't recall the prices, as it was long ago. You best option now would be to get one from a salvage yard, one that will replace it if it's not in working order.

The car started to experience overheating problems again at about 130K miles, so I sold it for cheap.

Too bad, the rest of the car was in mint condition and we liked it. That 3.8L engine is troublesome.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews