1995 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance180210 miles

Summary:

I'm keeping this car forever

Faults:

Just recently the A/C went out.

The Radiator just cracked at 179,800 miles.

The alternator has been replaced just once.

The Transmission kicks a little when getting out of first gear.

Needs new shocks and springs.

General Comments:

This car has been through eight trips to Mexico from Illinois.

This car has very nice handling and acceleration.

It's very comfortable inside.

Very nice looking car with one spot of rust on the door.

Car has been through all sorts of terrains and performs well.

Car has taken lots of harsh beatings and has been driven very hard and still runs great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2003

25th Jul 2004, 19:42

I have a mercury as well, and it also seems to kick a little however when I come to a stop, do you have that problem as well. over all Love It!

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A nice car for newlyweds

Faults:

The exhaust started leaking in front of the muffler around 130,000 miles.

The driver's side rear brake caliper seized up, causing everything to get extremely hot, therefore melting the brackets holding the hubcap on and losing the hubcap.

The head gasket blew around 122,000 miles.

The anti-lock brakes light came on around 130,000 miles and nobody knows what's wrong with it.

General Comments:

The car is good for long drives if the roads aren't covered with rain or snow.

The interior and trunk are very spacious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th March, 2003

6th Mar 2004, 13:43

My ABS light came on at about 75,000 miles and it has been on ever since and I am sitting on about 83,000 miles now and I am curious if you ever got a diagnosis for that problem. If you did could you update that page so that I may inform my mechanic. They can't tell me anything either.

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.8L EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L EFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93400 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carDodge Lancer

Summary:

Great car for the average person

General Comments:

The car is very roomy. The trunk has a ton of room and the passenger area has lots of headroom, but has very cramped legroom in the back.

The engine has a lot of power, but the gas mileage isn't too good. I got about 16 miles per gallon and it's not good.

The seats are a bit hard, but I guess it takes a getting used to.

I love the accessories. The car came with power everything. Mirrors, windows, seat, etc.

The radio is great for a stock system. Although I think the location isn't too good and the buttons on the dash are hard to reach at times.

It's very hard to do repair work under the hood since everything is crammed under there. It's really hard to change the oil filter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

5th Nov 2002, 11:22

I purchased my 1995 Sable GS in June of 2002. It had 71,250 miles on it. It runs, rides & handles like a dream. I've added 7,500 miles to the car & averaged around 21 MPG. Only complaint so for is the gas tank is too small for long trips. The only problem I've had is the Temp Gage always indicates that the engine is running cool. I've replace the sending unit and the thermostat, but it still barley moves. One a scale of 1 to 10, I'd rate the car a 9.5.

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17500 miles
Most recent distance81500 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

A great economical car

Faults:

I brought the car for $7,000, in 1997.

The Transmission was re-built at 60,000 miles. At a cost of $1,200.

The Transmission was re-built, again, at 80,000 miles. At a cost of, another, $1,200.

Radiator was replaced at 80,000 miles.

Air Conditioner Compressor was replaced.

Air Conditioner vents were replaced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1995 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

The car is alright, but the quality could be better

Faults:

Rear flat tire due too bad strut.

A/C doesn't work.

Front strut coil snapped, on a smooth road.

Water pump blew.

Lost tail and interior lights. Headlight switch needed to be replaced as well as wiring harness.

2 front end alignments in 2 years.

Automatic fuel door latch broke. Fuel door only partially closes.

Driver's interior door handle return spring broke, handle will open door, but will not pull back to correct position.

Dashboard vent adjuster broke off, hard to adjust direction of vented air.

Wipers stuck in up position. Since repair they don't go up as far when the car is moving at slower speeds.

Drivers rear power window no longer goes down.

General Comments:

Why couldn't Ford find a better place for the oil filter? There is not a lot of room to get at it and it is mounted sideways over the starter. Luckily, I have yet to ruin a starter.

I just can't get comfortable in that car.

My last car was larger, had more power, handled better and got better gas mileage.

Car does run well and doesn't burn any oil. Transmission is smooth.

The headlights just don't seem bright enough. High-beams seem comparable to low-beams on our other car. The reverse lights must be strictly for decoration purposes because they certainly don't light up the driveway at night.

The wipers have a little glitch in the intermittent section. At one speed they will shut off when turning on the blinker. It is necessary to shut the switch off then back on.

Four wheel ABS disk brakes are wonderful! This car will stop on a dime.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

26th May 2003, 17:08

Engine light comes on?

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 26 reviews