1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 N/T from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 N/T Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Great car for cruising, not so good for racing

Faults:

No problems so far (2 months owned), although the front bumper hits a lot and is breaking from the bottom.

General Comments:

I bought the car based on looks (I'm from LA), and that's all I pretty much got. The car max out at about 105mph, I expected a little bit higher. I haven't tested the 1/4, I fear the rubber band (timing belt) might break. The car wastes a lot of gas for a 4 cylinder non-turbo.

The car has great handling, in the 110N fwy I can do around 70-80 breaking a little sweat, the limit there is 40.

Mods: the car only has a cold air intake system, this "sports car" is gonna need a lot more mods for me to call it a sports car.

Overall the car looks great and runs good so far, I'm satisfied with the car and looking forward to adding a few aftermarket parts (wheels, ground effects and sound system), not looking forward for all the performance mods needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

16th Jan 2007, 15:24

Maybe if you didn't buy the lowest model eclipse, you wouldn't be complaining about performance so much. You buy crap and you get crap.

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GS 1.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz CLK

Summary:

I will never own another Mitsubishi vehicle again

Faults:

When it rains, it absolutely pours - inside the vehicle as well as outside. Living in Florida where it rains just about every day at one point, this is unacceptable.

I have had to get the knuckle bars replaced on the convertible top - due to poor design (I presume), the spandex (yes, spandex) cloth holding this bar easily gets dry-rotted, thus inhibiting its ability to retract this bar back when putting the top down. The cost for these straps - $150.00 for both which I opted not to fix; the cost for the arms - $370.00 for both plus installation costs...

It costs about $650 for a brand new top.

The transmission began to slip at 50K miles - you jump into 2nd gear when you try to accelerate on a turn.

General Comments:

I love convertibles - and this one was a cute one for the cost - and that should have been a warning...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse spider gs 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Only a good bargain if you can fix some things yourself.

Faults:

The top leaks like crazy around the front window beams, went in for warranty reapir, but since the warranty is up the dealer will no longer repair.

Dealer service is well below average.

Front brakes went early.

The engine is very sensitive, follow the maintenance schedule or it will act up frequently.

Would be nice if the seats actually reclined.

General Comments:

Top down fun almost makes you forget about everything above.

If you can do some the maintenance items yourself it saves a lot of money and time, especially with the spark plugs.

Handling and speed are very nice, and my shocks are still strong after 100,000 miles as is the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2004

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

This car is the best looking bang for the buck!

Faults:

This car is great for the most part. One problem I had was the clutch went at 82,000 miles. But I got a new one for about $550.00 installed. That's not really a problem, It's just wear and tear. I had my timing belt changed at 60,000 because you are supposed to. The brake pads seem to wear down fast, but I drive like an animal. The only other problem I had was the two front wheel hub assemblies eventually had to be changed. I've seen a lot of these cars go well past the 200,000 mile mark. But an engine rebuild kit is only $500! This car is cheap to fix.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely wonderful. I beat on this car every day, all day. And the car just takes the abuse. I've done a lot of performance upgrades, and you can make this car go very fast for a very minimal cost. The All-Wheel Drive is amazing. Especially in the snow. It handles like a Porsche! It take corners wonderfully. The stock turbo spools up really fast, there is absolutely no boost creep. It's a really fun car to drive and own. Plus it's gorgeous. Not one thing I would change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

2nd Apr 2004, 16:05

Was just wondering a few stuff about the GSX. But before that just like to say that it is an extremely nice car. Well I was planning on buying one of my own and was wondering about the transmission. Like have you ever had to change since you got the car. Also how are the seat once driving for a distance. Alright thanks man.

21st Aug 2005, 14:49

Hey, I am a young 18 year old looking for a car to buy. I have fallen in love with the 99 G S X ever since I got the test drive. My question is that a lot of people have informed me that these cars tend to get crankwalk. I would like to know how your GSX is holding up and your opinon on crankwalk.

Thanks.

4th Nov 2006, 19:12

Crank walk… I hear countless reviews and comments about this issue. For me, with a 99 GS-T with 136K, I don’t even know what or how crank walk feels like. I think, because of the year, 1999 is the last of the 2L 4g63 on the Eclipse, most of the problems were taken care of by the manufacturer. I still drive the GS-T as a daily driver/project car, but I just got an RX8 for weekend driving. Love the GS-T. Even with the new car (RX8), I refuse to sell my Eclipse.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 40 reviews