1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Great sporty car for a young driver!

Faults:

Driver's door handle broke off.

General Comments:

Rides well for a sporty car. Generally well made. Engine noisy. Not too expensive to insure (2.0 non-turbo).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2003

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse spyder gs 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance79500 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Love it!

Faults:

I have just recently bought a 1999 eclipse spyder gs. I too found out, the day after I bought it that the roof leaks pretty bad. I work at a construction company so I have dealt with leaks in things before. so, I went to the local hardware store and picked up some 100% silicone sealant and started squirting anything that looked like it could leak. I can put a pressure washer to it now with no leaks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

19th Feb 2004, 07:26

I have the same problem with mine...

Generally around the window gaskets...

I am not sure how to use the sealant, since it is a convertible...

Can you explain what process you used to seal it..

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder GS 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Great if you don't mind being wet

Faults:

My convertible roof leaks very bad. At times I wonder why I even have the roof up. The leaks are at the window seals and just pours during heavy rain. The driver and passenger seats get soaked. I'm sure it is doing something to the electrical wiring in the doors for the windows and locks.

Now, I think my alternator is going. I am trying to get an appointment with my dealership (as I bought the extended warranty, but I don't know if alternators are covered). My lights dim if I roll my windows down.

I also have a loud "thunk" when I start the car in really cold weather, any ideas?

Thanks.

General Comments:

I love the comfort of my car. I have had to drive it cross country multiple times and it cruises along like a dream.

I was expecting some problems at 50k however I didn't expect everything at once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd March, 2003

3rd Feb 2004, 15:05

This sounds exactly like my car... my top leaks from the exact same spots and the seats get soaked, even sides of the back seats get wet. One time it was raining really hard and I was coming home from a hockey game and had to walk a few blocks in the wind and heavy rain, I got more wet inside my car than I did walking in the rain! It was so ridiculous that I couldn't even be angry all I could was laugh at the ridiculous circumstances.

14th Apr 2004, 19:57

I have a 1999 spyder and I have same problem with leaks. I put a new top on after dealing with wet me and wet seats. put me back 1000... so far no problems. I have left my car out of the garage now for a week in rainy weather. so no wet yet...

Top repair shop confirmed that spyder has had constant problems with the body design and would put new top in, but not warranty it to be leak free... I cross fingers as car is fun to drive.

27th Oct 2004, 09:02

My Spyder leaks badly too. If anyone has figured out a way to fix this besides getting an entirely new top please let me know. Specialk200885@yahoo.com.

Thanks.

10th May 2005, 11:35

Well I have the same problem with my convertible top on my 99' eclipse, but besides that it drives great and it's my pride and joy. if any body wants to converse about their car with me, I would be more than happy to talk because I have lots to say about my ride. Peace out and God Bless... from your friend Patricia (Girl Racers Kick Butt) ( (Better than Boys)) ;)

1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse RS from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi mirage

Summary:

Very pretty, Runs ugly

Faults:

I have had my 1999 Eclipse RS since it was only 9 miles old when the car hit a few thousand miles it would start to miss.

Became stuck in the second gear.

The lighter popped out to the back seat.

I took it to two dealerships where they said upon 6 different occasions it was the spark plugs or spark plugs wires.

General Comments:

I have fought through lawyers remediation only to be told there is nothing that can be done-Mitsubishi stuck me with a lemon and there are probably more with the same problem, so beware.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th August, 2002

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 40 reviews