2000 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution WRC Rally Spec 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland


I'll never drive anything faster... EVER!

General Comments:

I owned a road going Evo, but last year I had the honour of driving an Evo with exactly the same spec as the WRC Rally Car on a tarmac stage on a Rally School Training event.

With the aid of a high pressure turbo the car had 300bhp and accelerated to 60 from a standing start in 3.1 seconds! And I kid you not, it was scary stuff!!!!

Put your foot down at 50mph in 2nd gear and find yourself riding in the back seat.

How are the Japanese so good to gain all this performance from a car with half the power of some supercars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

13th Jan 2001, 15:42

I bet the insurance is steep? What is its group rating? It sounds like a real scream of a car!

26th Feb 2001, 09:20

I wish these Japanese car firms would stop lying about the performance times of these vehicles.

See 0-100-0 special in Autocar '99, and you will see an Extreme version of the Evo VII packing a 'supposed' 350 BHP only managed 0-60 in 5.2 secs, when a standard 280 BHP Evo is said to be 4.4 secs!

The old ones are still the best.

ie. My 300 BHP Escort Cosworth, which slaughters 22B's and Evo 6's regularly on the A1.


2000 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 6 2.0 turbo petrol from Jordan


An outstanding sports car... wonderful


Absolutely nothing, as a matter of fact this car is so reliable it is quite amazing!!!

General Comments:

A tremendous sports car with a great engine, I mean the engine is so wonderful. I have the 2.0 litre 280 bhp engine, this engine allows this car... er... bullet.. to actually launch to 0-100km (62miles) in only 4.8 seconds!!!

Grip is out of this world... I bet that this car's skidpad is not less than 1G!!! It really sticks to the ground and stays there!!!

All in all... a great car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

3rd Dec 2000, 21:03

This car kicks the ass of every sports car in the USA. It's a tricky Japanese army weapon.

9th Dec 2000, 06:22

The Lancer is the best thing that has happened to the sports car world.

I love the Lancer, but it is unfortunate that Canada is not blessed with it.

14th May 2001, 07:31

It isn't available in Canada YET---IT is coming to the US, so I am sure you will get it too. Then I can kick the crap out of my was-favorite-car-til-I-saw-this-one...the WRX.


2000 Mitsubishi Lancer MX 1.6 petrol from Philippines


Great perfomance car with great value for money



General Comments:

The car has great value for money. It has a high performance 1.6 petrol engine with an INVECS 2 automatic transmission. It may be operated in automatic or manual mode.

Has all power features, rear window defogger, fog lamps, leather seats and trims, 4 wheel disc brakes, ABS, and dual SRS airbags. It even has a high quality audio system with in dash CD.

No other car in its class available in the Philippines can match it in terms of value for money. Performance is great and the car is very much under-rated. Definitely better than the Honda Civic (SIR or VTi); Toyota Corolla; Ford Lynx and even the Opel Astra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

27th Jan 2005, 13:43

You failed to mention that the rear seats have individual headrests, something other cars in its class do not offer. Your review hit the nail right in the head.

8th Dec 2007, 23:32

Yes, I agree. I too have a Mitsubishi Lancer MX. Man, the drive sure blows me away and the other non-Mitsubishe rides. I've burned other sup up rides and mines only running on stock. The lancers should be nick named HONDA Killers just because it does exactly that, wastes them. Honda Civics are soo 90's. Get with the program and upgrade to a Mitsubishi Lancer.

8th Nov 2010, 12:05

Totally agree with you guys! I bought a Lancer a year ago, and Honda peeps always give an awful feedback, and I just don't know why, the previous owner was a real ass! I had a chance to ride with him before buying the car, and hell yeah, the car almost flies in the air when passing humps. When I got it, I replaced the suspension, and man, it's been a year and half now, and still I have no problems whatsoever. Maybe I am not an abusive driver, but at least this car surpasses all bumps and lousy roads here in where I live. Lancers are so legendary!

17th Mar 2011, 01:21

I bought my 2000 Mitsubishi Lancer MX last year because I needed a car in replacement of my other car who is up my pay in repair.

Up to now I still love the car to drive, even my grandma loves to ride in my car, it's comfortable, the leather seat, strong air condition, sound system, the engine, it's all power. I will maybe keep it for another 5 to 10 years.

14th Jul 2011, 03:09

I bought a Lancer MX 2 months ago for my wife. But after trying it, it became mine 4 days a week. I have to beg my wife for us to swap vehicles. It's fast, smooth, and everything is sporty. CAVITEX at 140, everybody else eat my MX dust.

22nd Sep 2015, 12:14

The saying is "hit the nail on the head" rather.

4th Aug 2016, 16:12

I agree 100%. The handling is superb and the acceleration is amazing! The ride is comfortable as well. The sound of the engine is great! I wouldn't trade mine even for a brand new Honda! It's simply the best!