1985 Nissan 720 Pickup Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup King Kab ST Nap Z from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Nap Z Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carToyota Long bed pick-up

Summary:

Best truck I've ever owned

Faults:

New alternator, EGR controller valve, muffler & a starter. That's about all this truck has ever needed, except tires, oil etc. I'm replacing an 8 year old battery on it today.

General Comments:

Most reliable truck (or car) I have ever owned. It's always starts and runs, feels like it did when I bought it new 16 years ago.

I just had it repainted same color at Maaco and had the two seats re-upholstered. People can't believe how great it looks. It will keep me from replacing it. I may never sell this truck. No body damage, excellent interior condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2001

2nd Jun 2003, 23:50

I've had my Nissan 720 King Cab ST for about 1 1/2 years and I must say it's the best little truck I've ever driven. Previously I owned a 1982 Chevette Scooter by Chevy, great little car, but too much to keep up. Anyway so far there are 177k miles on my baby and still running. All I've had to replace is my U-joint and that was cause going from stick all my life to auto on the floor isn't good. (blond) I would recommend that anyone who wants a truck that will last forever should get one. As long as you keep up with the maintnance you'll be fine. I agree with my uncle, Nissan's never die, literally.

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab 2.4L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L gas Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance137988 miles
Previous carBMW 6 Series

Summary:

Most reliable vehicle I will ever own

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor is broken.

Electric choke is broken.

Brake pads have been replaced.

General Comments:

I love this truck, it never ever breaks.

Never leaves me stranded, starts every single time.

Gets great gas mileage.

It is a great little workhorse, takes every task I put it through.

Will climb up every hill I've ever seen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2001

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.4 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles

Summary:

I love my truck

Faults:

Ball joints.

Steering gear.

Usual maintenance.

U-Joints and center bearing.

Automatic transmission slipping gears.

Carburetor needs a rebuild.

Spider in the speedometer.

AC compressor broken.

General Comments:

It was not taken care of too well by it's past owners.

Very reliable, you can tell when something is going wrong with it.

Not too quick, but the most important parts are steering and braking anyways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

Kick ass

Faults:

I've wrecked it.

General Comments:

This truck rocks. I love it, it's cold natured but it always started.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance206000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Defines DEPENDABILITY

Faults:

NOTHING!!!!! I've just made needed repairs (ie. filters, brakes, belts etc.)

The truck drives as good today as it did 10 years ago.

General Comments:

This truck defines dependability. I've had more than one person wanting to buy this truck.

I have started to recondition the body and interior. I will let you know when I get 400,000 miles on it. I will never get rid of this truck. I wonder just how long it will go?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab 2.4 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 Gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance267000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Most reliable vehicle on the planet

Faults:

Head gasket @ 180K kms.

Fuel line leak @ 230K kms.

General Comments:

Lots of rust - genuine rot. But then it's lived through 15 Canadian winters...

Unbelievably reliable. I've owned it for 9 years/200,000 kms and she's never left me stranded. Still has the original clutch! It even performs reasonably well...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2000

15th Mar 2001, 15:46

The king cab is the best car ever.

1985 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 2.4 L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 L gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carFord Fairlane 500

Summary:

Good little truck that is cheaper to run than a Chevy

Faults:

Rear main seal.

Clutch.

Front disc pads.

General Comments:

This has been a great little truck for me. I plan on buying a brand new Nissan truck in the future. This truck has been reliable and fun. It has made me a Nissan owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 30 reviews