1986 Nissan 720 Pickup Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup Kingcab 4 X 4 Z24 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Z24 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance241000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

It will stay in the family forever if the kids don't trash it

Faults:

The drivers seat springs wore out finally, but I replaced both seats at 200,000 miles. Head gasket blew between cylinders at 172,000 miles so I put in a new Z24 Nissan crate motor. Carburetor stopped idling and I traced it to a short between the computer under the drivers seat and the wire plug on the side of the carburetor.

General Comments:

I used the original Nissan seat sliders with spacers and grade 8 bolts and installed buckets from a Tahoe w/arm rests and it cruises real nice now. I've put 40,000 on the new 2.4L so far and no trouble. The 31/10.50 mud tires fit under it by cranking up the torsion bars. They only rub a little on hard turns. After 23 years I'm passing it down to my son. It's still a favorite of the wife too and she drives a 2004 F350 4X4 crew cab diesel.

UPDATE March 2008: My 18 year old rolled it 4 times. It had 261,000 on the ticker. I went out and bought a 1984 Nissan 720 TrailHustler and am putting the Tahoe seats in it, and here we go again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2005

29th Dec 2009, 12:59

Have a 1986 King Cab 4x4 and also have weak oil pressure.

2nd Feb 2011, 19:10

Sometimes a not genuine oil filter gives low pressure.

At this age, a new oil pump is necessary because the spring in it becomes weak.

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup EFI 2.4 Liter L4 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter L4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, Stylish, Quick and tire smoking truck

Faults:

Driver's seat falling in.

Had to replace Fuel Pump and Filter.

General Comments:

I'm only 16 and this was my first vehicle. If you put Mag Wheels, Street glow, Decals, Window Tints, and a few other accessories like I did, it can be a really cool and reliable truck. Over all, I hadn't had any serious problems with the truck, and neither did the owner before.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

22nd Nov 2007, 11:06

Decals and Neon lights take away from a good truck.

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup ST 2.4L fuel-injected from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L fuel-injected Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

The best $2500 I've ever spent

Faults:

No major problems:

Repaired some minor distributor problems.

General Comments:

Other than routine maintenance this truck is totally reliable.

Traveled to Canada twice from Wyoming without a hitch (no pun intended!)

Used to own an '85 Nissan pickup that went to Las Vegas twice also with any problems.

I'd drive this truck to the end of the earth without looking back. Extremely reliable and very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab Z24 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Z24 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance165282 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Great reliable truck

Faults:

Drivers seat is wearing out.

Fan clutch started to make noise at 90,000 miles, but to replace it I had to replace the whole water pump.

Front pads at 70,000 miles.

Paint flaking off, but no rust yet.

General Comments:

I couldn't ask for a more reliable truck.

It's not fast or pretty, but it has run every day for the last 17 years and of all the cars I own (I have 5 currently) this one has cost the least to keep running. Even my 1966 Bug has cost me more over the years.

I just need to find a blue drivers side seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab 2.4 liter straight-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter straight-4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

A great truck, whether it is your first or fifth.

Faults:

The third cylinder lost compression at about 100,000 miles; the engine was rebuilt.

The edge of the driver's seat wore quickly as it became a daily driver.

Front wheel bearings have been repacked twice.

General Comments:

This is a great truck for hauling light loads.

Can be fast enough to have some fun with on the streets, but only on occasion.

Stock, it is a surprisingly formidable four-wheeler, but when you put larger tires on it (235's), it is pretty nice.

Handles really well on the street.

After the enging was rebuilt, it ran like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2003

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup extended cab Z24 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Z24 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired253000 kilometres
Most recent distance323000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Reliable utility vehicle

Faults:

Carburetor has been trouble since day one.

Had carburetor replaced at 308000 km, but still has bad idle and stalls.

Numerous electrical problems.

Transmission and clutch replaced at 270000 km.

Road and engine noise pronounced.

General Comments:

All around versatile and reliable vehicle.

Economical to operate for a truck.

Uses or looses very little oil at high mileage.

Starts easily at temperatures below -30C.

Not the most comfortable or stylish primary vehicle, but reliable work truck.

Tires and wheels entirely too small from the factory and look strange on vehicle. 15" upgrade highly recommendable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews