1986 Nissan 720 Pickup Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.4 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120225 miles
Most recent distance120225 miles

Summary:

Awesome hunting buggy

Faults:

Rods and rings are shot.

Not enough power to push itself out of the lot (seriously)

Blew head gasket.

Interior is horrid (my family ABUSED this poor truck)

Speedometer went out.

General Comments:

These trucks aren't to hard to fix up

I'm 15 and I've got it running and driving. camouflage paint job and mud tires prior to purchase. it used to haul cattle, so the shocks are beefed up to 3/4 ton capacity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance402765 miles

Summary:

D-e-p-e-n-d-a-b-l-e

Faults:

The only thing (s) that have gone wrong with the truck (it is 16 years old), is we had to replace the carburetor at 400564 miles and the water pump shortly after.

General Comments:

This is my first car (yes I'm only 16) and my dad has owned it as long as hes owned me. We are like brothers (the truck and I)...this is a good truck, just a little underpowered, but you know how 16 year olds are... if it aint a 350 or bigger, it is too small...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2003

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 King Cab from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance198650 miles

Summary:

Love hate relasonship...@&%!

Faults:

The worn chain guide snapped and bent the exhaust valves on my head.

General Comments:

I'll have to admit this z24 motor was a little more than I bargained for. It is a love hate relationship.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2003

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup 2.4z from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4z Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69800 miles
Most recent distance173300 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Get one if you can find one

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 108000 miles.

There was some existing rust damage when truck was purchased.

Driver side seat springs have busted.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable vehicle I have ever driven. It has always started and has never left me stranded on the side of the road. The truck is starting to show its age, however; it is still the one vehicle I own that I have no qualms or reservations about getting in and taking it anywhere. Outside of the one major repair mentioned above, all I do is change the oil religiously and keep the gas tank full.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup 4x4 Z24 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Z24 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

A get you there, classless, put the cigarette out on the dashboard, but reliable old friend, vehicle

Faults:

Transmission rebuild at 80K and again at 126K.

Does not idle so I need a carburator rebuild.

The hot Florida sun has caused the dash to start cracking.

General Comments:

This has been a very reliable vehicle. I bought this truck brand new in Anchorage, Alaska in September 1985. It has been in almost every U.S. state, all, but two Canadian provinces, and Mexico.

The truck still looks good, only exception is that the gloss coat is wearing off.

Other than the fact that it doesn't idle anymore, it runs great.

I have had this truck longer than my wife and kids. The wife knows where she stands!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2002

18th Feb 2010, 19:37

Please don't put cigs out on the dash...

3rd Jul 2010, 15:26

I'll be putting my cigs out on the dash if it doesn't drive over 3000 RPM like it has been. I found a new ash tray.

17th Sep 2012, 10:30

Hello to the person who bought this 720 new in Alaska, and drove it around the US and Canada.

Do you have any idea of what the original 1986 purchase price was?

I've been unable to track down a price for what it originally was MSRP.

I can be contacted at ktmdirtbiker@bell.net

Thanks.

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup 4X4 ? from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission ? Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Wonderful truck. Great bargain

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 175000.

Gone through three clutches (my fault, I'm hard on them).

Heater went out at 160000.

Transmission needed a rebuild at 120000.

General Comments:

I put oversized tires on the truck at about 20000 miles, which probably explains why I've had transmission problems. The fifth gear is also pretty much unusable with the oversized tires, so I stick with first through fourth.

Very dependable! I expect this vehicle to last another 100K miles or more.

Not as quick as it used to be, but still a nice car for camping and hauling.

Not fun for everyday travel as you feel every bump and jar on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2001

1986 Nissan 720 Pickup King Cab SE 2.9 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.9 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance262000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

This truck is ideal for any family who needs an economical 2nd vehicle to do light hauling

Faults:

Heater core replaced at 210,000 miles.

Alternator replaced at 200,000 miles.

Front brake rotors & calipers replaced at 250,000 miles.

Rear brake drums replaced at 230,000 miles.

I have had to replace the electric fuel pump twice (135,000 & 255,000 miles).

General Comments:

This truck has never failed to start & is extremely reliable.

It is well-suited to drive in the often wet conditions of the Portland-Vancouver area.

The 5-speed manual transmission truck has had the clutch replaced only once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 23 reviews