1998 Nissan Altima Reviews

1998 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4L I4 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.4L I4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Most reliable car I've ever had

Faults:

At 100,000 miles, had to get new drive shafts put on. Was making a clunking noise when turning the car. Was told this is normal wear in a car for this mileage. Cost around 350.00 parts and labor.

Windshield wipers broke around 130000 miles. Was the linkage. Spent 150.00 for repair.

Master window controls quit working due to age, but haven't fixed. Told a new part is around 200.00.

A/C squeals badly when on, haven't fixed that. Started around 125000.

Leaking antifreeze slightly at 150000. Not fixing at this moment.

General Comments:

I love this car. Bought it used in 2000 at 26000 miles, and still drive and own the car at 164000 miles in 2012. What can you say?

Most reliable car ever. Very little maintenance. Engine wise, I think I could drive this car forever. Everything else is starting to get old on it, but engine and transmission is still running like new.

Nissan sure built this car to last and last and last. I actually getting tired of driving it. Will drive this until it can't run any more. Not going to put any major repairs in it though at this age of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2012

1998 Nissan Altima from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Cracked radiator neck, fairly easy fix.

The main problem is that the timing chain broke last week. For those of you who don't know, timing chains are supposed to last the life of the car. If Nissan can't design a proper timing system, then the cars are junk...

General Comments:

Decent cheap car, until the engine blows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2011

28th Jun 2011, 20:12

I disagree. I'm sorry you got possibly a bad one, but ours (2001, same model before the 2002 change) has been awesome, 11 years and still going strong! Nissan got this one right, and there are some problems in the bunch as with every car, but the Altima around this time frame, according to numerous surveys, are great cars. Better luck.

29th Jun 2011, 10:31

If this is a 4, it has a rubber timing belt, not a chain, and it should be changed well before 100,000 miles.

31st Oct 2011, 03:48

This car has the KA24DE engine. A 2.4 liter I-4 with a timing chain, not a belt.

10th Sep 2012, 22:36

I just replaced the timing chain and tensioner at 145K miles, and it is expensive. It requires about 9 hours of labor, and the cheapest quote I could find was $900.

13th Jan 2013, 01:15

Honestly, we bought a 1998 Nissan Altima manual, and it was junk! First engine blew at 145000 miles due to a timing chain; bent all the valves! We replaced it with another engine with 100000k, which was 450 dollars. Blew again due to a timing chain. The mileage right now is around 150000k; not planning to fix again. These engines are worthless. Maybe "timing belts" should be used. It's happened to many people, so they should start considering their new engine builds!

22nd Feb 2014, 13:40

98 2.4 DE engine. A good motor, but had to do a head gasket, and the timing chain tensioner needed to be replaced. Now I'm having trouble getting it to hold tension on the chain, so I can build up oil pressure for the tensioner, so it doesn't jump time. I've had it apart twice now and it jumps time. Not sure how to stop this from happening? This is an interference engine, so I don't wanna bend the valves, let alone punch a hole in piston... Any ideas?

1998 Nissan Altima 2.4 Liter 4-cylinder from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter 4-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Excellent, reliable and comfortable transportation!

Faults:

This car had a bad alternator when I bought it.

Replaced front suspension parts including inner and outer tie-rod ends, ball joints and struts, all due to normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

My wife and I bought this car in 2007 for the ridiculous price of $400. It belonged to a lady who worked at the college I went to. Her high school age daughter was driving it. A few years before it had been in a severe hail storm, which left no mechanical damage but did leave some serious dents.

Its only issues at the time were a bad alternator and a slight creak from the rear end. The folks we bought it from seemed convinced that it was on its last legs and was inevitably bound for the scrap pile. We gave them $400 for it, put in a new alternator for about $150 and have put nearly 70,000 miles on it since then. They purchased a Pontiac Sunbird to replace it, and I have every confidence that this car will outlast that thing by many thousands of miles.

It doesn't show any signs of stopping at this point. I wish it got a bit better gas mileage, as it only does about 25mpg combined, but I couldn't ask for a more reliable car. It carries my wife and me on our 60 mile round trip commute five days a week with no problems. We took a 1300 mile trip around Texas in it during the summer of 2009 and it didn't even hiccup in spite of differences in humidity, altitude, temperature and driving speed. I would take this car anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2010

18th May 2010, 19:37

I have the same car with the same engine except it's a 1997 model. I bought it a year ago at 217,000 miles and now it has 232,500. Just a serpentine belt I had to replace, nothing else! I have every confidence in this car also.

I like the fact it has a timing chain instead of the belt.

I would buy another in a heartbeat!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 26 reviews