1998 Nissan Frontier XE regular cab 2.4 from North America

Summary:

About as exciting as white paint

Faults:

Only minor problems with this truck. License plate light sockets corroded. These were replaced under warranty. Plastic tailgate trim was falling off. This too replaced under warranty. "Service engine soon" light comes on intermittently. For $100 dealer cleans Egr valve and trucks o.k. for another year or so. Need to figure out how to fix this myself.

General Comments:

This is a no-frills truck that rides like a horse. I knew I wouldn't have a Cadillac ride when I bought it, so no big deal. The longest I can sit in it at one time is about two hours, but it hauls me to work without incident. On the plus side, the engine runs like a V-6 and gets about 28 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

1998 Nissan Frontier XE 2WD 2.4L from North America

Summary:

Best bargain ever with solid reliability

Faults:

Had to replace windshield wiper arm on driver side at 50K miles ($25).

Replaced the rubber inside passenger side front fender at 50K miles ($59).

Replaced passenger side windshield wiper fluid nozzle at 82K miles ($5).

General Comments:

For the money you cannot buy anything cheaper and more reliable. I bought it for $12,000. I put 63,000 miles on this vehicle in 2.5 years and since then have slowed down a little bit. It has not had any problem besides the little ones noted above. It is extremely reliable. I have driven it hard and it always performs. Have used it to help people move, go to Home Depot to buy home improvement stuff - it just continues to chug along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2003

1998 Nissan Frontier XE ka24de from North America

Summary:

Good reliable transportation

Faults:

The A/C quit working at about 135,000 miles, too expensive to fix, so I haven't. It broke a torsion bar at around 150,000 miles. $80 for the part at the dealer. Alternator went at 171,000 miles $190-230 rebuilt. I got a used one for $100. The original clutch is still in the truck, and it has been a pizza delivery truck since day one, so it's not like it hasn't been abused.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I've ever owned.

I'd strongly recommend it to anyone needing a good truck with low operating costs.

I get 24mpg around town-redlining it at every shift!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

1998 Nissan Frontier XE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Solid, reliable and good value for the money

Faults:

The driver's side splash shield (inside the wheel well) ripped off at some point, necessitating a $12 replacement.

General Comments:

This is a simple truck, and some may call it crude. However, if reliability and basic transportation are your main requirements, it's difficult to go wrong with a Nissan truck. I had a regular cab 97 several years ago, and my 98 Frontier extended cab is a much more refined vehicle, while still retaining the easy to maintain, reliable design of the earlier models.

Don't compare these to a Toyota - there's a reason the Toyos are several thousand dollars more. If you settle for a Nissan, you'll never be happy, but if you value the characteristics of Nissan trucks, the Frontier will put a smile on your face.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

2nd Mar 2002, 03:43

Nice way to sum it up.

1998 Nissan Frontier XE 2.4 from North America

Summary:

A cheap hunk of junk, and a sorry company

Faults:

Tires blew at 500 miles.

Airbag light kept going off, fixed.

Emission test failed, fixed.

Clutch gone at 38,000 miles.

Transmission gone at 38,000 miles.

A/C went out 3 times.

General Comments:

This truck is very poor, and the service is poor. Nissan paid for everything except the clutch and transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

29th May 2001, 18:28

My mom has a 1999 Frontier and the front end started falling apart. I have a 10 year old Ford Ranger and jump little hills and play in the mud with it, and it doesn't rattle at all, go buy a Ford Ranger.

7th Jul 2001, 00:28

I bought my 1998 Nissan Frontier brand new and have never had any problem with it whatsoever. It has 63,000 miles on it now and it runs as good as new. So to say that Nissan Frontiers are "hunks of junks" and no one should buy one is a very false generalization. I would dare to say that your case is very isolated and that there is an endless list of positive reviews for Nissan Frontiers on the web.

1998 Nissan Frontier North America from North America

Summary:

Lemon, cheap, lemon, cheap, UNRELIABLE DEALER service, lemon

Faults:

Terrible vibration from the drive train at 40+ MPH.

Seats not comfortable.

Very noisy vehicle, in general.

Terrible noise and vibration from the cooling/heating fan motor.

General Comments:

The Nissan service manager first blamed the vibration problem on a bad batch of Wilderness tires. He then blamed the vibration on a heavy-duty rear-end that needed more weight. Both excuses were invalid.

Nissan ultimately refused to fix the truck, meaning I had to take them to court to enforce the warranty.

Don't EVER buy a Nissan.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

11th Sep 2002, 23:21

My neighbor was trying to sue Nissan under the Lemon Law for his Nissan Frontier.. but the lawyers want too much money upfront. Does anyone know how he can find out if there's going to be a class action suit? Or how to find a lawyer that will get paid after case is closed? dianimall@aol Please let me know... he's been dealing with Nissan for several years now and still has a crappy truck.

21st Jun 2008, 22:25

I hope I'm not the only one who can't take this review seriously because of the vehicle being called a lemon because of drivetrain vibration. Gimme a break! Want to feel the real lemon experience? Go back to Ford my friend. My '98 Frontier with well over 100k miles had a noticeable, but not unreasonable, drivetrain vibration at idle and when driving at slow speed in top gear. I'd take that over a prematurely failing Ford Ranger transmission any day. Besides, my '97 Mercury Tracer has a noticeable, but not unreasonable, vibration at idle and at low speed in top gear as well. It's just the way some vehicles operate. Get over it.