1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Short Box 2wd 2.4L Z24 I4 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4L Z24 I4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance83258 miles
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

Congratulations Nissan on building a solid truck

Faults:

Frame Cracked; Unable to pass inspection.

C. Converter completely rotted out at 81000 miles.

Entire body starting to fall apart.

Radiator top seal is completely worn off, causing overheating.

Frame Split behind passenger door.

General Comments:

This truck can take a beating, it has been launched 3 feet in the air, buried in 3 feet of mud, has been in water 1/4 up the doors, and still runs like a champ.

The Vinyl seats are uncomfortable, and sit low, causing back discomfort.

The engine, Transmission, Axle, and Differential were built to withstand a direct missile hit, they can take a HUGE beating and still perform.

The Frame rots out if the truck sits for a while, causing it to crack.

The bed of the truck and wheel wells rot out easily and fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2007

6th May 2013, 01:09

I commend you for your very well put description of the motor tranny axle being solidly built. But the cracked frame is not a fault of the truck, for Nissan never designed this truck to launch 3 feet in the air. Had you not launched it, your frame would be perfect.

I got rear ended by a Dodge 3500 at 35 (I was stopped at a red light), and besides smashing the bumper tailgate (took 2 hours and cost 150 to replace), it didn't touch my truck. This truck made me a dedicated lifelong Nissan only owner. I'll never buy anything outside of Nissan/Datsun... ever.

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup NONE 2.4 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance179000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

Best small truck ever

Faults:

Exhaust manifold leak.

General Comments:

This is the best small truck ever built, the 2.4 engine is bullet proof. this is the third one I've had. the first one got totaled, the second, I sold to a friend and the third (extra cab) I have now. for all you who wonder why it stalls when you punch it on the freeway, it's because the intake / exhaust modules on the left fender (toward the front) have failed, they are usually black in color. I got replacements at the wrecking yard, (be careful, although there are two, one is specifically for the intake, the other for exhaust. great truck, they just keep on running, well over 200,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup HD 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance281821 miles

Summary:

Great reliable truck

Faults:

Not much has gone wrong a faulty headlight and the clutch was replaced a 250k if you consider that faulty.

General Comments:

The truck is very reliable and gets me were I want to go it has 281,000 miles and it feels like it will make it another 280.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired212000 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

This is the best little truck I have ever seen, it runs like new and gets 22-25 miles per gallon

Faults:

Water pump went out at 218,000.

The seats are wore badly.

General Comments:

The truck runs like new.

This truck has no rust on it, looks like new.

Awesome fuel mileage and a 16 gallon tank makes this truck just run and run forever.

I would buy another one of these truck without a question.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Sport Truck 2.4L Z24i from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4L Z24i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carN/A N/A

Summary:

It is reliable, fast, fuel efficient, and if anyone messes with it, I will kill the person

Faults:

My tail pipe rusted itself apart.

My water pump went out at 165,000 miles.

I had to replace my valve cover gasket at 180,000 miles.

Air Injection System rusted out.

Air Injection System took my intake coil out too with the rust.

Radio Antenna flew off on a windy day.

Catalytic Converter went out at 187,000 miles.

General Comments:

I replaced all that stuff that went bad.

I put a Magnaflow Catalytic Converter on my exhaust.

I put a 2-chamber flowmaster muffler on with a dump pipe.

Whole new exhaust system from the manifold and back with 2 1/2 inch pipe.

CD Player with new door speakers.

Bed Liner installed.

I installed four fog lights below my front bumper, yes I said four.

P225/70R14 Road Hugger Radial G/T Tires.

Fram Air Hog Air Filter.

Tornado Fuel Saver.

Wind Tail Gate.

Very Loud exhaust!!

35mpg city/36mpg hgwy. that's true!

Color of the truck is yellow, Nissan only made about 75 truck models in yellow in 1986, so I have the rarest pickup model in 1986.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2005

22nd Dec 2006, 00:28

My 1996 2WD King Cab 4cyl XE seems to only average 22 to 23 mpg in mixed highway/city driving. I don't drive with fuel economy particularly in mind (I probably stomp on the gas more than I should, drive a little fast, etc.) but for a light vehicle/little engine, I'd expect better numbers. Road trips (burn a tank straight through on the highway) at constant speed, say 60 to 65 mph don't really yield better numbers.

That said, I love my truck! Very dependable and still a good looking truck... the design has held up well.

27th Apr 2008, 19:41

Where did you find the Air Induction System Parts.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 36 reviews