1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 3.0 V6 gas from North America

Summary:

An amazing truck and investment

Faults:

The original engine blew a head gasket at 199,860 miles.

Front end ball joints and lower control arms were replaced at 250,000 miles.

Replacement battery exploded at 310,000 miles!

Original alternator pooped out at 394,000 miles.

General Comments:

Since 1986, I have driven this truck to and from work, a distance of 120 miles per day, plus numerous weekend trips to the desert, river, Mexico, Canada and Texas (some towing a car on a trailer), without the slightest problem overall. What else can you ask of a truck, then to take you 396,580 miles with a minimum of expense?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2002

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE 2.4 liter Z24i from North America

Summary:

This is an extremely reliable and dependable car

Faults:

I have replaced the starter once at 115000 miles. I had to replace the thermostat at 120000miles because the engine has been running cold. At 132000 miles, the AIV filter and canister were completely rusted out. The whole assembly has been replaced.

General Comments:

This is my first car and the most reliable car I have ever owned. This says a lot because I also own a Lexus.

After every tune-up, this car runs like it's new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Z24 from North America

Summary:

Best car bargian available

Faults:

Recently in preparation for a long trip I changed out the timing chain. The chain was in fantastic condition however the tensioner was worn and almost ready to give out. If you own one of these I recommend a change out of all timing chain parts prior to the 200,000 miles mark.

The water pump had to be replaced.

Some of the emissions controls system parts were rusted and had to be replaced.

Clutch was replaced at about 140,000.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned and is well worth spending some money to repair and keep in good working order. I also checked the Valve clearance and at 186,000 miles and they were still at factory settings no change needed. Even the alignment has been fine with little adjustment needed. My current wife purchased this car new and only recently have some of the parts been replaced. I did notice the rubber cover for the clutch connection at the transmission point needs replacement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

10th Apr 2004, 21:43

I own a 1986-Hardbody. I have 160,000 miles on the truck.

I want to thank you for the heads-up on what to service now, before I experience the problem first-hand. My Hardbody has given me excellent service with very few problems.

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 4 cylinder. 2.4 Liter from North America

Summary:

Hard-Body! Nothing beats it!

Faults:

I got this truck from my dad. He bought it in 1987. When it was his he rebuilt the engine and the transmission.

From the time I got it til now, I've had to change the fuel pump and it needed to be aligned about 3 times.

General Comments:

I love my Nissan. It's my first car and it's a charm. It's been really reliable to me.

The seats are a little worn, and the transmission's a little rough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 720 Long Bed 2.4L 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Great, reliable truck

Faults:

Thermostat crapped out, $5 fix and twenty minutes of my time.

General Comments:

Dog slow. I like fast cars and this isn't one. And to the guy who claims his does 98mph at the end of the quarter mile is full of it (it might be 73mph), unless he has some serious mods to his truck.

Extremely reliable. Starts up goes down road without a problem.

Handles a lot of weight both towing and what you can load in the bed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Pickup 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

An extremely reliable truck

Faults:

The Pickup is rusted pretty good, but it's not in a shambles, we sanded down one side and put primer over it and it rusted back through.

The speedometer went out at 42,000 miles, we never got it fixed so we have no idea how many miles are on it.

Everything else that is wrong with it is our fault, like a torn seat & cracked windshield.

General Comments:

Our Nissan is actually a 1986.5 so it's a little more rare. I said I have no idea how many miles are on it, but I think it's probably around 180k-200k and it still starts every time. We also drove around without an exhaust for years and it should have messed up the timing or something, but it didn't.

I have been looking for specs on the 3.0 V6 in the 86.5, like HP, but I couldn't find any if you have some please e-mail me a Mstang1985@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

6th Apr 2004, 21:09

Yes, I have a 1986.5 Nissan 720 Hardbody pickup truck, and it is a totally reliable truck.

I have the 2.4L Z24 engine in it, which is their top of the line engine(s) for that year.

Stock, a Z24 has 103 HP & 103Lb.Ft. of torque, but I have put on a K & N air filter, a Glasspack muffler and Road Hugger radial G/T's, and it now has about 112 HP and about 115 torque.

But answering your question, I do know the performance for the 3.0L V6 engine... Believe it or not, it has less HP than the 4 cylinder Z24. It has about 90 HP and 90 torque, but better acceleration. But the Z24 is the best engine Nissan built for that year.

20th Oct 2006, 21:45

I have a 1986.5 D21 Hardbody pickup, and it's been great! My odometer finally gave up after 150,000 miles or so, so I have no idea how many miles I have on it. The only problem I've had is with the electronic control module. Apparently it was a brand-new thing and I got the model that was a problem child. The first one went out after about 12 years, so I had a remanufactured one installed. That one lasted about four years, and I had to have it rebuilt. That was four years ago. So far, so good. I try to park my truck in shady areas now, because I was told the Florida heat really fries those things, in addition to them being problem children. My truck's never been kept in the garage. My next truck will definitely be a Nissan (hopefully an alternative fuel one).

22nd Sep 2011, 15:47

2.4L Z24i I4, 106 hp (1986.5–1989)

2.4L KA24E I4, 134 hp (100 kW) (1990–1997)

3.0L VG30i V6, 145 hp (108 kW) (1986.5–1989)

3.0L VG30E V6, 153 hp (114 kW) (1990–1995)

2.3L TD23 I4 Diesel, 75 hp (56 kW) (1987–1992)

2.7L TD272 I4 Diesel, 84 hp (63 kW) (1988–1996)