1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup NONE 2.4 from North America


Best small truck ever


Exhaust manifold leak.

General Comments:

This is the best small truck ever built, the 2.4 engine is bullet proof. this is the third one I've had. the first one got totaled, the second, I sold to a friend and the third (extra cab) I have now. for all you who wonder why it stalls when you punch it on the freeway, it's because the intake / exhaust modules on the left fender (toward the front) have failed, they are usually black in color. I got replacements at the wrecking yard, (be careful, although there are two, one is specifically for the intake, the other for exhaust. great truck, they just keep on running, well over 200,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup HD 3.0 liter V6 from North America


Great reliable truck


Not much has gone wrong a faulty headlight and the clutch was replaced a 250k if you consider that faulty.

General Comments:

The truck is very reliable and gets me were I want to go it has 281,000 miles and it feels like it will make it another 280.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup from North America


This is the best little truck I have ever seen, it runs like new and gets 22-25 miles per gallon


Water pump went out at 218,000.

The seats are wore badly.

General Comments:

The truck runs like new.

This truck has no rust on it, looks like new.

Awesome fuel mileage and a 16 gallon tank makes this truck just run and run forever.

I would buy another one of these truck without a question.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2005

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Sport Truck 2.4L Z24i from North America


It is reliable, fast, fuel efficient, and if anyone messes with it, I will kill the person


My tail pipe rusted itself apart.

My water pump went out at 165,000 miles.

I had to replace my valve cover gasket at 180,000 miles.

Air Injection System rusted out.

Air Injection System took my intake coil out too with the rust.

Radio Antenna flew off on a windy day.

Catalytic Converter went out at 187,000 miles.

General Comments:

I replaced all that stuff that went bad.

I put a Magnaflow Catalytic Converter on my exhaust.

I put a 2-chamber flowmaster muffler on with a dump pipe.

Whole new exhaust system from the manifold and back with 2 1/2 inch pipe.

CD Player with new door speakers.

Bed Liner installed.

I installed four fog lights below my front bumper, yes I said four.

P225/70R14 Road Hugger Radial G/T Tires.

Fram Air Hog Air Filter.

Tornado Fuel Saver.

Wind Tail Gate.

Very Loud exhaust!!

35mpg city/36mpg hgwy. that's true!

Color of the truck is yellow, Nissan only made about 75 truck models in yellow in 1986, so I have the rarest pickup model in 1986.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2005

22nd Dec 2006, 00:28

My 1996 2WD King Cab 4cyl XE seems to only average 22 to 23 mpg in mixed highway/city driving. I don't drive with fuel economy particularly in mind (I probably stomp on the gas more than I should, drive a little fast, etc.) but for a light vehicle/little engine, I'd expect better numbers. Road trips (burn a tank straight through on the highway) at constant speed, say 60 to 65 mph don't really yield better numbers.

That said, I love my truck! Very dependable and still a good looking truck... the design has held up well.

27th Apr 2008, 19:41

Where did you find the Air Induction System Parts.

1986 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 2.4L from North America


It's a nickel and dimer


I bought the truck in 2000 for 2 grand. On the test drive, the clutch went out. That was a sign saying don't buy me! After the owner replaced the clutch, we bought it.

Drove it for 40,000 miles. One day decided to go on a hunting trip, and was traveling up this hill, and the truck lost all of its performance. 30 miles from home; decided to drive it all the way there. The truck hardly idled, ran really rough. When we got home, 3 days worth of pulling the intake off and the exhaust manifold, and then the head to check if it was a head gasket. Came to see it was the number 3 piston; half of it was missing; I was running on three cylinders.

After that I decided to put a motor in for $2,300. 2,000 miles later the tranny went; there's another $2000.

OK, so after that is all said and done, electrical problems!! Went through 3 alternators in 4 months. Took it to a shop, and one of the wires on the plug that plugs into the back of the alternator was snipped. Had that soldered back together.

A couple days after everything was squared away, I had just got done adjusting the brakes, and was going to a party, and the driveway was steep down hill and gravel. My brakes locked up, and I slid right into a big tree, imprinting my license number on it. 300 dollars in body damage, and I was on my way again.

Now I'm trying to sell it. It's been through a lot, but I think it's time for someone else to take over the throne.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th February, 2005

6th May 2013, 00:16

Well it sounds like the truck you bought had been severely abused and mechanically neglected. Most of those are common problems with abused vehicles. If you can find one in good shape, I do believe it would change your mind.

My 86 2WD 4 cylinder has over 500000 miles (odometer died at 527000). I've had to replace gaskets and seals, and some electrical components, but at the end of the day, she runs just as well as when she rolled out of the factory.