1995 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 4 of 10

1995 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE King Cab KA24E 2.4 SOHC 4 cylinder from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission KA24E 2.4 SOHC 4 cylinder Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Reliable no matter what I did to it

Faults:

The center drive shaft support bearing needed to be replaced twice in the 32,000 miles I had it.

General Comments:

I loved this truck I used to beat it so hard. Always ran great no problems other than what was listed. I would probably still have the truck if it wasn't for my heavy foot (it was my first truck) I took a turn way too fast and rolled it about 60 mph. Rolled it back over, checked the fluids, and drove it home. In fact I drove it for several weeks to follow to and from work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2007

1995 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 2.4L from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Good truck, but frame rusted out prematurely

Faults:

Must be something about bad about these frames. My 95 Nissan 4X4 Kingcab has major frame rust. I am trying to get it fixed, but discouraged by other comments. Otherwise has been good reliable truck.

General Comments:

I will think twice before buying another Nissan truck. I have other Nissans. Good cars. Will be taking pictures and calling/writing Nissan about this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th November, 2006

1995 Nissan Hardbody Pickup ex 2.4 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Really good economical hauler

Faults:

Nothing that was the fault of the manufacturer.

General Comments:

Most reliable car I've ever owned.

All I've ever had to do is routine maintenance. (ie. plugs, filters, fluids)

Any other repairs were my fault. I installed my stereo badly and knocked out my dash lights. Fixed by mechanic who re-wired stereo. That's about it.

Great gas mileage for a small pickup. (24 city/ 27 hwy)

Good performance for base model pickup with small 4 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

1995 Nissan Hardbody Pickup from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carSubaru GL

Summary:

Hands down most dependable vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

82K - alternator

111K - turn signal switch, windshield washer motor

140?K - power steering pump

162K - heater blower.

Current minor issues: Lid for the center console fell off. Probably because my Rottweiler keeps standing on it.

EGR light is glowing. Local mechanic says a code needs to be reset, but the nearest Nissan dealer is 70 miles away and this doesn't appear to be a worry.

Needs a new set of shocks.

Clutch is feeling a bit sloppy, but it's original at 170K. No slipping.

The mirror glass fell off the drivers' side recently, but didn't break. I epoxied back on.

The seals around the windows are worn now, so the cabin is a bit noisy at high speeds. It's never had annoying squeaks or rattles, just wind noise.

General Comments:

This truck has been stunningly reliable; I've owned many vehicles and none have been this bullet-proof.

In addition to the "gone wrongs" listed, I've replaced front brake pads twice. The rear brakes and rotors are original & in good shape (just had them checked.)

One set of shocks.

Put in upgrade stereo system.

Everything else is original - clutch, exhaust system, no electrical problems, nada. I have even taken this truck to my mechanic and told him to go over it carefully and tell me what I need and he can't find anything wrong. I do regular fluid changes and tuneups.

This has been a work & hauling vehicle primarily; I've also driven it several thousand miles in Mexico on road trips. It's worked hard.

Ride is truck-like, but pretty comfortable. Ergonomics are great, I can see and reach everything no problem (smallish woman.) The xtra-cab seats are a joke, the space is handy for storage though.

Engine bogs down a bit on mountain inclines, but otherwise pretty peppy. Handling is excellent, considering it's a truck. I have towed a kit car from Denver to LA, and a boat, with no problems. Not wonderful on ice and snow, but if you put weight over the wheels and know how to drive a RWD in snow it's fine.

Mileage is around 20 MPG, but I have a topper and usually carry some extra weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

16th Sep 2006, 15:04

I am the proud owner of a 1995 Nissan XE. This has been the most amazing vehicle I have ever owned. Here is what has been done to it.

-Upgraded to Pioneer Cd player.

- Dual exhaust with Flow master muffler. (increased h.p.about 15%)

- New tires.

What needs to be done.

- Headliner re-hung.

- Windshield re-sealed.

- Check engine light comes on most of the time. (E.G.R.sensor)

That pretty much is the story of my 166,257 mile miracle.

26th May 2009, 09:39

I am the person who wrote the original review of this truck in Oct 2005.

Update: It's still going strong, now with 228,000 miles. It has never let me down yet!

Since Oct 2005 I have done two further repairs:

Finally did a new clutch at about 180K. ($560.00)

Another alternator at 192K. (About $300.00)

Maintenance items: One set front shocks, one set front brakes, new tires, tune up, oil changes.

The A/C went out sometime in 2007 and I just can't bring myself to spend $800 on it! This is just my work truck - I have a newer second vehicle with the required amenities.

People are starting to tease me and ask if I am ever going to get a "nicer" work truck. I say, why should I? I'm on a mission now to see who lives longer - me or this truck. It doesn't leak a drop of anything and I swear the repairs I've listed are the ONLY ones. Everything else is original.

And no, I am not an employee of Nissan or any other automobile manufacturer. :)

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 28 reviews