1993 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Nice Luxury Sport for the Price

Faults:

So far the transmission has gave out at 144,000 miles, the door locks don't work since I got it, and the heater don't work. But besides that, the rest is good.

General Comments:

The car is pretty quick for being a 93, and runs beautiful when the transmission was working.

The car is really roomy, and has a nice dash design.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable performance car

Faults:

At around 80,000 miles the vehicle started to run rough intermittently. Upon review by a trusted local garage they determined one of the injectors was going bad. I had all the injectors replaced at one time due to the labor costs associated with removing the fuel injector rack ($500.00). This repair cost $1300.00 and included a full tune up. The rear manifold stud also broke at 107,000 miles resulting in a $320.00 repair to replace the gasket and stud.

General Comments:

This car has great potential to perform well without compromising comfort. I have added roughly 30 H.P. to this car by simply adding a mandrel bent y-pipe, cool air intake and lightened pulley. The mileage actually increased by two miles per gallon. I am 6'3" and aside from getting in and out, this is one of the most comfortable cabins I have experienced. This makes a great commuter car or first college vehicle and I have enjoyed mine thoroughly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 kilometres
Most recent distance124000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast and Furious with some electrical problems

Faults:

The right rear lock does not seem to work when the central lock button from the driver's side is used. But when the driver's lock is pushed down the rear lock works.

Some amount of rust near the rear doors.

Driver side power window is slow while being raised, but OK while rolling down.

General Comments:

This is a great car with an awesome amt of power. I am only 18 and this I my first car. I am 6'3" and I have not found this much leg room in any other car. I am only concerned about some problems with electronic things like power locks and power windows. Am not too keen on spending too much money repairing the car.

The Active Speaker music system is very crisp and clear, even at high volumes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 liter V6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

"Four Door Sports Car"!

Faults:

My parents are the original owners. The VTC system was replaced in 1996 with 40,000 miles. This is a common problem with '92 to '94 Maximas with the VE30DE engine. The transmission was rebuilt in 1997 with 60,000 miles. Both repairs were covered by Nissan's extended warranty.

General Comments:

Overall this is a wonderful car despite the few problems we've had. Most of today's cars still don't have the performance and comfort of the '93 Maxima. The car drives perfectly. The exterior and interior are flawless. I'd buy another Maxima in a heartbeat.

The 3.0 liter DOHC also known as the VE30DE is a smooth and powerful beast of an engine and bulids up speed nicely. Perhaps only the new VQ series engine family on newer Nissans is better. It makes lusty sounds and loves to rev. The automatic transmission shift feel is firm and solid and kicks down easily for passing.

The handling and steering are superb. The Maxima handles like a smaller car yet feels as strong as a tank.

The interior is very roomy and comfortable even for a 6'3" guy like me. The trunk is also quite large.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A high performance comfortable family sport car

Faults:

Transmission changed: 90000 miles. It wasn't the car's fault. hapend in snow, weels were turning, wife put gear in reverse :)

Water pump failure:

Started leaking antifreeze at around 150000 miles. Then suddenly it all leaked out when I was driving. Took it to the dealer and got the water pump replaced.

Timing chain:

Got replaced at the dealer at 150000 miles.

Brake pads were rubbing against the rotors. Changed the calipers and brackets, and bled the break fluid.

Problem was fixed.

Air condition went out at around 200,000 miles. Still haven't fixed.

Bose stereo system quit working at 200,000 miles

General Comments:

This car is awsome. I think it is one of the best cars ever built. The driving and handling are perfect.

Exterior looks great, Drives like a sport car, extremely comfortable seats and very nice interior.

Miles do not effect this car, my friend has one with 300,000+ miles and it still runs great.

If you have one, do not get rid of it, it is worth fixing.

The only thing truly missing from this car are cup holders.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

17th Jul 2003, 08:05

I am updating my own post

I fixed the air cond. It was a leak in the condensor. It works perfect now.

4th Sep 2004, 23:04

You must have the factory CD player. The ones that just have the radio/cassette player have a pull-out combination change drawer/dual cup holder right underneath it.

10th Jan 2006, 20:24

Amen with the cup holders brother!

27th Feb 2006, 12:22

I have the 1993 Maxima and I love it. The timing belt is a pain, but once you have it. Your with it forever. =)

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews