1993 Nissan Maxima Reviews

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance263562 miles

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

When I went to start the car, the car wouldn't even start.

General Comments:

This car is very quick for its age. You can hear the engine roar every time you step on the gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2010

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired94202 miles
Most recent distance146388 miles

Summary:

Love it, just needs to be taken care of

Faults:

The transmission used to seem as if it didn't have a 2nd gear. It would high rev up to about 4500 RPMs in 1st gear, and then drop down to about 2500 in what felt and sounded like 3rd, but after that it runs great. When I'd press the gas to, say, overtake another car, it wouldn't drop the gear it was in... it would pretty much just gradually pick up speed in that same gear. But yesterday it wouldn't even go into reverse, so I had to push it backward. And it only (barely) moves in 2nd Drive. I'm not the typical "car person", so could anybody tell me what the initial problem was and what could have possibly happened yesterday?

General Comments:

Excellent acceleration.

Other than the tranny issue, it drives like new.

Really fast car.

Spacious enough on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2009

21st Dec 2009, 22:47

Hate to say it, but I think you need a new transmission. Once you lose reverse, that pretty much tells you she's done for. I suggest looking for a used one, and have an independent mechanic you can trust put it in.

I had a used tranny with 68,000 miles put in my '98 Chevy for less than $800.. Japanese cars can be a bit more complicated, so labor may cost more, but it's still much cheaper than going to a place like Aamco or buying a new car. (Provided nothing else is wrong with it).

23rd Dec 2009, 23:18

I figured that. I was going to go to a Salvage Yard to see if I could scoop one up for an inexpensive price. But thanks for the answer to that.

30th Oct 2011, 20:03

Did you check the fluid level in your transmission? And as long as you don't slam it into reverse, you shouldn't lose it. All transmissions are pretty fluid sensitive, meaning the slightest drop in fluid will cause it to act up; especially these transmissions.

1993 Nissan Maxima LE from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Amazing longevity!!!

Faults:

There was a $1000 engine repair done for $100 under the extended warranty early on.

General Comments:

The odometer has recently gone out, but the car has over 300,000 miles on it with no major repairs.

Maintenance and oil changes done as per the book. I doubt that another car we own will ever match this.

My only complaint is that it is hard on my back when trying to get out. I'm getting to an age where I need a vehicle that is higher from the ground.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2009

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance185050 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Nice if it actually ran!

Faults:

Hey Everyone, my name is Nikki.

I bought my 1993 Nissan Maxima three weeks ago for $1,300. I bought it on a Wednesday and I haven't been able to drive it since that Saturday. I HAD THE CAR FOR THREE DAYS! It drove fine when I test drove it. But the next day it started making a funny noise when I put it in reverse. The noise progressed worse on Friday, but it was still driving OK. Then just my luck on Saturday, the car would not go into reverse at all. Does the transmission totally need to be reworked? Where can I find a place that will do good work but be really cheap?

Please help!

General Comments:

This car is quick.

It takes off really fast.

It has no problem with the "get-up-and-go" factor.

Spacious and roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2008

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

This is a very nice performance family sedan with some electrical and tranny issues

Faults:

Both rear windows regulators have been replaced (by myself) for less than $100 (for both.)

Had new shocks (all 4) and tires replaced for little over $2,000.

Power door locks quit working a while back, but I don't care. Key still let me in every time.

Digital clock comes on when it wants to. - big deal...

Quite a bit of noticeable road and wind noise at speed >50 mph.

Only get between 20-22 mpg on mixed city/highway commute.

Radio system still works with only front speakers. Every now and then all speakers will come on for about a minute or two then the rear goes out again. It sounds like the wiring is shorted out somewhere. The radio is mainly used for news, weather and traffic so this is sufficient.

Speedometer doesn't work sometimes. Quite a few times it showed 0 mph while I was driving > 65 mph. This doesn't bother me so I'm not going to have it fixed.

Steering wheel fluid started to leak a little (about 1 drop a week.) I put in a little bit of the stuff that's supposed to fill in the crack and fix the leak. It may take a few days for this to work, I guess. Will update this later.

Intermittent problem with transmission right now. It drives as if it got stuck on the 4th or 5th gear the whole time. Possible problem with the speed sensor that tells the trans. to shift improperly. This problem's been continuous for the last 2 weeks so I'm dropping it off with local Nissan dealer to have this diagnosed and fixed as necessary.

General Comments:

I've had 4 other Nissan's ('79 Datsun station wagon, '87 Sentra, '99 Max, and '01 Frontier Supercharged) and loved every one of them. All except the '93 Max. have been either sold or traded in.

I'm keeping this one as my daily commute. I've spent almost $4,000 on it for the last 12 months. I could spend up to $2,000 more this weekend depending on dealer's diagnostic. I plan to drive this baby til at least 200k miles. I figure it's still cheaper than making $300/mo car payment on a new car that I may not like as much as I do this one.

I like features such as heated rear view mirrors and selectable modes for transmission (comfort and power.)

Seats are comfortable and hug body well.

This '93 Max hasn't disappointed me at all since I bought it about 10 years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2008

14th Feb 2008, 18:48

This is an update to my own post.

Had the car serviced by local Nissan dealer earlier this week. It wasn't the transmission or vacuum leak as I thought. It was the fuel injection system that cost almost $1,500. It's running great again for now. Time will tell but I really have good faith in this car.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews