1993 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from Mexico

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Great Car

Faults:

Minor transmission repair at 60000, electric solenoid blew $100.

Fuel pressure relay at fuel pump failed new pump $180.

General Comments:

I love my car it`s still flashy and has the original paint on it, when clean is a head turning.

Interior is sharp and leather feels like new, also the Bose sounds crisp as new.

It handles and rides like no other sedan, and has a very nice look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Average

Faults:

Window Regulators 5 times (4 covered by under 3/36000 1 not). Bose Radio replaced. Antenna will not operate. A/C Compressor replaced twice (under 3/36000).

Rear Main seal. Paint on roof, hood, and trunk bad.

General Comments:

Although I have had some issues with the car it has been a good car. I just don't trust Nissan to admit when there are obvious problems (window regulators radio).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2002

24th Sep 2003, 19:37

I agree. I just purchased a Nissan Maxima 1993. The radio does not work. The Air Conditioner just stopped blowing cool. The Windows have not stopped working...yet. Otherwise it runs great.

Mike From New Jersey.

Theonegodman@aol.com.

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE V6 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great car for the person who needs speed, but also needs room for the kids!

Faults:

As with every other Maxima in 93' the regulator issue, but also I've had unbelievable front end suspension problems. Though I drive my cars quite hard I've never experienced these sort of problems, it's been through atleast 1000 dollars worth of front end problems, you name it I have replaced and probably twice. The antenna stopped working at 80,000 and the transmission has recently been acting up.

General Comments:

But overall the car has been good with less negatives than positives, very fast, and though the suspension has its problems with proper tires it can be quite agile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2002

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

All four window regulators have been replaced. I think everyone I know that owns a Maxima has had this problem.

Recently rebuilt the transmission at a cost of $1800.

I got tired of the squeaky brakes, so I started letting the dealer install the brakes. Since then, I've not had a problem with them.

Occasionally, the antenna will not go up. Otherwise, I have had no electrical problems.

General Comments:

Overall, it has been a good, dependable car. It has sufficient power, the ride is good, and it has not had extreme mechanical problems. I still think it looks pretty good after all these years.

I think that Nissan should have put out a TSB on the windows, but it's probably too late now. I understand that the regulators were redesigned a couple of years later.

The only other thing that irks me is getting the timing belt replaced every 60,000 miles. The engine didn't need to be designed this way. I think it was just a ploy to get you into the dealership to spend a little more money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

4th Oct 2004, 23:06

Your timing belt issue is a little short sighted.

Though a timing belt is a nuisance to change, consider this. A timing belt is designed to be changed at a certain interval. It can be a difficult task, especially for a do-it-yourself mechanic.

However, you also have to consider that timing chains generally are NOT designed to be replaced. In the event of a timing chain failure, you are looking at substantial removal of engine components, if not the entire engine. And a timing chain is NOT immune to failure.

So over the lifetime of the vehicle, a handful of timing belt replacements will more than likely total less time in the shop than one timing chain replacement. Since the majority of the mechanic's bill is shop time, they are probably less costly.

1993 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Generally speaking the car has been great.

But in the last two years, three window regulators broke, costing me around $280 to fix each window. Nissan says there was no recall, but I am finding more '93 Maxima owners having the same problem...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

27th May 2001, 14:06

I also had work done to one of my windows. The motor went out on the rear right window. It cost about $100.00

2nd Aug 2001, 09:01

Same thing happened to me! 3 of the motors in my windows broke, they simply fell off the track. Estimated cost was about $100-$150 each. My electric locks went on the fritz as well.

12th Oct 2001, 23:09

I replaced all the window regulators. I also replaced 2 injectors and the others are going bad also. From what I have heard the injector seals break down from the alcohol in the gas. The only solution is to replace the injectors at roughly 100.00 each plus labor. The transmission also seems to slip now and I only have 70,000 miles. Go figure.

28th Dec 2004, 07:18

The two back windows and my driver's side window in my 1993 Nissan Maxima fell down. The service center says all it is is a small plastic clip that broke, but in order to replace it they have to buy the entire unit, at a cost of over $250 apiece. One service center wanted more than $400 apiece.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews