1993 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Power power power

Faults:

My car has ticking sound that I hate!

General Comments:

The car the 4 door would blow any 2 door car out of the water hondas beware!

I done 140+ on the freeway quick and fast car man!! handles like a two door and roomy car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles

Summary:

A sweet car for the money

Faults:

Is is just me, or does everyone have a problem with the transmission? Since I've gotten the car, there is more and more lag between shifts, and in fourth gear (it's an auto... : () it won't accelerate.

Suspension is shot, literally drives like a boat.

Repaired broken studs in the intake manifold, cost $1000.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. I can tell that at one point it was quite a performer.

After 134k miles, the engine still has plenty of umph.

Lack of cup holders is often frustrating.

Seats are the most comfortable for driver I've ever been in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired211000 kilometres
Most recent distance215000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

Nothing Yet.

General Comments:

The car is very quick, I love being at a stoplight and having some little tuner Civic or Integera want to race and leaving them in the dust. Nissan really knew what they were doing when they built this car.

The leather seats are very comfortable. The interior is great, I love the white gages and the yellow display at night.

The factory rims are kind of ugly and extremely hard to keep clean, however they will soon be replaced.

There is a bit of squeak from the brakes that can be a little annoying at times, but when I throw the car into POWER and fly from a stop light it is all worth it.

This car is a perfect buy if you love performance, luxury and, class all bundled into one this car is for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A fragile investment

Faults:

Front Window regulators have failed.

Transmission had to be rebuilt for $1,200.

Tape Deck/Radio has failed. Also had to have the whole system rewired because it is only applicable with Bose.

Paint has faded substantially.

Brakes sound horrible.

The antenna is also broken.

General Comments:

It has very comfortable interior.

The overall torque is amazing.

It cleans up very well.

Although it has many problems, it is a nice car when it runs well.

I would advise anyone interested in purchasing one to check the transmission thoroughly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

12th May 2003, 16:45

Please tell us where you can get a Nissan (or any) automatic transmission rebuilt for $1200!

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 DE from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 DE Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Not as reliable as I had hoped, but fun

Faults:

Steering (3 issues -- repaired under warranty before I had the car)

Power door locks (under warranty)

Power windows (under warranty)

Variable Timing Cam (VTC) springs (cause of that clicking sound, only in 1992-1994 engines), eventually got Nissan USA and local dealer to cover the full $1500 cost)

Bose stereo intermittent (piece of junk, not compatible with other systems due to placement of amps at each speaker)

Bose front speaker failed ($125 to replace)

Valve job at 95K (!!!??) carbon in engine

Power window regulator (rear) at 108K

Goes through brakes quickly -- and I am not an aggressive driver.

General Comments:

Nice power though not as kicky as the 1991

Very comfortable ride and handling

Interior and exterior look great, especially when clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th April, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

Nissan has a label in the back side window saying 4DSC ( 4-door sports car) sure means it!

Faults:

Brakes started to make noise after putting new brakes on.

Bose radio worked when it wanted too.

General Comments:

This car is beyond just a four door sports car as nissan says.

Its engine is extremely powerful most 2 and 4 door cars can't ever keep up with it.

Luxurious , smooth ride, worth the money.

Speed and performance is its top notch.

Only car I've done 140 MPH in!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2003

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L Twin Cam V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L Twin Cam V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140003 miles
Most recent distance146857 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

High performance, low cost

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet.

It has the chronic "ticking" syndrome that I have heard is common with these cars.

General Comments:

I have nothing but good things to say about the "big" 3.0 L. It is definitely the most powerful V6 I have ever had the pleasure of driving.

I also love the 5-speed transmission. The shifter is in just the right place. The gears shift very smoothly.

The Maxima is a very comfortable car. I'm 6'6" and have no problems with getting in and out. Relatively roomy.

All of the power is still there. Even after 146000+ miles, it will get up and go. I love blowing the little "vtec" Civics away on the weekends. The "4DSC" decals on the rear opera windows definitely do not lie.

It handles like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2002

11th May 2004, 00:14

I've got a 1992 SE with 116,000 Km which I've owned since new. No problems so far. All I've done is to do the regular 6000 Km maintenance. I guess I'm lucky so far.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews