1993 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1993 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 liter V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V-6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95398 miles
Most recent distance118592 miles
Previous carToyota 4runner

Summary:

A four door sports car

Faults:

Nothing, except the window regulators, about $450 for all windows

General Comments:

I LOVE THIS CAR!!! It is way ahead of the other companies in quality and engine technology, very fast also, it's faster than most 2 doors and is a good car to speed in because it's not obvious to police. Nissan really knew what they were doing when making this car.

Also lots of luxury features at a lower price, handling is great also.

VVVRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOMMMM!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2001

16th May 2001, 06:11

I also have had to replace 3 window regulators on my '93 Maxima, but it costs me around $280 for each window. I'm trying to find out how many of us are out here...

17th Jul 2001, 13:39

My only problem with my Maxima is the window regulators. I have had all four replaced in the last year and a half and one had to be done twice. I get it done at about $125 per window (have a friend at an autoglass shop). If there is a cheaper way to get it done, I'd love to know.

1993 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles

Summary:

A reliable and roomy family sedan

Faults:

I had this car for 7 seven years now and it's been very reliable.

Recently though, the transmission was not working properly. The car cannot accelerate when the gear is in drive. Ironically, I had to shift to the 2nd gear in order for the the car to move, after that I set the gear back to drive at cruising speed. To my surprise, the repair cost was minimal, just US$350. It turned out that there was a switch in the transmission that needed to be replaced.

Other than that, the car is flawless and still runs like new. Best car I've ever spent my money on.

General Comments:

Spacious interior. Lots of shoulder and leg room, even in the rear seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2000

10th Jul 2001, 12:57

The bad news is that mine (93 Nissan Maxima GXE) has started the same, very exact problem today, but the good news is that I know what is the exact fix due to this site. I will definitely inform my friends about this site, it's great!!!

12th Oct 2001, 23:13

I have the same problem with my 94 Maxima.

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Cool car but may have problems

Faults:

The VTC's in the engine had to be replaced twice. Cost my warranty over $6000 dollars.

Th water pump is now leaking and the air conditioner has stopped working.

The brakes squeak really bad, don't use Merlin.

General Comments:

It's a sweet car. Nice leather seats and sound system. It's considered a luxury car so the insurance is higher.

The engine is powerful but could use a little more kick off the line.

Don't buy this car without a warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2000

1st May 2001, 20:58

I own a 94 Nissan Maxima SE - had to replace all the brakes at 100k. Now the brakes still squeak and Just Brakes tell me the calipers need replacement. I am just wondering since if anyone has had this problem??? Besides that - I am going to buy another Maxima SE and keep this one also.

11th May 2001, 01:43

Squeaking brakes is a known problem in Maximas among other cars. Nissan has put out a technical service bulletin about it and all mechanics have access to them, but you might have to go to a Nissan dealer who follows them closely. I can't remember what it says right now, there are several common remedies though such as shims that come standard with OEM pads, antisqueal goo that goes behind the pad, and revised pad compounds in some new OEM brakepads. But, it has nothing to do with calipers. I don't know if you might need them too. But if just brakes, and they are trying to tell you new ones would stop the squeal, they are dragging you over the coals. The two issues are unrelated.

Good luck.

18th Jun 2003, 07:05

I have the same problem. I changed the pads as well as calipers and brackets and it still makes noise!

I heard that ceramic pads might be the solution!!?

Also the dealer pads might fix it.

4th Aug 2006, 08:32

If you have VTCs in your car, than you have an SE, not a GXE.

1993 Nissan Maxima SE unleaded from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission unleaded Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Solid fast and beautiful and a smooth revving engine

Faults:

VTC spokets faulty, replaced twice under warranty and power steering pump. As a result of hard driving the windows have lots of problems but I can overlook that.

General Comments:

Has lots and lots of power, it took the car world lots of engineering to make a car comparable to the Maxima SE. Solid fun and classy, BEWARE OF MAXIMA SE, BMW M3'S

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2000

16th May 2001, 06:12

What do you mean 'as a result of hard driving' you had problems with the windows? I had to replace 3 window regulators on my '93 Maxima and two of the windows were rarely used...

10th Jun 2002, 12:19

I've owned a 93 Maxima SE, and now drive a 97 BMW 328i sport. "M3s look out?" The Maxima is terrific, but buddy, it ain't THAT good.

1993 Nissan Maxima GXE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville Wagon

Summary:

Nice ride, dude. Nice

Faults:

Water pump needed replacement.

Paint started flaking.

Brakes screech.

All covered under warranty, but the idiots can't fix the brakes correctly so they keep squeaking.

General Comments:

The car is great, virtually no problems and it is 7 years old with less than 50,000 miles. Wonderful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2000

3rd Aug 2002, 21:34

From another review it sounds like you should let the dealer do the brakes. It is a bit more money, but you can't beat the specialized training on these high performance vehicles.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews