1997 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 4 of 10

1997 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Great car with almost no flaws

Faults:

The only problem I've had with car was replacing the power steering return lines...

General Comments:

This is one great car.

The ride is very superb to a car with 200k on it. The engine has no problem starting up. Transmission shifts flawlessly. Runs like brand new.

I'm really falling in love with this car. The cabin is very spacious and the dash is nicely laid out so you won't get lost in the controls.

A perfect cruiser or even better for long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2008

1997 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 liter from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

This car can reach 300,000 miles even if you drive it like the sports car it is

Faults:

The car it's self is in great shape. I've just had a couple things go wrong but that is very understandable for a 200,000+ mile car. I had a squeak in the clutch, ha not a big deal, the back rear strut squeaks on larger bumps in the road, the exhaust rattles when I accelerate hard, and when I first start the car it tries to eject a tape that isn't there 3 or 4 times.

General Comments:

It is quick. A lot of my friends have bought newer cars and have souped them up and all of that, and my car with twice or more the miles on it can beat them in a race no problem. Even a friend of mine who has 3.0 liter 2005 a4 can't pull away from me much at all.

This is a great car, it will run forever, it doesn't look bad at all, and it's a blast to drive, I would recommend it to anyone looking into a used car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2008

6th Sep 2008, 02:48

Maximas are among the best cars on the market. Most pre-2004 models that is. They offer the perfect combination of quality, dependability, sportiness and luxury at a reasonable price.

24th Nov 2009, 22:58

I'm thinking of buying a Maxima exactly like yours, but with 230,000 miles. Should I try a high mile Maxima like that? What are some things I should look for?

1997 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

Fun to drive, but not much fun to live with

Faults:

Dealer told me that transmission would need replaced. That's fine - they knocked a sweet three grand off, so I got an 8,000 car for 5K. Got the tranny fixed for 1200, and drove it for awhile... before things got quite sour.

Radio buttons fell off, no big deal though. Day after Christmas, I go to start my car. -CLUNK-. Dead.

$297 dollars to Pep Boys, I find out I need a new ignition. How nice.

Three months later...

Exhaust makes clunking noise, Shifts hesitate between gears 2 and 3. Idling harshly, jittery ride. There's a nice big gap in my exhaust system where it wasn't aligned. So that was a pretty penny for seven hundred.

This was my first car, brought for me by my parents. My dad drives it now, for my 18th birthday I went and bought myself a 2004 Grand Am. THIS CAR SUCKS. I have friends with Maximas without issues, I think I may have just gotten unlucky, but never again will I own a Nissan. No hard feelings, just too much money and not reliable.

General Comments:

When everything was fixed, it went pretty fast and handled well for a big car.

Didn't hold onto it though, I didn't feel like it was going to last. Something else was eventually going to go wrong, I knew it. Bad gut feeling, and since I commute 30 miles a day - and make constant trips to Bergen, New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City from New Brunswick, I knew it was time to give it up.

Loud stereo. CD player kinda sucked, though. Leather seats were comfortable and supportive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2008

23rd Feb 2010, 16:38

I think I figured out the problem with your Maxima - you bought it from a crooked dealership.

6th Mar 2011, 04:04

Well as you hear first hand from your friends, they all have great Maximas. Also you say your dad drives it now, which tells us all that the car is still obviously running. I think you got a lemon and bought it from a bad dealership. It was either a lemon, and even in the best built cars, there are some lemons, or it wasn't maintained by its previous owner. I think if you try another Maxima from a good dealership, you will be happy, a lot happier than a Pontiac for sure! Good luck!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 35 reviews