1997 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1997 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Best bargain in the used car market for the money

Faults:

Nothing.The previous owner maintained the car properly and it shows. Never been abused, so I did not have any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2003

1997 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance83330 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

Lovely car and an excellent spec. for the money

Faults:

Squeaky brakes; although this seemed to come from the rear brake discs which we had not replaced since the previous owner.

Strange musty smell from the air conditioning when not used for a couple of days.

Leather seats appear to have lost original moisture and show signs of cracking.

General Comments:

We loved this car and unfortunately lost it in a fight with a Chevy Trailblazer.

Nice torque during acceleration and not too much that the wife couldn't handle it!

Lovely BOSE sounds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1997 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Super high performance family sedan

Faults:

So far, in my ownership of this Nissan, nothing has gone wrong. This is the most solid car I have ever driven.

My other car is a 1971 Chevrolet Chevelle Malibu. My Chevelle has a V8 5 litre engine, and my Maxima will almost beat this V8 muscle car in straight-line performance.

This car has unbelievable performance, both in acceleration, braking, and cornering. It's extremely impressive to take a 90 degree turn with a posted speed of 15mph, and not even squeak a tire at 55mph. You will be hard pressed to find another import with high reliability.

General Comments:

"This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails."

This is the smoothest car I've ever driven as well; I love this car! You think of how many Honda Accord and Toyota Camry owners say they have fast cars; this year Maxima will beat a new Accord with 240hp.

My only stipulation if I was to buy another Maxima, would be to get traction control. I have many times broken traction from a stop, and even broken traction with the auto-trans shifting into second gear, very impressive.

This car is over engineered, you cannot go wrong with it. I love this Nissan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

1997 Nissan Maxima 30G 3.0 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125050 kilometres
Most recent distance138250 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Sports luxury car

Faults:

Automatic transmission shuddering when engaging overdrive. Problem fixed with a transmission oil change.

Idle control module faulty. Replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Powerful motor and loves to spin the front tyres on take off if you put your foot down.

Smooth drive.

Woodgrain dashboard makes a noise on rough roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2002

1997 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Not worth the cost

Faults:

Toyo tires - two bubbled up on the side at approx. 27k miles. Were still under warranty. Dealer said deal with Toyo directly. Toyo said take it to a Toyo dealer so I did. Without ever looking at the tires, they said it was a road hazard which isn't covered. I asked what kind of road hazard hits tires on opposite sides of the tires on a car at the same time? They wanted an outrageous $300 each for new ones. I took it to a local guy to me, who took off the old tires and explained that if it was a road hazard the tires show damage on the inside. These did not. He then put Continentals on it for $200 total. They currently have 48k miles on them.

Air bag - the light came on three times. Twice under warranty and they replaced a harness. Then it happened a third time after the warranty expired and they wanted $260. How many more times will it have to be replaced?

Wood trim interior - melts and bubbles up within a couple of years even though I protected it. Devon Nissan quoted over $300 to replace two pieces that were approx. 8 inches long. I got on the Internet, bought them for $80 (which I still thought was expensive) and they were self adhering, so it took me 10 minutes to install.

Remote battery burned out. You can't just replace the battery. It cost approx. $150 for the dealer to reprogram it. So I bought a new one off the Internet for $25 and a dealer reprogrammed that one for free??? I don't understand.

Most importantly was the electrical problems. In the car everything is electronic. The wiring was shorting out constantly. It cost hundreds of $ and may reach a thousand $ for the dealer to find a short and replace it.

Devon Nissan - very unhelpful, unfriendly and ridiculously expensive.

Don't buy into their special group which is supposed to get you priority service. It is wasted money.

General Comments:

Attractive, fast, smooth car, but I never found respectible service in PA/NJ/DE area and for the markup/expense of the car and the cost of repairs/parts, you might as well get a BMW or the like.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

19th Jul 2005, 02:45

I have a 1997 Maxima. At 62k miles I had the alternator replaced. Since then it stalls when put into reverse. Since it stalls randomly... the service department says they "can't duplicate the problem" and according to their computer checks... "everything checked out fine". Now I drive and park as if I have no reverse because I never know if it will stall. I park in areas that I can pull out of (as opposed to backing out). It's a real pain... but I've taken it in for service 3 times and they say they can't find anything. I've run up hundreds of dollars in rental car fees (when my Maxima was in the shop) and the car still stalls.

1st Dec 2008, 20:39

I bought a 97 Maxima about a year ago with 150,000 miles for $2700. This car has been great, when I bought it there were a few problems that I had to replace pretty much immediately, but I knew this when I bought the car. I replaced the struts, two wheel bearings, and painted the back bumper. This all cost around $550 with labor (I had a private mechanic that gave me a great deal though). Since, I have had the O2 sensor, and the knock sensor go out which was a little steep in price but it was worth replacing for gas mileage reasons. Other than any of that it has been my best and favorite car I have owned. The power is better than average (and will beat most ricers). The leather heated seats are in great condition even with the amount of miles on it. I replaced the stereo in it, but nothing with any wiring has gone wrong. I love this car and won't sell it until it dies on me. I suggest if you are looking for a 95-99 Maxima, GET IT! It is definitely worth the money with getting okay gas mileage (I get around 24 on average). The reliability of this car has surpassed any other cars, and the features beat any other cars too.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 35 reviews