1999 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 13 of 15

1999 Nissan Maxima SE 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance56600 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Looks good, but has problems and am sorry I purchased it

Faults:

Ignition coil went out and all were replaced.

Oxygen sensor had to be replaced two weeks later.

Now the knock sensor needs to be replaced (I don't know what that is, but that's what the computer code shows)

General Comments:

I fell in love with this car when I saw it. I went to Nissan because I had previously owned one and had been very pleased with it. When I needed to replace my Ford, I immediately went to Nissan. Was very pleased with the car until about 6 months ago when I began having problems.

The check engine light began to come on so I had it checked out at an independent mechanic. The code was about the ignition coil misfire problem and a knock sensor code. This code continued to appear after clearing it and the car wouldn't pass state inspection so I had it fixed to the tune of $800!

After this was fixed the check engine light again appeared and this time it was the knock sensor code and the O2 sensor. I had the oxygen sensor repaired then at a cost of $300 (I am now up to $1100)!

I had been driving the car about 1 month after these repairs and began hearing a high pitched "ping" sound, but no check engine code, very strange!!! I called the mechanic and he indicated it was the knock sensor. When I asked why the check engine light didn't come on he said that Nissan managed to get this problem passed without having the check engine light appear (it is an emission problem, so I'm told).

I am now looking at another $300 (now it will be nearly $1500 in auto repairs in about 1 1/2 months!). Neither my husband, son or I are able to repair vehicles and must depend on auto technicians we trust for this service.

I really liked the car when I bought it because it looked sporty and had all the features I wanted plus a whole lot more, so I bought it. I am now regretting this purchase and don't believe I'll purchase Nissan again because of these problem and having to stand the cost of repairs myself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

20th Aug 2004, 12:36

I have a 1999 Nissan Maxima GXE. Check Engine Light came at 50,000 miles. I had it diagnosed by the dealer and was told it was the knock sensor and had to replaced for about $950.00. I decided not to and the car is still going strong at 119,000 miles. These stupid sensors suck.

1999 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance25900 miles
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Faults:

I can't say that this car is as good as my previous car, but it is a close second. I was very happy with my car up until now. I only have 26,000 miles on the car and already the ignition coils have gone. I didn't even know what an ignition coil was, but I found out fast and almost $700.00 later. Seems that 3 of the coils were bad and the other three were weak. I try to take care of my car by giving it the best gas (even though it is an expense to me), I take it for oil changes when it is scheduled and I have already taken it for a tune up (about 2 years ago). I really don't feel that we should be paying for this coil problem.

I too have spoken to the service manager of my service department. He told me that there was nothing he could do. I just spoke with the car's consumer affairs. I asked them why there isn't a recall for this problem or at least compensation to the clients. Again, the answer, "There is nothing I can do". There must be something we can do, if we are in great numbers! It's ashame that they didn't correct this problem sooner. I really love that car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2004

15th Feb 2004, 12:05

I too had the ignition coil problem with my 2000 Maxima at 43,000 miles. I had to replace all six coils and Nissan guys were not in a position to help me. They say there are not many complaints to have a recall. I had called 1800NISSAN1 to register my complaint. I think people who have similar problems should call Nissan and have their complaints registered. May we can at least make them aware of this issue.

-Bhushan (bdahake@yahoo.com)

9th Oct 2004, 22:53

My 1999 Nissan Maxima is now having the same problem with the coils, but it is only 32K miles because I only drive 4 miles per weekday and 10 miles per weekend day. The mechanics ran diagnostic and told me to replace all six to prevent further damage to the engine since it is misfiring. I understand that it is no longer in warranty, but still Nissan must do something about it.

11th Nov 2005, 00:10

Is 1999 the first year the Maxima used these coils? ie, were they used on previous Maxima's?

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 46 reviews