1999 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 9 of 15

1999 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

This is not a good car

Faults:

My car started running rough on moist, wet days. The check engine light would flash on and blink, but not stay on. I had the computer checked, but no errors. Finally the car made a pop and the check engine light came on and stayed on... Well what do you know --- It was a bad coil #5,. I had it replaced and have been okay for months... I know everyone seems to have this problem with these cars. My sister has the same problem and she has the same year and model... My next car won't be a NISSAN

Kevin M.

General Comments:

I used to like the Maxima!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

8th Jan 2006, 21:57

I'm no fan of Japanese cars, but even I have to say that your problem isn't enough to swear off a car brand forever. Something like a coil going bad at 81,000 miles just isn't all that unreasonable. Not to mention, it did give you warning of a problem when it began shorting out in wet weather. If this is the only problem you had after 80,000 miles on a car you bought used, I think you did okay.

9th Jan 2006, 02:55

This is the only problem you have had? Sounds like its resolved and you have a decent car.

1999 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

Persistent ignition coil problems

Faults:

Service engine soon light is always coming on. Ignition coils are always going out. Not safe to drive when you lose power.

General Comments:

This car should be recalled for the ignition coil problem. This is extremely dangerous and is clearly a flaw in the desing of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th December, 2005

12th Apr 2011, 09:20

I 100 percent agree with the ignition coil problem. It is very unsafe to drive. Especially on Atlanta, Ga expressways.

1999 Nissan Maxima GLE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance192000 kilometres
Previous carMazda MX6

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car.

OK, the heat shield on the muffler recently fell off)

General Comments:

Car has been super reliable. Other than regular maintenance, brakes, and tires, nothing else has gone wrong. Original battery.

Car is very peppy, comfortable and reasonable on gas. Paint and interior are like new. Great stereo.

Not the most exciting car to look at. Last car was a Mazda MX-6. Loved the look and performance of the car, but reliability was poor. Would rather have reliability than style, I guess.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2005

1999 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carNissan VW Corrado SLC

Summary:

Comfort and power

Faults:

Starter motor was replaced at 120,000 miles.

Lower dashboard vent was stuck in the closed position. My Nissan dealership advised me not to fix it if it wasn't a major problem. (Here's a dealership that's sensitive to customer's costs!)

General Comments:

Excellent highway car.

The five speed manual is a "long throw" transmission compared to my previous car, a VW Corrado.

The original equipment tires, Yokohama Avid 4's, didn't track well on the highway. Pirrelli P 7's fixed that problem.

Very quiet and comfortable car for a long highway commute (110 miles per day).

So far, it's lived up to it's solid reputation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

1999 Nissan Maxima SE 1999 1/2 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

I want to keep this car forever!

Faults:

Not too much has gone wrong with this car. It's hard to find another one like it. The worst thing is common maintenance, such as O2 sensors and we're going to eventually have to replace the starter.

General Comments:

With over 90,000 miles on this car, it's still a jewel. We love it so much that probably after another 100,000 or so we'll get the motor refreshed.

We own a 94 automatic that was reliable, but not much fun. This car is nearly perfect. Even after getting rear-ended by another car going 60+ mph and I was turning, the car was completely drivable. Amazingly enough it only took a week to repair.

Often non-US cars are more expensive to repair just due to the lack of part availability, just a point you have to accept.

I would buy 10 more of these models if available, and I am very picky. Great styling, fun to drive and room for 4 adults, yet you don't look like a soccer mom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 46 reviews