2000 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 18 of 25

2000 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

Service engine light with code P1320. Runs very rough when starting.

General Comments:

Suggestions on changing the back 3 spark plugs, Any secrets?? Seems very hard to get to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st April, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carNissan s.e maxima

Summary:

It is a really nice and cheap car

Faults:

Car stalls when I stop. but i had it checked out by nissan.i had my air flow sensor replaced and it fixed the problem

General Comments:

The car is really reliable until I had this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Great car, but where is the reliability?

Faults:

This car has been great until 95,000 miles. All of a sudden the catalytic converter went out, and then the transmission began slipping and soon died. Bang, almost 5K later in repairs.

General Comments:

Up until 95K it's been a great car and fun to drive. Seems quality. But all of a sudden had problems with transmission and catalytic converter that has made me loose faith in the car and Nissan. This is my second Maxima - the first went to 150K miles no problem. The dealer is no help at all nor is Nissan customer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

I recently changed two coils on my 2000 Maxima and then I had some Exhaust work don't to the car. When I picked up the car the engine once started, continues at a high rev. My mechanic tells me that two OS #178 AND #179 "if I remember clearly" needs replacing. Could it be possible that the work and fumes from the welding could have affected the sensors?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th February, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

The car is too temperamental

Faults:

Check Engine Light on / TCS off and Slip lights are on. Car shudders in intermittently.

General Comments:

I think I will become a member of the 2000 Maxima Coil Club. So far my experience with my Maxima has been great. I love driving it around Honolulu.

The problem started earlier this week 7 Feb. 2006. I started the car and put it in reverse and the car started shuddering. I look at my gauges and see that the TCS off light is on along with the SLIP light. The check Engine light is on also. The first thing I think about is “THANK GOD MY WIFE MADE ME BUY THAT Warranty.” This is not the first time the check engine light has come on. I had Nissan change an O2 sensor before. I am glad I found this site. Has any tried to contact NISSAN about this? I am going to call and see what they have to say.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2006

14th Feb 2006, 22:41

I too am a member of the "Service Engine Soon" light club. I've written Nissan and demanded a recall and total reimbursement for my out of pocket. No response yet.

14th Apr 2006, 08:40

I am also a member of the service engine light club. I have taken my car to the dealer several times for this problem and have spent almost $2000 on repairs. Just 3 weeks ago I had the catalyst converter replaced and the light is now on again. I'm debating whether or not I should take it back to the dealer because I know it's going to cost another $1000 to get it fixed. Unfortunately they keep telling me it won't pass inspection if I don't get the problems taken care of. The car runs fine so I'm tempted to just take my chances!!!

It's ridiculous. Nissan needs to take care of this problem once and for all!!!

14th Apr 2006, 10:04

Does the light always correspond with something wrong? Just wondering if it's possible that the light is showing false positives and the light itself should just be removed.

23rd Apr 2006, 14:52

I have a 2000 Maxima as well, and I love it too. Its my second Maxima. Anyways, just yesterday, I had the same problem... car shuddering (low idling), and my TCS and SLIP lights came one this morning (along with service engine, of course). I was wondering what had to be done to get this fixed.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 97 reviews