2000 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 15 of 25

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic

Faults:

Add me to the list of bodies. 45k miles, all 6 ignition coils went. I am contacting law firms to pursue a class action. Please email me at m_blase@hotmail.com if you are interested too!

Thanks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance74800 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good car, but unreliable and expensive

Faults:

Problem 1:

Few months after the standard manufacturer warranty expired, ignition coils got burnt. Fortunately, I had extended warranty which covered it otherwise, it would have costed me some $800. Dealer initially denied that it's a covered repair and I had to call Nissan to convince him. A little research revealed that it's a common problem with Maximas and Nissan didn't do much to help out poor consumers.

Problem 2:

Just 3 weeks after my extended warranty expired, at 74k, dreaded service engine soon light came on and it turned out to be problem with Catalytic Converter and O2 sensor. Cost estimate: $1200. Again, after some research, found that Catalytic Converter is covered up to 80k/8years. Ended up paying $170 for O2 sensor. Dealer squeezed some more to replace brake pads, driving belt which are wear and tear items.

General Comments:

It's a good car until it breaks down. Good performance, power, comfort and roomy.

Not very reliable and expensive to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima as ad from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission ad Don't Know
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

S

Faults:

Service engine soon came up on 50kmiles and car is knocking on and off. I am surprised this is not a recall. I see a lot of people with same issues.

General Comments:

Dfs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

At 90,000 miles the service engine soon light came on. I'm told it will cost $1350 plus tax to replace the coils. The service adviser told me that he has seen many 2000-2001 Maximas that have coils go bad.

I previously owned a Maxima and have never experienced coil problems.

This should be something that Nissan issues a recall for as they are obviously defective parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Best car on the planet

Faults:

Had the check engine light at 94000 (first ever problem), was rear O2 sensor, replaced under warranty. Alternator died at 129000. Other than that, absolutely NO problems, no lights on, no warning indicators, nothing. Didn't even replace the original front brake pads until 123000.

General Comments:

Having owned Chevy (1983 Camaro), Chrysler (1994 Concorde), Buick (1990 Regal, 1980 Regal), Ford (1987 Thunderbird), Plymouth (1998 Grand Voyager), Dodge (1990 Daytona) and Pontiac (1999 Firebird), I would not even consider buying anything other than Nissan. Best car I've ever owned in the last 30 years. Bar none.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

I just replaced my wife's battery in her 2000 Maxima. After the battery was replaced the began loosing power while driving. The problem went away after a few days, but it came back. My wife was driving when the car lost power and would not restart. I thought that it was the alternator, but that check out fine the new battery was dead though.

What drained the battery? I had the coils replaced twice on the car about two years ago so I'm thinking that it may be a coil problem again. But the power issues sound like it may be the cat converter. Any ideas before I spend a boat load of money?

JH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2006

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired3400 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Calais

Summary:

The 2000 Maxima is an excellent car

Faults:

One ignition coil went out at approximately 50,000 miles.

I am now getting the same OBD (On-Board Diagnostic) II codes, so I think another ignition coil is bad. My car has 102,000 miles.

General Comments:

In general, my Maxima has been an excellent car. I have replaced the tires twice, the brake pads once, the struts once, and the belts once. I consider all of these replacements to be normal wear for 102,000 miles.

The only complaint I have is the failing ignition coils. I replaced 1 coil a year ago, and now it looks like I have the same problem on a different cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2006

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 97 reviews