2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L from North America

Summary:

Affordable luxury

Faults:

Bought the car after my much beloved 1994 Corolla (review is on this site) was written off. It had the following issues when I bought it:

- Very worn tires.

- Needed an alignment.

- Needed new inner and out tie rods on both sides.

- Needed a new passenger control arm.

- Subwoofer did not work.

I replaced all the parts that needed replacing (the inner tie rods were not fun), had new tires installed, and an alignment done. I got the subwoofer working, and the car really shines.

However I do have intermittent shaking at highway speed; I haven't been able to figure that one out yet.

Body rust is a bit more than I'd like.

The automatic transmission shifts harshly sometimes; I've been told this could be the valve body, which is known to be weaker on the 2000 Maximas.

General Comments:

Overall I like the car a lot. The interior is attractive, comfortable, and well put together. The sound system is very good (once I got the sub working) and I like driving it. I do wish I had the manual transmission; I don't care for the removed, gas mileage sucking 4 speed auto.

Running costs are a bit high. Parts were noticeably more expensive than my Corolla. Insurance costs more too. Gas mileage isn't stellar (read automatic transmission) and the car does recommend premium. Because of this I crawl out of lights, rarely let it get over 2400 RPM, but still I get only 21 MPG city, 27 MPG highway.

The one plus of the 3.0L V6 is the power on tap. If you put your foot down it really goes. On the highway if you put your foot down, you'll be going 130 in the blink of an eye.

Purchasing a used Maxima isn't expensive, and it comes with an array of fantastic features. If you can find one, and afford the gas, I'd highly recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2016

30th Oct 2016, 02:45

Keep an eye on ignition coils and oxygen sensors. If they malfunction, the catalysts will run hot and die young. TRANSLATION = $$$ to replace them.

Otherwise - Enjoy :)

24th Nov 2016, 02:22

I have heard about the infamous ignition coil issues. My car had them replaced prior to me purchasing it, with the "new and improved" coils, and I haven't had any issue with them thus far. But I've always got it at the back of my mind.

27th Nov 2016, 03:54

Good strategy!!!

2000 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America

Summary:

A good car with notable flaws in design and workmanship

Faults:

Numerous ignition coil failures, numerous oxygen sensor failures, MAP failure, suspension boots failure, brake failure, power steering failure. All had to be repaired.

Also the paint tends to fade badly in the Arizona sun.

General Comments:

After having numerous items repaired as noted above, the car has run well, good acceleration and easy cruising. It is a high mileage car now and runs well. The engine in this car is by far the best I've experienced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2015

19th Jul 2015, 03:35

My father has a 2001 Maxima. Watch the oxygen sensor & ignition coil failures. They both shorten catalytic converter life by overheating them, which if you do not address them quickly, results in failure - not cheap. You will not be amused ;)

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Universal working horse

Faults:

Replaced oxygen sensors a few times.

Replaced rear main seal.

Changed rear caliper, because it wasn't releasing.

Key wore out, so you couldn't start the car; the key would not turn in the ignition.

General Comments:

Pretty fast if you want it to be. Comfortable, and pretty good MPG (we got 24 mix and 26 highway).

Never broke so I couldn't move; pretty reliable. Drove it from WA to IA and back, no big deal. Just regular maintenance and it runs great. I think it will last at least 130k more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2013

30th Oct 2013, 13:40

I love mine. I have a 2000 Maxima with 270,000 miles on it. I am only doing the regular maintenance on it and it is doing great. I hope to go up to 300,000. When it's time to change the ignition coils on the spark plugs (only when the engine sounds like it is misfiring)... do them yourself. it is about a 10 minute pop off and pop on job. Your cost for each ignition coil is around $65 and free labor (un-clip, un-screw, change, re-clip, re-screw, done). The shop will charge nearly $200. It is the one thing this Nissan needs when it gets up in miles. Other than that, no worries. It runs forever and only needs a shower once in a while.