2000 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 25 of 25

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

Best sport coupe

Faults:

Check engine light went on at 48000 miles.

Car stoles within 1 minute if started when cold.

General Comments:

Great car handles great and is very quick.

I have installed an after marker intake and that improved my horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 4D 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

This is a high performance, low maintenance car

Faults:

No repairs have been necessary in 2 years of ownership.

General Comments:

This car packs a lot of power in the punch, has awesome acceleration and is a kick to drive.

The turn-radius is superior.

The seats are not as comfortable as they could be, the headrest especially.

The cabin is roomy, the back seat feels like your sitting in the front seat with all the leg-room.

The tires were a small fortune to replace b/c of the size rims that come standard on the SE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

9th Feb 2003, 17:29

I own a 2000 Nissan Maxima SE. The car is great, but has a problem that I have been talking to the dealerships about. The coils that fire the spark plugs are shorting out. No recall has been issued yet, but other owners have witnessed the same problems. A repair of this nature is not cheap, unlike the conventional spark plug wire replacement. My coil or coils started shorting out at about 41,000 miles.

I agree with the survey, except the section of no problems. This survey is from one of the lucky owners so far. I thought the car was one of the best I had ever owned, but this problem may lead me to reconsidering my thoughts. If you have these same problems, please press the factory for a recall. I am trying my hardest to save the name of the Maxima. Thank You.

2000 Nissan Maxima QX 3.0 V6 from Finland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance1300 kilometres
Previous carNissan Primera GT

Summary:

Very cheap if you compare what you get

Faults:

Back windows freeze too easily if temperatures are below -15 degrees Celsius.

General Comments:

Performance, reliability, comfort with such a small amount of money.

Xenon lights are very useful because winter is quite dark here in Finland.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2001

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70 kilometres
Most recent distance5100 kilometres
Previous carNissan 240SX

Summary:

Great value! Great car! Good blend of luxury and performance

Faults:

Slight plastic against plastic noise in front right hand corner. It was fixed right away by the dealership.

General Comments:

Slight pet peeves

1: Elbow keeps pressing on the centre armrest "button" which raises the armrest (This probably only happens to manual transmission drivers who shift gears more often than automatic transmission drivers).

2: Would have prefered a little stronger brakes.

Stillen has designed a supercharger for the 2000 Maxima. Adds about 80 hp. Should be nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2000

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

"Service Engine Soon" light came on around 3000 mile mark. The dealer didn't fix it on the first round. Now I'm waiting for more parts for that.

General Comments:

It's an overall solid and reasonably priced car. Just that the problem really kinda put a stain on Maxima's legendary reliability...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2000

19th Jun 2001, 16:14

I have had the same experience. The light keeps coming on. The dealer assures me it is nothing, but it has happened 4 times.

27th Jan 2003, 19:14

I just bought a used 2000 Nissan Maxima GXE. The second day it was driven, the car stalled on me 3 times when it was put into park or when it was just turned on (already in park). I've brought it to the dealership mechanics, but they couldn't find anything wrong with it. They also brought it to another dealership's mechanics and they also can't find out whats wrong with it. If anyone finds out what's really wrong, please let me know at bsamuel@temple.edu.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 97 reviews