2000 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 24 of 25

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 V6 Automatic from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

A car that only gets better

Faults:

I purchased the car used and it is a great vehicle. However, the "Check Engine" light came on the first weekend I had the car. It turned out just be the oxygen sensor and was covered by my 30 day warranty.

The sunroof has a small leak, but is not an issue.

I have had no other problems with this car.

General Comments:

This car is quick and handles like a dream.

The Seats are comfortable and easy to adjust.

The climate controls are easy to use and very well marked.

I have to say this is the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

2000 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

A beautiful fast car with an available 5 speed

Faults:

I added a performance part and the nut broke of when undoing a mounting screw.

General Comments:

I'm still impressed with the way it handles, the 17 inch tires are wonderful.

I love the fact that it's one of few that offers the sporty five speed transmission.

If it wasn't a good car I would not have boughten three of them, a 90 and a 96 Nissan Maxima.

And the only thing that had problems with those was window regulators.

I recommend the manual only.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

2000 Nissan Maxima LX from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

I have owned my car for approximately two years and the first problem I had, was an $800.00 (parts and labor) problem. The coils are bad and this is causing the engine to misfire. I had to have all six replaced today. I am very disappointed that Nissan did not do a recall, especially if they knew there was a problem.

General Comments:

I am going to send Nissan Corporate a letter today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th May, 2004

8th Aug 2004, 10:34

I bought a Nissan Maxima GLE 2000 in December 1999.Now after 4 years and 85,000KM,the "service engyne soon" button came on. I took the car to Nissan dealer and they told me all 6 coils need to be replaced with the cost of 880 canadian dollars. I am really disappointed and I think Nissan should a recall.

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Good sporty sedan with great fit and finish

Faults:

2 Catalytic converters and 2 oxygen sensors at 75,000 miles.

Bose amp turn on relay replaced at 75,000 miles.

Mass airflow sensor replaced at 112,000 miles.

Cam position sensor replaced at 112,000 miles.

Engine wiring harness repaired at 112,000 miles.

General Comments:

Fit and finish of car is still excellent at 112,000 miles. No rattles or squeaks.

Exterior paint still in decent shape after 4 years with very little wax ever used.

Engine and transmission run like new after 112,000 miles.

This car was run for the first 75,000 miles with regular fuel instead of premium. This was the likely culprit to having to get the catalytic converters and oxygen sensors replaced early. MAKE SURE TO USE PREMIUM FUEL IN THIS CAR!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

BMW 3 series performance --at a bargain price

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is a bargain 4-door sports sedan.

The 3.0 V6 engine is sweet. Great acceleration and plenty of power. In fact almost too much power for a FWD car. The torque steer tends to be excessive. But this car is born to run. You can be cruising at 70 MPH, floor it, and it'll take off like a rocket. This car loves to cruise at 80 MPH on the highway.

Handling is above average for a sedan.

Interior seating comfortable, especially the back seats. Plenty of rear legroom for average sized adults.

Downside: This car drinks premium gas only. The price you pay for the performance.

The tire size, 225/50-17, is an unusual size, not much of a variety of after market tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

Great car with faulty power windows

Faults:

Power windows switches on passenger side broke.

Speaker on passenger side crackles.

Driver seat makes a squeaky noise.

Also leather wearing on left side of driver seat.

General Comments:

Overall it's a great car with a few glitches. You think for the price it wouldn't have any.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 97 reviews