2000 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 23 of 25

2000 Nissan Maxima SE V6 3.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 3.0L Manual
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

Same as many of the other comments, I have had trouble many times over with the 'service engine soon' light coming on. In the 1.5 years that I've had the car, it has come on over 10 times, apparently randomly. While it was still under warranty, I would take it back to the dealer every time the light would come on and every time they claimed they 'fixed' the problem, but nothing has gotten better. At this point, I have learned to just ignore it, and though the car shutters badly at low rpns, it always seems to fix itself after several days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2005

15th Aug 2005, 15:30

Try taking your gas cap off and driving around a couple of blocks. Sounds to simple right. Try it it will cost you nothing.

2000 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carAudi 90

Summary:

I never liked Japanese cars, but now I have a different Idea

Faults:

Service engine light came on at 41000 miles.

General Comments:

If you can afford a $150 scanner buy it. Then if you get a P0420. Check which bank; if it tells you bank 1 it's the firewall side if it says bank 2 it's the radiator side. Change the upstream sensor first, then you have to let the car run for about 30 miles highway until completes the 50 cycles so that it resets by itself. If you have more than 80000 miles it might be the catalytic. I have some experience in mechanic even though I'm a Computer engineer, and I found the problem. So I'm pretty sure you guys can do it too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

12th Apr 2005, 15:54

Nice troubleshooting advice. I am also a former mechanic, turned engineer (Electrical Engineer). I detest the new before and after catalytic converter oxygen sensors. There are also several other borderline useless OBDII nuances, which are equally as frustrating. That is what happens when elected officials try to stick their noses into technology. I personally do not care for the Japanese cars, but the Maxima is a nice machine. My parents have one in Infinity I30 trim (forget the year, but it is the last year before they converted over to the I35's). The check engine light just came on, so I will check for that problem.

Regards.

2000 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Other than the ignition coil problem, the Maxima is a great car!

Faults:

When my Maxima reached about 55000 miles, my check engine light came on. The initial code was for an O2 sensor. Upon recommendation from a technician, I tried running higher octane fuel and fuel injector cleaner. The light continued to return after a few days of driving. When the car reached around 60000, the TCS and slip lights came on as well. The car would hesitate and struggle when this occurred. The problem occurs at random intervals.

I took it to a Nissan dealer to have them diagnose the problem. They told me I would have to replace all 6 ignition coils at a cost of $920. Based upon the posts on this forum, this issue seems to be a common theme. Does anyone know if this is a potential "Do It Yourself" job? If so, does anyone have any documentation/recommendations on how to proceed?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2004

11th Oct 2004, 04:47

I looked into doing it myself and was told you have to remove a lot of parts to get to the coils.

By the way - I am starting to notice the same symptoms about 1 year after the work was done.

Any reason why they could not just replace the O2 sensor?

2000 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 VQ30DE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 VQ30DE Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired560 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Exceptional bang for the buck

Faults:

The only failure this vehicle has had was with the electric window switch controls on the drivers side, and this was after 70000 miles and probably due a bit to getting wet.

General Comments:

The car handles well, can be driven very hard and is very forgiving.

The only maintenance done on this vehicle has been tires, brakes and tune up, with the exception of an electric window switch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

21st Jul 2005, 22:57

Tdoug292004@yahoo.com...where did you buy your window switch?

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 97 reviews