2000 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 21 of 25

2000 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Faults:

Coils, O2 Censors. Spent about $1500.00 already and I still have one O2 censor bad, plus an Air valve that is bad too.

General Comments:

Lokks Good!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired75 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Probably back to a Toyata next

Faults:

Coils keep failing

Right rear taillight keeps failing.

General Comments:

Great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

You would have to break my left arm and set my dog on fire before I get near another Nissan.

Faults:

My 2000 Nissan Maxima has caused me nothing, but problems since I purchased it in 2003. A few months after I first got it, I had to have my muffler replaced.

Shortly thereafter, I had to get my front brakes and tail lights fixed.

My most recent issue with this poorly-built vehicle is the catalytic converter. Symptoms that I experienced with the catalytic converter: NO Acceleration when you press the gas pedal. Put it this way: My 2000 Nissan Maxima forgot how to shift!

General Comments:

The 2000 Nissan Maxima is a major headache! Stay away from the 2000 Nissan Maxmima if you like reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

28th Nov 2005, 10:39

How did the previous owner care for the car in the first 80k miles? When you bought this car, it was no spring chicken. Maybe some of the problems are from damage or abuse from the previous owner?

28th Nov 2005, 18:39

It sounds to me like this was a pretty good car (and this from someone who even detests Japanese cars!). Mufflers wear out and you replace them. So what? Brakes wear out and you replace them. So what? Bulbs burn out and you replace them. So what? A car isn't like your DVD player, where you just keep hitting the ON button and never do anything to take care of it.

2000 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Maxima

Faults:

The dreaded SES light came on.

General Comments:

Beautiful powerfull car, with one problem. The SES light.

My solution. I took my gas cap off and drove the car around a couple of blocks. Car ran like the true gem that it is. I had run into all the problems and so called dealer solutions as everyone on this board. I decided not to listen to anyone. I deduced that my car was being fuel starved, so I took my gas cap off and went for a drive. Within a matter of a few blocks the car was running like the little race car that it had been before my problems happened. Your SES light might still stay on, If it does have a mechanic with a reader clear your codes, that will take the light off. DO NOT DISCONNECT YOUR BATTERY CABLE. If you disconnect the battery cable the codes will still be held in the cars computer. Good luck, and I would hope that youi would post your findings here, so that those on this board might be able to learn from you or help anyone with a Maxima. I will be checking in here a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

2000 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

I liked the car much better before the "Service Engine Soon" light came on.

Faults:

The "Service Engine Soon" light has been on for about a year. I tolerated it for a while, but then I had a mechanic check into it last fall. I was told the oxygen sensor needed to be replaced. That cost me about $300. The light stayed off for about a week after that repair and then came on again intermittently for the next month or so. The mechanic said it could be due to any number of possible problems, so I again tolerated it for a while. Last month I received a notice from the State of Connecticut that it is time for my vehicle to have its emissions checked, so I decided to have a different mechanic check out the light. (I've heard that the car won't pass emissions with the light on.) This new mechanic told me that the light is on because the catalytic converter needs to be replaced. Apparently, the converter is only available from Nissan, there is no recall for it and it costs $2,700. Has anyone else experienced this problem or encountered such an exorbitant cost for this part?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

20th Aug 2005, 16:50

Yes, I'm currently having the exact same problem with my 2000 Maxima SE. It first came on a month or so ago, and I was told the master air-flow sensor needed replaced. I had it for about a week after it was fixed and then my 'service engine soon light' came back on. It stayed on for several days and then went off. I was told that that "sometimes happens" and that the computer is simply cycling through and can't find a problem so it turns the light off. Well, now the light has come back on yet again. Its been a week now and it has not turned back off, so I have to take it back. I certainly hope its not my catalytic converter... but I do have an extended warranty on my car that will cover that.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 97 reviews