2000 Nissan Maxima GLE V6 from North America


Don't buy a Nissan Maxima year 2000


Starter shorted out at 80,000 and had to be replaced.

Front drivers leather seat is cracking and wearing out at 80000 miles.

Oxygen sensors had to be replaced at 54000.

Mass Air Unit had to be replaced at 54000. Along with the oxygen sensors, the total cost was about $700.

Idle Air control IACV-AAC valve had to be replaced at 81,000 $600.

Engine control module had to be replaced at 81000 $900.

Front rotors had to be replaced at 27,000 miles.

General Comments:

Nice driving car, quiet and smooth, but the repairs are very costly and difficult for even the dealers to figure out what is really wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2008

2000 Nissan Maxima GXE 6.0 from North America


It's not a good car


The car check engine light stays on, and it hesitates and stalls. I've had the mass air flow sensor, fuel pump and the idler control valve replaced. I've had work done on the wire harness.

General Comments:

It appears that this car is hard to keep running properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America


Lemonade anyone?


I had to replace ignition coils.

Engine warning light stays on.

Random misfire on all the cylinders.

One day, I put the key in the ignition and the car went dead.

Many other problems.

Car has been to the dealer several times with no resolution. The only constant in this car is a service engine light that will not go away!

General Comments:

I agree a recall is needed for the 2000 Maxima. After several thousand dollars in repair costs and no fix, I have given up the fight and will be getting rid of this car. I have no confidence in the Nissan/Infiniti brand and have advised anyone who is considering a vehicle not to even waste time. I have owned a Nissan in the past and I have never experienced problems like this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

19th May 2008, 00:50

Try another dealer next time you need repairs.

2000 Nissan Maxima GLE V6 from North America


After the car has been running for a little while and I stopped at a stop light or at a drive thru the car cuts off, but the check engine light is not on and the car cuts right back on, does any one know what the could be.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2008

2000 Nissan Maxima GXE (w/ sunroof and spoiler) V6 3.0 from North America


Good example of Nissan's decline in reliability!


Tons, where should I even start...

* Three O2 sensors have failed.

* Clutch slave/master cylinders completely failed.

* Catalytic converter failed (covered under emissions warranty, thankfully)

* Front driver side axle failed.

* Car also had stalling problems in cold/wet weather if I'm up to speed in traffic and push in the clutch pedal before the brake upon deceleration. No clue what's causing it, but I don't even care anymore. I want to get rid of this piece of garbage car before anything else goes wrong with it.

* Repairs have totalled ~$2000 in the past yr I have owned it (~8000 miles of driving)

* These problems have gone wrong despite all the recommended maintenance being done on the car including oil changes, coolant system flush, fuel system/throttle body cleaning, transmission fluid change, air filter changes, etc.

General Comments:

This car is a total piece of GARBAGE!

I don't know how Nissan has a reputation for being reliable these days because they've REALLY gone downhill since about the mid-90's. This Maxima is not built well, and it has many faulty parts (see all the other reviews on here). Also, it likes premium gas, which stinks with today's prices.

I am not the least bit satisfied with this vehicle.

On the plus side, on the rare occasions when the car actually does work properly, it's very fast and comfortable to drive in. However, those rare occasions are not enough to balance out all the (common) negatives with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

19th Apr 2008, 03:23

I'm the original poster of this review, and I officially traded in this junk car on a new 2008 Scion tC yesterday. The Scion tC will be a big relief compared to the Maxima. I'm looking forward to having a reliable vehicle again that's actually worthy of the reputation it has.

Nissan should buy some property somewhere in the middle of nowhere, convert it into a landfill, and instruct all 2000-2003 (actually 2000-present from what I hear) Maxima owners to drive (ha yeah right... you'll probably have to tow) their cars to the landfill. That's where these crap cars belong.