2005 Nissan Maxima SL from North America - Comments

29th Jul 2010, 21:58

I was going to go look at a Maxima tomorrow... After reading all of this... I think I'll pass. Thanks for the heads up!

11th Aug 2010, 21:27

I have the same problem with my Maxima 2005 SE model.

Like everyone here I have transmission and 3 broken engine mounts. It's at 90,000 miles. I took it to the the dealer and was quoted 4500.00, just for the transmission. I so want to keep my car as I have bought it brand new, but it has been ridiculous to be sitting in your beautiful car and it does all this jerking and thumps whenever your accelerating.

Unfortunately, I should've stuck with Honda as my previous car was a Honda, which I had driven to nearly 200,000 miles and not as much as the hassle the Nissan "luxury Maxima" has been for me.

Should've stuck with Honda.

24th Aug 2010, 02:17

I have a 05 Maxima SL and started experiencing the same tranny problems that everyone is describing just a week before it was due for its 75,000 mile service. The car would jerk really hard from reverse to first gear when I made 3-pt turns and I also noticed it when I went downhill and the car shifted gears. My mechanic found a tear in one of the engine mounts and replaced that thinking that would fix the problem, but within 10 minutes after picking up my car, we realized the problem was still there.

I'm very disappointed that Nissan is not doing a recall for this problem. I bought this Maxima because I was very happy with my first ('88). I purchased this car at the top of the line because I intended to keep it for a long time. Now it looks like I have to trade it in. Makes me really mad because I took great care of it but really, it has had a lot of problems. I had to fix the sunroof, I have replaced the battery twice already, and the A/C had a leak.

Never going to buy a Nissan again.

28th Aug 2010, 12:29

2005 SL.

I now have 62500 miles on the car. My transmission started acting up at 53000 miles, so I took it to the dealer, and the mechanic was very cool; he test drove it, and when he came back, he recommended a new replacement transmission, and they replaced it at no cost, still under warranty. No problems since the replacement, it shifts great.

I still love this car. It drives very smoothly, and is a great road car.

I starting to shop around for a new car, but I'm having a hard time given this one up. I see there are a lot of complaints about the trannys in this car, and there is a problem, however the mechanic I deal with is a straight up guy, and claims that they did some changes on the replacement transmissions, and has yet to see one come back after the replacement.

Otherwise, this car is a pretty smooth running car.

4th Sep 2010, 17:11

I have an 05 Maxima, and it's been jerking for a while.. No one could find the problem. So I took it to a transmission shop. A lot of the Maximas are having this same issue, switching gears between 1st and 2nd. It's the valve body. Nissan will not fix it. That really sucks. I loved Nissan until now. UUGGHH!

I found a mechanic that is willing to replace the valve body for 1075 part, 250 cost for labor, 65 to replace the fluids, which is better than Nissan 3-4K. They can be replaced, but Nissan wants the money. I say Nissan should replace it for free. I don't think I will ever buy another Nissan EVER!

24th Sep 2010, 21:21

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima that has always been well cared for. It only has 61000 miles on it, and also is jumping and kicking shifting gears when I start to accelerate. The Nissan service dept I went to told me they have run into this problem a couple of times, and even though my car is no longer in warranty, they are going to replace the transmission, and I only have to pay for half of the labor. I am very thankful, but I now feel like this issue is a big cover up, and these cars need to be recalled.

31st Oct 2010, 13:03

Well I must say that I had problems with my 2005 Nissan Maxima. Like many others, I really loved the car. My transmission too was going bad, which I had a quote from the dealer of 4,000 to replace it. My mileage was at 74,000. It was really a shock that the transmission was going bad on it. I was just told by the dealer that I should read my manual on what it says about when to have the transmission serviced. That may be true, but I figured since I am always going to them to get my car serviced, seems like they would have suggested it, considering they suggested me getting tires, getting hoses replaced, getting tires rotated; all that maintenance stuff that keeps a car running. It was really disappointing.

I ended up trading my car, and I got a 2010 Maxima now. I hope I do not regret getting this other Maxima, considering I heard that Nissan changed the manufacturer who did their transmissions around 2003 when the problems started, and they may be the same ones who are still under contract with them now.

I have a 1999 Maxima too, and it has not given me any major problems. It seems like it is nothing that can or will be done about it from a consumer point of view.

10th Nov 2010, 01:45

My wife has the same problem. She has a 2005 Maxima. The problem started at 64k, tried to get it changed at the dealer. It was out of warranty. We are currently fighting with Nissan manufacture to change tranny at no cost to her. Crazy for a car to give tranny trouble at that mileage.

Nissan sucks!

1st Dec 2010, 20:48

Love my 2005 Maxima SL, but am now having problems with my transmission at 67,000 miles. When accelerating after driving for about 10 miles, I get a thumping sound and jerking as the gear shifts. Dealership has advised me to get a new transmission. I plan to contact Nissan to seek redress. There are too many of us with the same problem.

22nd Dec 2010, 14:23

My third Maxima, 2005 SE. 76,000 miles. Tranny fluid turned very dark and I also have the shifting problems. Took it to a transmission shop because I know Nissan dealer service departments are full of it. The transmission guy refused to service the tranny as he was afraid to put new tranny fluid in. This will only increase the deterioration of the friction plates, and will cause the internal filter to clog, rendering the car undriveable. There is also a service bulletin out from Nissan about this issue, so they know about this. There is a locking device in this transmission that was engineered very badly. Nissan is not going to recall this as they would have to replace all transmissions. This is not going to happen. The best we can do is not buy any more Nissans. I really have loved all my Maximas and was going to trade for a 2011. Not now. No. No way.