2005 Nissan Maxima SL from North America - Comments

22nd Mar 2010, 02:47

Well I am another 2005 Maxima owner; bought it @ 54mi. off the lot, just barely over 90K in miles and am having the same transmission problems, jerking hard lunging when slowing down and hesitation when accelerating.

I also have broken motor mounts from the jerking of the tranny.

I encourage everyone to call Nissan and make a complaint, call your local news station or email them and ask them to do an investigation, file a complaint with the NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) and also with the Federal Consumer Affairs on line the more everyone does this the stronger we are.

I have also contacted an attorney; waiting to hear back about a class action, will keep you posted. Be safe and careful, because if you're like me, you have no choice, it is your only car to be driving.

22nd Mar 2010, 12:18

If you are having the same transmission problems that we are all having, please go to www.safercar.gov and file a complaint with the government. Hopefully we can pass it along enough to get the problem fixed!

23rd Mar 2010, 03:25

I have a 2005 Maxima with 92k miles. Same transmission problem. It in the shop now, needing to have it rebuilt. I've contacted Nissan. No response as of yet.

31st Mar 2010, 20:29

I'm having the same issues as most here. My '05 Nissan Maxima is shifting hard between 1st and 2nd and between 2nd and 3rd. I fear it's just going to go out on me at any time now. I hope a recall is being considered. I have 96K miles on my car and hadn't had a single issue out of it until now. I live in the Washington Metro area. Any idea how much transmission repair is?

13th Apr 2010, 10:43

Same-o, same-o.

Dealer replaced the tranny after a couple trips - they need to have the computer verify problem, then they go ahead and replace tranny with a rebuilt. No problems since.

3rd May 2010, 15:40

Was reading all these comments about the tranny problems with the Maxima SE. Should I get one with the warranty?

15th May 2010, 21:03

Does any one have the number to call Nissan to complain?

11th Jun 2010, 03:11

I love my Maxima... felt SO luxurious in it! It started bucking when I would apply the pedal/gas. I took it to my garage and had a diagnostic run on it. They say it's the solenoids... I'm taking it to a special transmission place in the a.m... and I'm a little nervous after reading all these posts. Has anyone gotten a response from Nissan? It's such a shame because it's been such a great car. I really like Nissan's - but I guess this model has some issues? Who would have known?

Oh my - I hope I don't have to pay $2,000 - $4,000 to have it repaired... it's taken me over 2 years to pay that off my car... that will just add another 2 years of hard work to pay it off - doesn't make sense.

16th Jun 2010, 11:01

Add me to the list. The car started jerking @ 80,000 miles of pampered driving by the wife. I took it to the dealer, a $3,500 tranny replacement recommendation followed.

Along with 2 broken motor mounts, which is more than likely a direct result of the transmission issues.

16th Jun 2010, 15:18

Seems like the transmission is the weak link in most car lines. I've heard Honda, Ford, Chevy, Subaru and many others have transmission issues. I had a 2002 Maxima with the 6-speed manual and had clutch issues with that car that they couldn't seem to fix right, as the same thing kept happening every 8-10K miles. I'll never buy another Nissan as they seem sub par to most other import brands.

21st Jun 2010, 16:06

I'm having the same issue. After my 2005 Maxima has been driven for about 15 to 20 minutes, and it's good and warm, when it downshifts from 3rd to 2nd gear, it jerks, and within another 5 minutes or so, it jerks so violently you'd think someone slammed into the back of me. Then it bangs into 2nd from first gear, so I'm forced to switch to shiftronic, to control how often it shifts, otherwise I fear my engine mounts and the transmission would have been destroyed a few thousand miles ago.

Unfortunately, with a son in college and a daughter about to go to college, I can't pay $4K to get it fixed, which is what I was quoted. I can't believe there hasn't been a recall.

23rd Jun 2010, 21:25

I was having the same problem with my 2005 SL. I took it to my friend who has worked at Nissan for a number of years. He diagnosed it as a bad "valve body." (He indicated this issue is not uncommon in Maximas). I know absolutely nothing about cars, but apparently it is the hydraulic control center for the transmission, and is an integral part of the gear ratio. He said it usually is about 1500 to replace, but fortunately I am still under warranty. Hope this helps. Good luck!

24th Jun 2010, 23:26

Yup. Count me in. 59K miles and the shifting is horrible after the car warms up. My mechanic shook his head when I described the problem and he told me to check out the Internet to concur with what everyone else has said. What's the deal with Nissan? With what Toyota is going through, you'd think Nissan would try to right the ship with this one. I guess it will take a few bodies to rack up before they open their eyes.

11th Jul 2010, 11:19

Obviously, there is a persistent failure in the transmission of this particular yr/make/model, one of which I just experienced. According to most of the comments on here, I went through the same issues and the dealer concluded it was a faulty transmission. My '05 Maxima SL with 67k miles began to have the hard shifting with 2,3, and 4th gears. The dealer replaced the broken motor mounts (a result of the hard shift) and then the transmission once it began to slip.

Fortunately, we had a $0 deductible warranty, which I purchased when I financed the car through my Credit Union (Fairwinds CU- Orlando, FL) as the final bill was over $4k and I don't have the resources to pay for that.

If there is a recall, I'll be one of the first to acknowledge the issues as one would expect a premium import should not experience these problems so soon.

Also, there is a recall for the cross member rear suspension components that Nissan will replace at no charge... just FYI.

12th Jul 2010, 10:44

My car is at Nissan as we speak. I managed to go 115,000 miles until this problem came up. They say it's the Solenoids, an $1800 job. This is ridiculous. I never knew so many people had the same problem.

17th Jul 2010, 18:50

I purchased a 2004 Nissan Maxima in May of this year, and I am experiencing the hard shifts in low gears, and hard shifting when the car down shifts. I had to have motor replaced and it still shifts hard. I took it to a shop several times to be checked. The first time they put it on a machine and reset some codes. Each time I got the car back, same problem, just not doing it as often as before. I don't have any money to put into this car, so if anyone figures out the reason for this issue or gets a resolution, please post it or email me @ cethomas@CenturyLink.net.

I was also told it may be a motor mount, but I don't want to make unnecessary, costly repairs.