1998 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A genuine performance hot hatch that makes a statement without having to scream boy racer

Faults:

The interior lights dont come on when the door is opened, but other than that it is perfect.

General Comments:

This is without doubt the best car I have ever owned.

The ride is a little hard and you feel every bump, pothole or manhole cover you hit.

Cruises at speed on motorways comfortably and economically.

Fantastic sound system and handling.

For a performance car it is comfortable and relaxing to drive and in no way boring.

A hot hatch for the adults amongst us that does not need any fancy body trims or silly overtaking stunts to make a statement.

Understated elegance, class, reliability and performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

1998 Nissan Primera SRi 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

If you REALLY enjoy driving, this is your budget buy!

Faults:

Windscreen Wiper pivots were replaced under warranty (a known fault with Primeras).

Nothing else has gone wrong in 60,000 miles!

General Comments:

This is a very misunderstood car.

Road-holding and handling beat all contemporaries, and are close to the best of the current crop.

Ride can be choppy around Town, but soon sorts itself out above around 45mph. Then the handling of the car really comes into it's own. Roundabouts and corners are dispatched with Glee!

Performance is brisk, but not startling from the 2.0litre petrol engine. Why Nissan never put a V6 into this car will always remain a mystery. The handling though means corners are taken at speed which in turn disguises any shortcomings in the performance department.

Extremely well built and comfortable. One or two rattles are beginning to make themselves heard now, but I've heard worse on newer Fords and Vauxhalls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

1998 Nissan Primera Profile 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Economic and reliable

Faults:

Almost nothing.

The drivers door stay came loose at 8000 miles and needed the bolts tightened.

General Comments:

The "Profile" model was one of the limited editions which Nissan produced to keep sales up - basically a GX with air conditioning and a lower price.

I have done a low mileage for the age of the car and it has not been driven hard.

Mileage is excellent at 40 miles per gallon, but the 1.6 engine only gives modest performance.

Service costs are reasonable. Reliability is outstanding.

Depreciation is very high - Cost £12,000 new, worth £2500 as trade in today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

17th Mar 2003, 09:27

UPDATE BY ORIGINAL AUTHOR.

An accurate petrol consumption test was carried out over 3 days. Miles run 515.1 Fuel used 12.67 Gallons (Metric equivalents are 829 Km and 57.58 Litres)

This gives 40.6 Miles per gallon.

Weather conditions were good, with dry roads. Journey included about 50 miles of unobstructed running on dual carriageway. Rest of the travel was on ordinary roads, with a little stop/start town driving. Car has 28,000 miles since new, serviced per manufacturers schedule, and is in good condition.

8th Sep 2003, 15:39

UPDATE BY ORGINAL AUTHOR.

The car is now 5 years old with 30,000 miles on the clock. During the last year it has needed the usual consumables - a set of tyres (it's first), one brake light bulb, and back brake pads. The car passed the MOT test (the annual UK government road worthiness test) without any problems.

The only fault that has developed during the year is with the radio/cassette - the radio works fine, but the cassette deck is giving garbled playback.

The shells of the door mirrors are showing signs of fading -they are red to match the car body. The shells are plastic and I think the pigment may be in the plastic rather than painted on. The rest of the red body paintwork is still bright, no fade or any sign of rust.

1998 Nissan Primera SX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Such a lot of car for the money

Faults:

It got dirty, but it was a pleasure to clean it. No it's had no faults.

General Comments:

When I first saw this car, with only 17000 miles on the clock and the appearance inside and out, I thought it was to good to be true. When I looked at the price on the windscreen £4300, I thought someone's having a laugh, when I saw the service history and spoke to the previous owner about the car, I snapped the salesman's hand off. This car was bought from a main dealer too. What a deal, I had been about to pay £5995 for an S reg Astra; this was a far superior car.

The test drive confirmed it's superiority, and as a bonus I had all the bonuses of the SX spec: Sunroof, air-con, alloys, electric windows, power steering, ABS, alarm immobilizer and a very nice sound system. I was also happy with the £700 for my old Volvo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

1st Feb 2006, 07:29

UPDATE TO ORIGINAL ENTRY.

The car continues to give great reliability and performance, apart from annual servicing and tyre changes, I have had to have replacement front discs and pads, offside outer CV joint and boot, 17/08/2005 Total cost including labour and V.A.T was £270. The mileage was 36,749 at the time. I use NISS-TEC Ltd my local Nissan specialists, they are not a Nissan dealership, but are all mechanics from a Nissan dealership that are no longer in business.

The car itself is as good as the day I bought it, thanks to the T.L.C that I apply to it. It serves me well and I ensure that it always looks its best. The bodywork and pearlescent paint finish, is holding up extremely well this is down to the thin film of Pledge Bees Wax that I apply after each wash.

The car is now 8 years old, and I can see me keeping it for another 5 years.

10th Dec 2009, 15:55

Update to the first 2 entries.

The beloved Primera is now nearly 12 years old now, and I still love the car.

No faults to report.

It is by far the best car that I have ever owned. I am very reluctant to change the car as I don’t know what other make would give me this reliability.

The latest Nissans are not anywhere near as good, now that they are part of the Renault group.