1998 Nissan Primera Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1998 Nissan Primera GT SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Golf GTi beater

Faults:

The leather on the drivers seat has worn around the edge.

Paint work costs a fortune.

General Comments:

One of the best cars I have ever had the pleasure to drive.

I first had this car as a company car. I loved it so much, I bought it after the contract expired.

The Mystic Green paint certainly turns heads (Purple/Green flip paint). Hence the cost of any paint work!

The 205/16 alloys hold the road wonderfully except under full throttle from a standing start.

0-60 in about 8 seconds. Not as good as my previous Turbo Impreza, but excellent for a family car.

Running cost are very good. I get an average of 37mpg and that is using the power regularly.

Spacious boot.

All the electronics you need (apart from Cruse control). Full electric windows, CD multi changer, Electric Sunroof, Air Con, Trip computer and a loud stereo.

Never had any issues with anything on the car. It has always performed well and I have had no faults whatsoever.

I would recommend anyone to buy this car. Especially the UK special edition. Only 300 made and all with the flip paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2002

28th Sep 2002, 10:37

Just noticed your entry. I was thinking of trading my Mystic green GTSE in for an Alfa romeo. But just cannot bring myself to get rid!

These are the best cars of their class to drive. I have also converted mine to LPG - I recommend it.

25th Oct 2005, 20:24

Bit of a jump from an impreza to a nissan.

8th Jan 2006, 13:16

I also used to own a gt se it pained me to get rid of it, but I had to. wish I never had, it was an awesome car a real pleasure to own.

14th Sep 2006, 15:46

Well - Having this review 4 years ago it's a very sad time. My car is being traded in. The car has been a joy to drive for the past 8 years and I've put 115k miles on the clock. It still handles like a dream and the engine seems little affected by the extra 60k miles put on since I wrote my first review.

The leather on the seats has worn a little more, the carpet in the drivers foot well has worn through and obviously for a car of this age, there are a few minor chips on the paint work.

The engine has worked flawlessly and given the mileage the performance does not seem to be affected. The only major work done on the car has been to fix the power steering and replacing some locked brakes.

Anyway - the car is going as I drive quite a high mileage with work and the reliability may not be quite so good over the next 115,000 miles.

1998 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Why buy an 8 year old basic 100K+ miles BMW when you can pick up a 3 year old GT for about £5000?

Faults:

Rear brake calipers seized causing discs to corrode.

Replaced general consumables : tyres, brake pads, wipers.

Slight creaking from dashboard.

General Comments:

Probably my favourite car.

Although I'm not a boy racer absolutely love the performance when called upon.

Handling is excellent for the size of car plenty of boot space (hatchback model).

Level of standard equipment is superb : leather sports seats, AC, electric sunroof, trip computer, CD multi changer, alloys only misses cruise control.

Expect to keep the car for another year or two.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2002

13th Apr 2004, 08:44

Well what can I say, the 1998 P11 Primera is without doubt, the most extraordinary car I have had the pleasure to drive. I am lucky enough to have the limited edition model. I have always been a turbo man and find it extremely difficult to drive anything without a turbo. However with a few modifications the Primera GT can be given that straight line punch that it was so in need of, alongside this a slight change to the wheel offset, some weight in the boot and you have a real contender for any challenger. I waited four years to buy this car from the day I saw it's first showing at Brands Hatch in 1998,as it was actually built to celebrate the success Nissan had in the constuctor's championship. The way the colors on the paint changed in the sunlight was just captivating. I really am afraid of the problems I will have in the future in buying a car which will match, what I believe to be the best drivers car in its class. To this day no other high performance car has managed to keep up with this true life tarmac terrorist.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 39 reviews