1998 Nissan Primera Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1998 Nissan Primera GTSE 2.0i 16v Twin Cam petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Twin Cam petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carNissan 100NX

Summary:

Had me grinning from ear to ear!

Faults:

Squeak from driver's seat which could be eliminated by adjusting it.

Driver's seat leather upholstery began to show signs of wear after 18 months.

Buzzing interior rear view mirror. REALLY annoying.

Rattle from dashboard air vents.

Slight chug from engine on cold start accompanied by blue smoke. Apparently characteristic of engine.

General Comments:

G.T. Special Edition has full leather interior, 17inch alloys, stainless steel console and MOMO gearshift. Mine was silver and was a beauty!

Above average performance, 70mph in 2nd gear & over 130mph top speed. Taught handling inspired confidence in my driving, but would terrify my passengers. Rear end sometimes slid out, but was easily caught.

Good equipment, full electric package (including sunroof), air conditioning, CD multi-changer, trip computer etc. but it really could have done with cruise control and traction control. Excellent fuel economy if you behaved yourself (40mpg).

Superbly comfortable for driver & front passenger, rear passenger space adequate. Huge hatchback boot.

I REALLY enjoyed this car, but ultimately it was too easy to cruise at 100mph without realising it. I traded it in for a big diesel 4x4 last year to save my licence.. I really miss it..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2002

11th Oct 2005, 10:36

This sounds like it was actually the GT LE not the GT SE. The GT SE only comes in Mystic Green (flip paint) and has 16" alloys. But both are great cars!

30th Nov 2005, 14:52

I agree with the description type as I have recently bought a t reg gt se with full leather and 16" wheels 205 though so the model types do vary.

23rd Dec 2005, 06:08

The first comment is 100% correct. The GTSE only comes in mystic chromaflair paint. The car described above is a GTLE as it is silver. There are abolutely no silver GTSEs in existence. Just to clear that up!

1st Aug 2009, 03:17

Agree with the above comments, also no GTs had 17" wheels, both the SE and LE had 16" enkei alloys.

1998 Nissan Primera GX 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance14160 miles
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Superb but high fuel bills

Faults:

Refused to start one morning for no apparent reason. I left it for 10 minutes, tried again and it started first time.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic to drive and the build quality is second to none.

However it drinks fuel as if it's going out of fashion especially when the air conditioning is switched on when 28 MPG seems to be the best you can hope for.

The interior is spacious and comfortable although the front seats are less so when driving long distances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2001

1998 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A lot of car for money, which surprised me!

Faults:

Slight stiffness in passenger door, rectified under warranty by the dealer.

Electric mirrors, seized, again replaced by the dealer under warranty.

Driver side door handle, became loose, rectified by the dealer.

All small problems dealt with professionally and competently by the dealer.

General Comments:

Practical.

It can hold its own against much more expensive makes of car, in terms of performance and handling.

Generally a joy to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2001

1998 Nissan Primera Si 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A perfect family car

Faults:

Near side wheel bearing became noisy at around 100,000 miles. It wasn't changed until 103,000 miles.

It requires new front brake pads every 5000 miles. It has rear drum brakes and has never had brake shoes from new.

General Comments:

I have owned many other similar sized cars from different manufacturers, the Primera is by far the best. Parts are expensive but are rarely needed as my car proves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

1998 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

The car I always wanted and could afford

Faults:

Rear spoiler had been rubbing on the boot lid, being the 4-door model. Quickly sorted out by the dealer.

Slight knocking noise from the steering rack, dealer took a look & said it's not a problem, poor tolerances, but will be fine.

Knock from the front suspension. Suspect an anti-roll bar.

General Comments:

Quick & economical car. Have got to 130mph with the air-conditioning on. Needed it to keep the sweat off.

Have placed small rubber mats in the compartments for loose change etc to stop rattles.

Handling & brakes are excellent, nice sharp steering with the original tyres.

Found the suspension to be a little on the hard side, but smoothes out when the speed comes on.

This is my second Primera. They both make a banging noise from the front suspension when the wheels spin/slip. I guess it must be the way the suspension is set up.

Don't rely on the ABS to stop you in icy conditions!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 39 reviews