1999 Nissan Primera Sport Plus VT6-A 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


A lot of car for the cash


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The 6-speed Tiptronic gearbox is a really great touch. Use it when you don't want to just cruise around in auto-mode.

Xenon headlights are fantastic. You really see the difference in the dark. Your forward view is whitish as oppose to yellow.

16 inch alloys look the part. I've got Continental Super Contacts (205/50/16) fitted to them. This car sticks to the road no matter what you throw at it.

The ride is firm, but the suspension still soaks up the bumps well. It's the Sport Plus so is set firmer than all the other Primeras.

The cabin is very luxurious. The seats are beautiful half leather and hug your body (!!) White dials, leather gear knob and steering wheel also come as standard. You also get an anti-hijack feature, NATS system, headlamp washers, computer system, 3 rear head rests, electric sunroof, electric windows all round, front and side airbags, climate control and a Clarion 6-cd changer, 10 speaker sound system. You get a lot of car for your cash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

20th Jul 2005, 12:16


There are various squeaks and rattles on the dashboard, the cheap plastic isn't very well screwed together.

Fuel consumption is shocking round town (26-27 mpg), but can squeeze 39-40 on a very conservative run.

Pick up from stand-still is abysmal, but once you reach 4000 revs it pulls well.

Front suspension knocks, just like my old Primera.

1999 Nissan Primera Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A bit of fun in a dependable package


Alternator bearing started to whine at 25k and three weeks after warranty finished. Alternator replaced and two thirds of the cost paid for by Nissan UK.

Carpets are bad quality with a hole on drivers foot-well after 30k.

General Comments:

Ultra reliable, feels solid and safe to drive, fantastic handling and brakes. Could do with bit more power, but manages to return up-wards of 40 mpg on a run, with 30+mpg achievable in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2003

6th Feb 2007, 14:00

Still own this car Feb 2007, it has been superbly reliable, only service items and a battery since this review was posted.

Mileage now 64K, can't see me selling it almost ever, will surely go on another 10 years.

1999 Nissan Primera SE 16v 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


The more I drive it the more I like it!


Leaky fuel tank, requiring 3 trips to the dealer.

General Comments:

The estate is versatile and the reversible tray in the boot is a great feature. Wipe-clean leather seats are great for careless kids too.

Although it only has 135BHP the engine is very rewarding when you hit 4,000 revs and it delivers its power with a howl that you wouldn't expect from a family estate car. I think the acceleration has also surprised a few other drivers in the last few months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

1999 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


A brilliant car for non boy racers


Not really had car long, but seems to be in really good condition.

Gear stick can vibrate when engaging clutch and at certain RPMS.

General Comments:

I have to admit I am a bit of a Primera freak its our 3rd one and loved every one of them. I really like the look of this car it has full leather seats and air con and is really good to drive. the chassis feels really tight and steering very accurate with loads of feel. I had two of the previous models P10 2.0eGT. This model seems to be easier to drive, but slightly slower, but not much, although it is a lot better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

1999 Nissan Primera GT SVP 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Top machine! Absolute wolf in sheep's clothing


Paint peeling from alloy wheels.

Creaking from driver's seat.

Poor performance from air conditioning.

General Comments:

Crisp, clean, vice-free handling. The first car I've owned that's had more bottle than me!

Unusually for a front wheel drive, the rear tends to break away first. Cool! A front wheel drive with the characteristics of a rear wheel drive!

Excellent economy from a performance saloon (40+ miles per gallon).

Great styling, although the front suspension could be lowered by 40mm or so.

Stunning performance from the 155 horsepower power unit, sending this silverfish to an indicated 152 MPH (actual speed 140 by Global Positioning System speedo).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

12th Jan 2005, 16:54

Here's an update...

It's now 2005, I still have the car and it still performs and handles like new, despite the 70,000 miles on the clock. There's now a small amount of tin-worm around the inside bottom of the driver's door and behind the front bumper on the offside wing. The only failure has been with the windscreen wipers.

To be honest I can't see me changing this car until it falls apart... If you see a good one for sale, Buy it, keep it and love it. And PLEASE don't Chav it up!

24th Jan 2008, 19:27

Here we are in 2008 and I still have the car. 103,000 miles on the clock and it hasn't missed a beat. Still drives like new!