1994 Nissan Sentra Reviews

1994 Nissan Sentra Limited Edition 1.7L from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Trusty, safe, forgiving, great kid's starter car

Faults:

Bought used for $3k.

Daughter's accident - bumper, front fenders replaced 2000.

Daughter's accident - tee-boned - front end, radiator, suspension replaced. Everything from the rear window back replaced. Now on a salvage title obviously... 2006.

Transmission lost 1st gear and replaced 2010.

General Comments:

Daughter not driving it anymore, it has never given me a problem without a warning in the sub-division. Replaced belts, alternator, starter, etc as needed.

It's been a great sales tool for the neighborhood parents looking for a car to send kids off to college. I've even been offered $4k for it just last month (Jan 2011).

Will buy another Sentra if/when this 1994 finally dies in 2020!

Best $3k I ever spent!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2011

17th Feb 2014, 13:24

Our 1994 Nissan Sentra Limited Edition has been one of the most trouble free cars I have ever owned. It feels nimble and is economical. It is very small, but with the fold down rear seat, one can load long items that extend from the trunk right by the rear bumper up to the dash.

It has electric windows and door locks. It has air-conditioning too. So it really is a convenient car to drive.

A real trooper of an economy car.

Is it impressive or sporty? No, but it's an economy car, right?

1994 Nissan Sentra XE 1.4 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Previous carsaturn 89

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Electric windows work only on driver's side.

It is sluggish on start up, and may need a new exhaust.

General Comments:

Excellent car, I have had many old or used cars, but this one is the best.

The car has 207000 miles on it, mostly local driving.

I would recommend this vehicle to someone who is looking for a fairly cheap older car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2011

1994 Nissan Sentra LE 1.6 4 cylinder OHC from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 cylinder OHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance123500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Absolutely the most reliable car I have ever owned, bar NONE!

Faults:

Right rear window motor skipping/needs help going down/up.

Alternator failed at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

I'm 56, 6'5" and weigh 300 lbs, so the car is not comfortable on long trips.

Mileage is excellent.

Maintenance is minimal.

Ergonomics/position of all controls is perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2010

1994 Nissan Sentra XE from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Excellent car for anyone!

General Comments:

My car is 16 years old, with 150,000 miles, and aside from a starter, brakes, and low-end costs, this car is safe, reliable, great gas mileage, and has served me well. It is still running!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2010

1994 Nissan Sentra LE 1.6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired178000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

Very reliable

Faults:

My Sentra is a great car, it never gave me any trouble.

It's leaking engine oil from a seal, and it needs an A/C compressor, but that's basically about it so far **knocks on wood**. "I love this car", it's a little rocket indeed :).

General Comments:

All around it's reliable, cheap on gas, and the parts don't cost that much.

It takes off like a bat out of hell! The only thing it's doing is leaking oil. My friend's going to fix it for me, then I am going to tune it up! I've seen one with over 500bhp! I love Nissans :).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2009

1994 Nissan Sentra Limited Edition 97.45 CID I-4 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 97.45 CID I-4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired159822 miles
Most recent distance166207 miles
Previous carDodge 600

Summary:

Trusty and rusty

Faults:

Needed new rear shocks when first bought.

Front right power window and automatic seatbelt have never worked.

Radio didn't work, and all four speaker were blown.

Cruise control doesn't work.

Windshield has several cracks.

Body has tons of rust.

All three engine belts had to be replaced.

Blew two tires.

Leaks oil from both valve cover and oil pan.

Clutch is weak.

Still needs passenger side CV axle.

Alignment is not good.

Trunk lid has rusted though, as has part of the floor.

Gauge cluster doesn't work very well.

Engine sometimes shuts off when down shifting (even after tune-up).

Rear defroster doesn't work.

Back up lights don't work (even after replacing the bulbs and fuse).

Air conditioner doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car has been a total money pit, though it's hard not to blame the last owner, who did not take care of it at all; the air cleaner for example looked like it had been there for 10 years!

All I can say is if you buy one, make sure it has been maintained.

The seats have a nice cloth, which hasn't been used in a long time.

Sitting three people in the back is a sick joke, with the rear seats down the car can carry a lot more stuff then you think.

The engine is not very easy to work on (just try replacing the belts) and is underpowered at highway speeds.

How anyone could make a "Limited Edition" car without a sunroof or a full gauge cluster is beyond me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2009

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 46 reviews