1995 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Safe, fast economical u. s a. made car

Faults:

Not a thing has gone wrong or broken on this car.

General Comments:

I bought it from a little old lady. it, s cherry. it, s also one of the roughest riding cars I have ever owned. in my home town there, s lots of bumps and pot holes. and you feel every little bump on the road!!the interior really is plush with lots of lights and goodies. this car is fast and the transmission shifts smoothly. one question = why is resale value so low??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

25th Jun 2006, 18:14

Now 90,000 miles and still running great. But the A/C and heater core are out.

21st Feb 2007, 19:55

I've had my 95 Achieva S for 1 year and beat two cars... a cavalier Z24 and a Mitsubishi Galant... FAST CAR...very happy with it.

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired200262 kilometres
Most recent distance200400 kilometres
Previous carGMC S-15

Summary:

A High performance bargain. Great for youth and family uses

Faults:

The signal lights stop working altogether on occasion.

It may stall at low speeds. It seems it could be a problem with the battery.

General Comments:

Very roomy for rear and front riders.

The seats are very comfy, except for the driver, the seat is too high and I hit my head on the roof very easily.

Trunk is enormous.

The power options are new to me and I find them very convenient, including remote door lock/unlock and trunk unlock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2004

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.2 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Firenza

Summary:

Best model of the now-dying breed of Oldsmobile

Faults:

Both the upper and lower motor mounts have broken, in separate incidents.

The automatic door lock/unlock has not worked since 1997, so I use manual unlock. However, the doors do lock automatically when vehicle is engaged into drive.

Unusual, but infrequent column electrical blackouts, such as headlights and dash lights going dark while driving.

The gas cap release broke twice.

General Comments:

This car is great on the highway, a very comfortable car for the driver.

Using the dealer for everything except oil changes and tires definitely saved me money and added value in the long run.

A strong body, the white car still washes up with a gleam unexpected for its age. No rust, thanks to the lower non-metal door panels.

This car has been the best of my four cars, all GM models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2004

10th Jan 2006, 10:02

Looks like you got your moneys worth. 184,000 miles. wow!!

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A way to make a poor man even poorer!!!

Faults:

Transmission replaced at 57000 miles.

Power steering pump replaced 3 times before the rack and pinion finally needed replaced.

Have gone through 2 alternators.

Door locks have fallen into the doors on more than one occasion.

Have replaced both window motors twice.

Door locks no longer work at all.

All interior panels keep coming loose or are rattling badly.

General Comments:

The car has more than its share of faults, but I do like the style and the power it has. Although I do hate having to fork out tons of money on it every time I turn around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

16th Apr 2008, 00:03

This car is the best; it's fast and has a lot of power. Even though I have had to replace the transmission, and it has a slow radiator fluid leak.

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

The car was probably an intermediate step toward a better model, perhaps Alero?

Faults:

The transmission failed at 95000 km.

Oil and fuel gauges stopped being accurate at 80000 km.

Minor issues: muffler holder (bracket) corroded quickly, had to replace it at 60000 km under the warranty, but the new one is perfect.

One loud speaker had to be replaced under the warranty.

General Comments:

The car has a very good engine, good acceleration and better comfort than you'd expect.

Fuel consumption varies from 5.5 l to 15 liters per 100 km which is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva Polo Edition 4 cyclinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cyclinder Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

In with a roar, out with a whimper... and many empty wallets

Faults:

The power scissor arms on the driver door became bent over time and now the window won't roll up properly without 4 hands - 3 holding it in place while the 4th runs the power switch.

The lock on the driver side doesn't work unless I push down the manual lever for it. This makes the key turn hard when I unlock the door.

The service engine soon light comes on in hot weather, regardless of what I do.

I do not drive my car hard or over rough terrain yet the muffler pipe and long pipe - both factory originals - are falling off. I have them supported with wire coat hangers. I think the original brackets were inferior.

The oomph that I loved when I got the car, that 'accelerate and get into the moving traffic without nearly causing the diver coming up behind you to rearend you', disappeared a year after I bought the car.

The button on the console shifter is broken, but if it's not bumped, it stays in place.

The Achieva engine has the inherent Oldsmobile whine that diehard owners have learned to become deaf to. It's too bad that couldn't be silenced - or at least better muffled.

General Comments:

In general, this is a good car. It was/is inexpensive, sporty looking, reliable (always starts for me and always runs (even if it doesn't run as well as I'd like), handles well in bad weather if the tires aren't the cheap plastic kind, and doesn't require too much maintenance to keep it running.

The down side is that the repairs which do become necessary, many of which are required to pass the next inspection, are expensive.

I wish GM had made this car with higher quality materials and kept it in production. Making it with inferior materials caused enough problems to give the model a reputation negative enough to limit sales and warranty its discontinuance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2002

9th Dec 2003, 10:33

I have a '96 Achieva with 300,000km's on it, and have had no major concerns aside from numerous repairs to the front end - Ball joints, bearings and struts at 280k, but probably overdue with this kind of mileage. I find it to be quite a responsive car, and hope to drive it at least to 400k.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 24 reviews