1995 Oldsmobile Achieva Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This car is a severe waste of money

Faults:

My door panels are falling off.

My transmission slips and stalls.

I've had to replace the cooling fan motor.

I've had to replace the water pump.

I've had to replace the coil.

I've had to replace the radiator.

The car has been running hot since the day I bought it, even after all I have done to it.

I am having problems with the electric window swith.

I am now having a problem with the door locks not working properly.

General Comments:

I have had nothing but problems with this car since the day I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

6th Jan 2003, 21:22

Check Oil light stays on unless I start the engine and immediately turn it off, then restart it. The Check oil light will remain off for the remainder of the trip.

Heater core had to be replaced at 209,000 miles.

Overall the car has performed well with 215,000 miles on the odometer.

14th May 2005, 12:20

I can top that heater core figure! I bought mine from a dealership, used, 2 years ago. I had my car a few months when the heater core went out. my car was at 74,000 miles! $600 later, chitty chitty bang bang was normal again.

10th Jan 2006, 10:30

I live in post-katrina land and almost everything around here cost more nowadays. but my 1995 acheiva s heater core job will cost about $300. to replace part and labor. I don, t know where you guys are at to have to pay $600. for that work. it, s gotta be at a dealer.

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

It is the best!

Faults:

The brake pad and rotors are the only thing that have been replaced.

General Comments:

It's the best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva Gold Edition 2 door 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance65500 miles

Summary:

Grab your fire extinguishers

Faults:

Well let me see... we'll start with the power locks. They didn't work and my doors appear to be falling apart.

Gas tank cover doesn't want to stay closed, so I bent it.

Front brakes are making an aweful clunking noise.

The speedometer unit in the dash has given me the most trouble thus far. Likes to read 120 mph when realistically I'm doing 30. Took the mechanic 3 tries to find and fix the problem. They ended up replacing the entire unit (wish me luck).

But the thing that really makes me see red is this: Olds has recalled the '94 and '95 Achievas due to starter probs. As of December 2000. Nothing major, there's just a chance of the car catching on fire (with you in it) when the ignition is held in the "on" position. But, try and get it fixed... Olds isn't shipping their parts for another few months. So start your engines in fear if you wish. I'm still waiting for the parts. - Jan 2001

General Comments:

More room than you can ever imagine. I'm 5'4 so I don't need a ton of head room. The trunk is huge and as a single woman w/o kids, there's plenty of space. This car is fairly small, but feels heavy. That's a bonus to some people. I happen to like it.

Oldsmobile is stopping production by 2002. I'm not complaining.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

11th Feb 2001, 09:50

Feb. 11th 2001 - still waiting!

4th Mar 2001, 06:38

Well the parts have finally arrived. And to think it only took 3 months... (3.4.01)

18th Jun 2001, 13:56

Transmission fluid and power steering fluids needed to be flushed at 64,500 miles.

66,500 miles - driver's side lock won't budge!

Not a key problem... and nothing WD40 can fix.

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 2.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance63400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Fun car to drive, great value

Faults:

Loud, harsh grinding in reverse. Found out there is a nylon gear that breaks quite easily. After it was fixed under warranty at 24,000 miles it broke again a month later. Had it fixed again under warranty and haven't had problems since.

The lower control arm bushings are shot, can't replace the bushings only, have to buy the whole lower control arm assembly ($82.00 each) not too bad, will still save $200.00 over a dealership repair by doing it myself.

General Comments:

This is a great car, very responsive, good acceleration, handles great especially since putting on after-market 15 x 7 alloys & Goodrich T/A's. I'm 6' and find it quite comfortable, drove it to Wash. D.C. from Chicago & found it very pleasing. The 2.3 liter is a bit sluggish with the A/C on, but not too bad with the 5-speed manual.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

17th Jul 2002, 18:35

I have owned 96 Achieva SC since 1997. It is a fabulous car. Outstanding fuel economy, 30MPG city, 42MPG Highway. I have had to do a number of repairs, but all of them regular maintenance considering the mileage, 186000km/11000miles. Among these repairs are 4 new tires, tie rod ends, front/rear struts, shocks and springs and front brakes. The rear shocks and springs really did not need to be done; I just did them because we are buying a tent trailer to tow behind this vehicle. I have also done the control arm bushings, and I was able to buy them separately from the dealer and as you I did the installation myself as well, much cheaper. I have nothing to say, but good things about this car. I would definitely buy another OLDS.

10th May 2004, 15:10

I bought a second-hard '95 Achieva almost four years ago. The biggest annoyance has been problems with the automatic door locks.

It does not accelerate well in second and feels like it is going to stall. It taks a while to warm up in cold weather and whines a bit until it gets warm.

It's been a dependable little car.

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

This is a great car

Faults:

I haven't had any trouble with my Achieva. It runs great and drives like a dream. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva S 3.1 L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

More car than I ever could have expected for the money

Faults:

Alternator died at 40k, oil sensor just started malfunctioning recently, starter switch broke early on. Much of this I attribute to any used car previously leased (they tend to get abused).

General Comments:

I love my car, and I can't say that about many. Ample power for one passenger and adequate for four adults. Aesthetically pleasing interior, though I wish there were less plastic. Comfortable on long rides and very confident in bad weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

1995 Oldsmobile Achieva from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired56 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

Stylish gem of a car..

Faults:

Power window motor went out in rear.

General Comments:

One of the best cars ever put out by GM. Rides so smooth, acceleration is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 24 reviews