1999 Oldsmobile Alero 3.4 V6 from North America


A total rip off from DAY ONE!


From day one, the Alero has had coolant problems. Coolant leak at the intake manifold, then I had to replace the coolant resevoir because it is made out of cheap plastic. Next, the coolant light constantly came on, the car ran hot always, and the low tire pressure light will not go off! The dashboard looks "bubbly" or "wavy", and so do the doors. This past week, had more coolant issues, and the engine finally blew up. PIECE OF CRAP--NEVER BUY AN ALERO!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2004

18th Mar 2004, 18:25

Your unfortunate experience with this car is one of the reasons that Olds is going under.

4th Jun 2004, 10:30

You said the engine was running hot. Maybe if you would have been smart enough to have the overheating problem looked at, you wouldn't have destroyed your motor.

10th Apr 2006, 15:33

I have an 2001 Alero and its the car not the owner. I had my overheating problem looked at over and over and over and they tried EVERYTHING!!! I have heard nothing, but negative about the Aleros colling system. DO NOT BUY OLDS cars no matter how low the mileage. SOmething will go wrong with the car.

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.4 DOHC from North America


A mid performance fun car


1) rear defroster stoped working at 70,000.

2) fan control for air only 4 and 5 worked-fixed by me with 30 dollar part-same problem found in all/most GM cars.

3) Gas gauge bounces-only when at 1/4 of a tank or less.

4) brake calipers rust up and a grinding clunk noise is heard-not really a problem-looking to replace system with better performance ones.

General Comments:

The car has great performance.

This car does not run well on fuel rated at 87.

I normally run 94 octane with a octane booster to gain perofrmance. After I have replaced the spark plugs with Platnium Plus 4 and a K&N Air Filter.

On a full Highway run I get an average of 31 miles per gallon. With about 24 or so streets and highway.

This car does need on a regular basis injector cleaner. This is something that I see as a must for this car.

The interior is very nice and easy to clean. I have never had a problem with the interior. I have also removed most of it at least once to add something to the car.

With the correct tires for your area of living this car can handle almost any weather.

The handling is something of a Grand Prix. This car can take corners at 20 Mph with out much problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2004

1999 Oldsmobile Alero Coupe from North America


Overall OK car with some glitches!


Rear defrost went out two winters ago.

Rotors needed replaced two years ago.

Brake pads replaced twice.

Steering fluid leak last year.

Anti-look/low-traction light comes on sporadicly.

Tire-pressure light turns on for no reason.

Cup holder in the front of the shifter is in an odd place and practically unusable.

General Comments:

Love my car, it fits me. I am a small woman and it fits me comfortably. Would not recommend for a bigger person or a tall man, because the cabin is fairly small and tight.

Back seat is not good for people to get in and out of so it is not ideal for those with children.

Quick and handles excellent in all weather conditions.

Good on gas and has lots of nice features (i.e. tire pressure light, change oil light, etc.)

Overall I am happy with my Alero, other than the problems listed above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

26th Mar 2004, 08:21

I purchase my 2000 Alero 11/99, v6 engine. I previously had a Grand AM SE that was totaled in an accident and was very impressed with the quality of the driving, acceleration and comfort of the Alero. My car has been stolen 3 times and the must have had at least $15000 worth of damage all together, which included replacing windows and all four tires.

I still had problems with the following:

- brakes fixed 3x within 2 years. Last time cost $800+ because all four rotors were worn. I am very light footed on the brakes and never needed brakes done this many times before.

- Fan settings 1,2,3 went out.

- Leaking coolant, had to have gasket replaced.

- Tire pressure light constantly on.

- Had humming sound when driving and turning wheels that I worried was a transmission issue, but turned out to be wheel bearings. Sound was getting louder as I drove it. Had that fixed and now it seems to be running fine. (GM would have charged me $1100 for repair/labor, went to outside repair show for $250)

- Still hear creaking when turning or depressing brakes.

- Seems to some kind of break in the rear passenger door, sounds like the door is not closed all the way when driving.

- Have to slam doors to close them most of the time.

- Cut off once when driving/making a turn a year or so ago. Hasn't happened since.

- Power steering stopped working and had to be fixed. Since then, have had to add a bottle of fluid since it was found to be low when checking on past transmission/wheel bearings issue.

- Rear defrost is currently out as of 4 months ago, have yet to get that checked out.

I am a 6 ft. tall female and love the way the car adjusts for my height. However, I don't think I will buy an American car again for a while. I am currently purchasing after buying out my lease 11/93, but now my warranty has run out, I have 82000 miles on it, I drive at least 50 miles a day, the car is valued at $4500 and I owe twice that on it.