1999 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 27 of 38

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance77500 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

A high cost flop!

Faults:

Power window regulator failure! A ten cent piece gets magically transformed into a 600 dollar repair job!

Front stock rotors warped causing pulsating brake pedal! Replace them with real rotors, $300.00. Leaking Head Gasket.

Replace passenger side wheel assembly because the bearing went dry! 200.00 dollars. Rear window coming unsealed!

Heater controls failing!

General Comments:

Stay away from these models at all costs! Mine is a lemon!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2003

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Please don't sell them, junk them

Faults:

I won a 1999 alero from a car dealer less than 6 months ago; it was the only day that I had a smile on my face. I have nothing but trouble with this car, first it was the brakes and then it was a wheel bearing, two weeks later the same wheel bearing had to be changed again. I have put 2 sets of breaks on this car, I then put new tires all the way around it, but the brakes still make you'r foot jump up and down, I have never seen so many bad statements about one type of car, I will tell you what I will never win one again, and I will never buy one. I'm going to tell the car dealership to take this car and destroy it, please don't sell it to anyone else. Thank You for letting me post my review.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st November, 2003

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Great features and performance for the price

Faults:

The wheel bearings went twice.

General Comments:

This car is a great car.

The acceleration is great and it handles like a dream.

The interior feels very good when sitting in it.

I have been in two wrecks with this car and it still handles like new. I have had a couple of minor problems that were corrected by the warinty.

I am a 19 year old male who beats this car to the ground and it still runs great. The engine has been through 35,000 miles of beating and still performs like new.

I don't understand why there are so many bad comments on this vehical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2003

10th Dec 2003, 19:53

I bought an 1999 alero GLS 8 months ago so far so good it runs very good just a fews minor problems; the rubber around the window inside is all warp an there is a rubbing noise when I touch the brake.Other than that the car run very well so far and I hope it will for a long time. So I'm hoping I didn't buy a lemon.

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS V6 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23705 miles
Most recent distance55702 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

A sporty reliable luxury economy car wrapped into one. Just be weary of the braking system

Faults:

Soon after buying the vehicle I could hear a grinding sound whenever stepping on the brakes. All four rotors were rotted. Had them replaced at ~27000 miles. This was covered under warranty.

The grinding returned about 18 months later at ~52000 miles. The front rotors had rotted out again, and needed to be replaced. This was not covered under warranty.

The heater/ac blower only worked on the highest setting,#5. Mechanic found and replaced a resistor which had shorted out, leading to the power for blower motor. Replaced under warranty.

The rear speakers blew. Replaced under warranty.

Cruise control failed. Bent pin found in dash behind air bag. Replaced under warranty.

Clicking noise heard coming from the transmission only when driving in reverse. Mechanic loosened all engine and transmission mounts, and let sit for one hour, then torqued all mount bolts. This fixed the noise. It never came back. Covered under warranty.

General Comments:

Other than the brake problems this car has been good. They must make those rotors out of cheap, cheap metal. This problem should be corrected by the manufacturer.

The car handles beautifully, and has a lot of power. Its fun to drive and reliable. The leather package is sharp and the seats are really comfortable. Great factory sound package.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2003

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

GARBAGE

Faults:

The muffler mount had to be replaced.

The rear tires were faulty.

There is a leak in the back floorboard.

Passenger window fell off the track.

Air conditioning and heat switches short out.

Hazard light fell into dashboard twice.

Dashboard is rippling and discoloring.

Power steering pump had to be replaced three times.

The air conditioning compressor had to be replaced.

Front left aluminum alloy had to be replaced.

The alternator had to be replaced.

All of which happened before 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

It is sad to say that I traded in a very reliable Toyota Camry for this car.

One mistake that I shall never make again.

I don't ever plan on buying another gm car again.

If anyone would like to contact me with their own Oldsmobile Alero problems feel free to call me at (239) 596-3494.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

16th Oct 2003, 14:25

I am submitting an entry about my car. My dashboard is rippling as well. I have a faulty blinker switch in which I have to push in the emergency blinker button several times before it may or may not work. Although, I have not had half of the things gone wrong as you have. Knock on wood!

Beth.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 132 reviews