1999 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 30 of 38

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 2.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 9000

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

The first 50,000 km I owned it, not a single thing went wrong, suddenly out for a drive and the ABS light goes on and upon applying the brakes it it apparant that the ABS no longer works, few days later I start to hear squeeking from the rear and it turns out all 4 struts need replacing, shortly after that the battery light and airbag lights go on, turns out the air bag sensors and alternator need replacing.

Other developing problems.

-cheap seat construction, falling apart and very uncomfortable.

_constant brake noise.

At 70000 the front wheel bearing need replacing.

-mouldings keep falling off.

General Comments:

Good Performance.

Too many problems.

Cheap construction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

25th Jun 2006, 12:23

June 25th, 2006

Own a 2001 Alero and have had problems with the ABS and trac light warning indicator going on and off for no reason. I have had a total of 3 Hub kits for the right front replaced and 2 Hub kits for the left replaced. Tell me this isn't a bad design problem with this car. I have had my car in for service starting November 2001 every 3 to 4 months thereafter. After several attempts to fix the problem the service appointments went to every 10 months. I am now getting ready to take it in again. It has now been the longest I have gone with no problem. It has now been 1 year. Here we go again with fighting with the dealer to fix at no charge. My last appointment an Oldsmobile rep was contacted by me and the service was free of charge.

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres

Summary:

Looking at buying a Jetta

Faults:

Dome light is falling out.

Lazy seat belt retractors.

Replaced full hub assembly on front driver's side wheel.

Two weeks later they had to replace the full hub assembly on the other side.

Have replaced brake pads twice.

Is currently in getting something else done to the brakes, not sure what they're doing this time (although they have started shaking, which is one of the reasons I brought it in)

Once when driving about a month ago, car completely lost power, like the gas pedal stopped working, speedometer went CRAZY back and forth, all lights on dash went off, then everything went back to normal.

Now I'm finding that when I drive the car, it feels like it is being driven by someone learning to drive standard, and it's an automatic. Something is wrong with transmission, not sure what though.

General Comments:

I still like the way this car handles, and the way it looks. Also very comfortable.

Dome light falling out is kind of annoying. Tends to happen while driving.

I need something that's a bit more reliable though, and the transmission thing while driving is freaking me out a bit. However, I have n other car to drive and need to get to work and school somehow, otherwise I would not be driving it right now.

I will admit though, my dealership has been great. I have been given countless free oil changes, and this time, because the service guys know me, I got a free detailing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

22nd Dec 2003, 08:05

I have replaced my hub assembly 7 times now on my 2001 Oldsmobile Alero. GM Canada states I'm the only one with the hub assembly complaint. My blinkers only work when they want. I received a free lube and oil filter after calling weekly with complaints after 2 years. Very unhappy.

30th Apr 2004, 10:46

I have an 1999 Alero GLS 3.4V6 amd I have had a ton of problems since I purchased it USED with low miles about 2 years ago.

Since then, my drivers side power window has died twice and once required replacing the entire regulator assembly.

My wheel bearing in the front drivers side went out causing my ABS and TRACTION CONTROL to croak.

The brakes have been replaced twice in the last 2 years and heading for another time.

Most recently, my Alternator died and took the battery with it.

And to add insult to injury, my heating, cooling system has only one working setting...HIGH!!!

The car drinks antifreeze like it's a dying man in the desert, and the electrical system is so funky every now and again all the gauges freak out and turn off.

I do love the car, but hate the problems!

9th Jul 2005, 08:54

It's funny because I have a 1999 Alero and I'm looking to purchase a V-DUB Jetta too! I hate my Alero everything is breaking on it. My husband and I had a 1990 Acura Integra with less problems! Go figure I'll never buy another GM product! Good luck.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 132 reviews