2003 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 2.5 ecotec from North America

Summary:

Nice car, but I wish Aleros weren't so bothersome and expensive

Faults:

Battery replaced for first time in 2006.

Fuel pump replaced.

Water leak from drivers side area, not solved yet.

Two tires replaced.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable for me. I like the way it is close in the quarters, the car handles nicely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th December, 2006

2003 Oldsmobile Alero LX 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Uncertain if I can trust this car..

Faults:

This 2.2L 4 cylinder 2003 Alero gives me a very bad (high) gas mileage - mostly below 20 mpg. My last check on this showed me 18.4 mpg! Yes, it is a big 4 cylinder engine (2.2L), but the gas mileage shouldn't be that high. On the other hand, the car runs great. It passed the annual test, there is no smoke out of the exhaust. I just barely touch the acceleration pedal and the car runs and accelerates perfect.

It is very strange for me, that no matter where I searched, I just couldn't find an official information what the gas mileage for this engine is. Can anybody please provide me any source of information about the gas mileage of this 2.2L 4 cylinder engine? I'd greatly appreciate it! My belief is that this engine should have at least 25 mpg in the average (city/highway). I still can't find what's wrong with this car and I couldn't locate a reliable GM dealer within the Dallas - Fort Worth area (TX) to help me with information about this car. These days I'll be replacing an oxygen sensor before the catalyst and I hope it had been the reason for this bad gas mileage. So, if anybody can show me a source of information about the gas mileage of Alero 2003 2.2L engine, I'll greatly appreciate it!

General Comments:

The car performs just great on the road. It is quick and responsive. The drive is comfortable. It's just that high gas mileage (18-19 mpg for a 2.2L 4 cylinder engine) that bothers me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2006

31st Aug 2006, 05:28

The gas mileage for your 2.2 four is 24 city and 32 highway.

I have the 3.4 v6 and I get a solid 24 with a good protion being highway. You should get a good 25 - 26 average. Good luck.

10th Sep 2006, 14:58

I too have an `02 Olds Alero with the 2.2 4 cylinder engine, and the gas mileage is poor. My boyfriend thinks it's because I drive too much, but I showed him the other day, just how many miles I drive. I filled the tank, and then proceeded to drive as I normally do. I went 168 miles and I had just over a quarter of a tank left! Now that's ridiculous. I change my oil and filters on a regular basis, as well as an anual tune-up. Can anyone give me some tips on what could be wrong?? My car gets worse gas mileage than my boyfriend's `03 F-150, and it's a 6 cylinder!

HELP!

2003 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America

Summary:

Comfy, fast, stylish, everything a 23 year old wants

Faults:

I have not had any real problems with this car. To boot this is my second Alero.

General Comments:

I loved my old car, which was a 2000 2 dr GL, and I love my new one, which is a 2003 4 dr GLS with all the goodies.

The brakes are great, the pick up is plentiful, and it corners very well for a mid size family sedan.

I am hard on my cars, but take very good care of them e.g. regular oil changes, tire rotated all the good stuff, and I have yet to have any major problems with my car.

The motor in my old car blew at 300000 km and it was the 2.4 4 cyl, so I can't complain.

I look forward too many good years of driving out of this car, and have one thing to say to everyone... maintenance - if you take care of your car, it will take care of you, and it's so so true.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2006

21st Sep 2007, 21:00

I have just recently purchased a 2003 GLS with a 3.4 V6 motor, I had to replace another car, a 1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Cierra that had its motor finally go. It went at 675,000 km., boy I was sorry to see that car go. Yes regular oil changes and schedule repairs went into making that car last 24 years. I am pleased with this car as well and it seems to me that a big difference is in the model and years of the Alero. It appears to me that 2003 is the best model year for the Alero.

17th Dec 2007, 04:42

I had a 2003 Olds Alero and it was a piece of junk! I had to replace the brakes 3x between 35,000 and 71,000 miles. The ignition switch had to be replaced. The knob to adjust the heater broke 3x...no wonder Olds is out of business.

28th Oct 2009, 00:27

The brakes probably went so much because you wore the crap out of them. I baby my 2003 Dr GLS to death and have had no problems. Take it easy on the knobs buddy. No car's climate control knobs are made of solid steel. Just saying take care of your car and it takes car of you.

21st Dec 2010, 21:07

I love my 2003 Alero. It has a 3.4L V6, which could produce more power, but it still goes when I want it to. The car is already 8 years old, and has no rust whatsoever. I have had very little problems with it. Only the thermostat went since I got it 2 years ago. Styling is great, and fits more than five people when you need it to, and it takes turns like a compact car, which is a major plus.

Like was said before; take care of it, and it will take care of you. All cars can be a piece of junk. Even foreign.