2003 Oldsmobile Alero GX 2.2L from North America


American Junk!


The Air bag had to be replaced because the horn would get stuck.

The brakes and rotors were replaced 3 times.

I have this bad creaking noise coming from the brakes now.

The interior rattles bad. Fit and finish SUCK.

The AC Compressor had to be replaced because of grinding noise.

The suspension is now making a BAD popping noise and will have to go back to the shop YET again.

General Comments:

The car is a very nice looking car and I tried to over look some of the problems, but they won't stop coming. Its one thing right after another.

I would not recommend this car to anyone. Unless you get it cheap and don't care about a car with on going problems. This will be the last GM car I will ever own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

22nd Apr 2005, 09:41

I don't get it. Why is it that one person says "Oh it's a great car, no problems at all" and then the next guy says "piece of crap, everything broke". this leads me to one conclusion... reviews are absolutley worthless. How a car holds up isn't the sole responsibility of the cars maker. The driver has to ALSO take care of the car. Like, not whipping around every corner or doing a hole shot from every stoplight and a whole bunch of other crap. I'm not saying that you guys are bad drivers, but this back and forth it's good it's bad it's the greatest car ever it's american junk (don't be bias) raises eyebrows to the owners driving skills and car knowledge.

2003 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.4 Litre 3.6 from North America


Great car for the money


So far nothing has really gone wrong with the car yet. When it gets cold outside, the gas gauge will not work properly, until the car has completely warmed up enough. Just the regular maintenance that it needs like oil change, fuel filter, and so on.

General Comments:

This car has great acccelleration, the car does not hesitate what so ever, the car shifts great without thinking what gear in needs to shift up to next to speed up.

I am very pleased with this car, I drive it 45 miles each way everyday to and from work, and it does great on gas, what a fuel saver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2005

28th Jan 2005, 22:06

I just recently bought a 2000 Alero with 99577 miles on it. The engine and car have been taken care of very well, atleast that is what it looks like to me. Since having the car for one week I have put 600 miles on it easily and have noticed that the mileage I get is around 23-25 mpg. For having so many miles on my car it is in excellent condition.

2003 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 6cyclinder from North America


Euro handling, fast, but with American gut


Power window regulator went fog lights has recurring condensation buildup replaced four times rotors machined per vibration.

General Comments:

Car is well screwed together tight and fast great in winter even in our notorious Canadian winters. ride feels very euro like love this car best car I have owned so far have had and tried many.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

2003 Oldsmobile Alero CX 2.2L from North America


One Big Lemon


The front strut mounts have been replaced twice, once after 3 months and again after 12 months.

The latch on my passengers seat broke once. The seat couldn't stay in the upright position so I couldn't have passengers.

My drivers side window has come out of the track twice, the motor for the automatic window works, but the window won't go up.

The vertical paneling my drivers side and passenger side door have been replace.

General Comments:

The performance of the car appears to be okay, however it's just all the other stuff that breaks.

Either the dealership isn't fixing it properly or the parts are just poorly manufactured.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th May, 2004

2003 Oldsmobile Alero gx coupe 2.2 liter from North America


One of the best lemons I ever bought. Not!!


My transmission blew at 10,000 kilometers. Then I had three engine contoller's installed. Shortly after that my clutch valve had to be replaced. Also that nice pass lock system works so well, that it even kept me from driving my car three times. My dealership tried to fix the problem, but could not repair it, so needless to say it is now disconnected. Also had to replace both boots on the shifter and park brake. My latest problem to occur is the plastic shift mechanism broke to pieces, causing me to loose reverse. Needless to say my fine automobile has been towed five times.

General Comments:

Windows are leaking, and the wipers are shot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2004

10th Aug 2004, 14:12

Sounds like the lemon we got! Must have been made at 4:59p.m. on a Friday.

11th Mar 2007, 17:07

Sounds like you drive you cars pretty hard for the tran to go at 10,000 maybe you just don't know how to shift right.